We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful stay at Casa Bibi”
other travelers have booked this property
The sunny roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sunny roof terrace
Stunning ocean and mountain views from our roof terrace Our   tropical garden offering natural shade and stunning views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
The sunny roof terrace
Stunning ocean and mountain views from our roof terrace
Our   tropical garden offering natural shade and stunning views
Lower terrace
Entrance terrace with stairs to roof garden
Dinning area of the kitchen
Dine in or explore  the many and varied restaurants in the area
The modern kitchen diner for having an evening in or for entertaining friends
The comfy sitting room/lounge with TV/DVD player and over 50 DVD's for those lazy evenings in
A feature of Casa Bibi is its interior design &  unique touches, original paintings and ornaments
Casa Bibi has an abundance of plants and trees both inside  and outside the apartment
Luxurious super king size bed which converts to two singles if requested
En suite shower room essential after a day hiking or a day on the beach.
The tranquil village of La Calera only a short walk from the mountain paths or the ocean
This old boy helped us build our steps in the garden, there are working donkeys on the island still.
The harbour at Vueltas -whale & dolphin watching trips can be taken from here. It's a great day out.
The dramatic night skys of La Gomera
The palm trees of upper Valle Gran Rey
Playa del Ingles - the nearby naturist beach
Sun worshippers enjoy the beautiful beach of Playa del Ingles
Local Fiesta de Los Reyes - January 6th. After the procession there is music and dancing.
Glorious mountain views typical of the island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Valle Gran Rey, La Gomera, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gill S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at Casa Bibi”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Casa Bibi and our third holiday in La Gomera. It was wonderful to return to accomodation where we knew what to expect -and on climbing the steps and opening the door it felt like returning home......with just a couple of exceptions.......as if anything, the apartment seemed even more spacious than we remembered it to be and exceptionally clean and tidy! The ' welcome pack was much appreciated, especially the water, milk, tea coffee and wine!
Casa Bibi is a traditional Gomeran dwelling, some 120 years old and built in the old island way. The ceilings are high and the thick walls keep it cool inside although once the shutters are open it is also light and airy. Both the lounge and bedroom are exceptionally large iwhich is unusual for a one- bedroom rental ( ample space for more if the sofa bed is utilised in the lounge) There is a vaulted ceiling in the kitchen and a separate dining area. The kitchen is very well equipped and has a large ' American style ' fridge freezer with ice and water dispenser.
As we are walkers, the washing machine is essential for us and there are facilities to dry clothes inside or out. Loads of books to read and dozens of DVD's to watch if you find time. TV in both lounge and bedroom - and a dishwasher.
La Calera is a hill village so unless you are lucky enough to find a parking space on the top level, you will need to park in the large car park adjacent to the lower road and walk up the numerous steps. It's worth bringing the car up top to unload and drop off your bags. There are now two Spar supermarkets in the coastal Valle Gran Rey area - both well stocked and within walking distance. The new one even has a fresh meat counter. There is also a local store right next door to the property which is particularly good for fresh bread and rolls in the morning. Also numerous restaurants in the vicinity including two on the same level as Casa Bibi. Lots of wonderful little shops selling interesting things too. We love this house and its location. It's quiet and peaceful yet you feel part of the village community. Just remember that there are a god few steep steps up to the property and the front door and that when this house and it's neighbours were built there were no cars on the island and very few roads, so properties didn't come with garages, parking spaces or lifts. But you will be very comfortable indeed in one of the prettiest spots in the village with glimpses of the sea and surrounding mountains and valleys. Thanks Viv - another lovely stay❤️

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The sense of space and the peace and quiet
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thank you so much for your excellent review. Look forward to seeing you next year.
Regards
Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvaize
Saintes, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very nice apartment in a good location”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We enjoyed staying at this well equipped and comfortable apartment. We appreciated the well stocked book shelves and the numerous DVDs. The roof terrace was a superb place to relax in the sun. The restaurants and shops were just on the doorstep. Valle Gran Rey is a good base for a holiday with both walks, beaches, bars and restaurants very close by.
Our only complaint was that the owner's Spanish phone number did not seem to work and we had a problem accessing the apartment with the key safe and therefore could not contact her. We later managed to contact her by email. The wifi works well and is quite fast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The roof terrace
Liked least: The apartment was quite dark
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. I am really sorry you were unable to contact me by phone, I have put all my contact numbers on the website now.
Regards Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill B
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is one of the best self-catering places we've stayed in and we soon felt totally relaxed. It is very spacious, well equipped, comfortable and full of character. We loved being in La Calera and enjoyed the walk down to the different areas and beaches. There is an excellent choice of restaurants in Valle Gran Rey. Although you don't need a car to enjoy the area we hired one for a couple of days to explore the rest of the beautiful island. Viv the owner was very helpful and responded quickly to any email queries I sent. We hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and peaceful location of Casa Bibi away from traffic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2016
Thank you for your great review. I'm so glad you had a wonderful holiday. Valle Gran Rey and La Calera are very special places. Look forward to seeing you on your return.
Regards
Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosieG508
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Arrived in the dark following a very wet drive over, but excellent instructions in how to find it meant no problems. Popped to restaurant across the way for great meal before falling into the lovely huge bed for a great nights sleep. Weather then was fabulous for the rest of the week to enjoy the lovely terrace, especially for a late breakfasts. Beautiful spacious apartment with space for relaxing inside and out and well equipped. There were lots of restaurants to visit, two right along from the apartment and others a short walk down the stairs to the bay. Viv left us lovely bits and there was a great local store next door but one to pick up necessities. We hired bikes and climbed out of the valley a couple of times but quite a climb! Great visit will have to come for longer next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2016
Thanks for your review. I'm really glad you had a great holiday and look forward to seeing you again in the future for a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious Apartment in peaceful La Calera”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable, first visit to La Gomera and a weeks stay at Casa Bibi in the La Calera area of Valle Gran Rey.

Booking the accommodation by email with the owner, via the Holiday Lettings secure payment system, was trouble free and our £100 damages deposit was quickly returned at the end of our holiday. The owner responded promptly to our initial enquiry and all future correspondence.

Casa Bibi is an exceptionally spacious, one bedroom apartment with a small en suite bathroom. It has some interesting original features and has been tastefully furnished. Spotlessly clean for our arrival and the welcome pack is a nice touch. Excellent wifi connection.

La Calera is a very quiet area with lots of steps and quirky alleyways. There is a small shop and three restaurants near by. The 142 (approx) steps up to the apartment gate/key safe may be off putting for some people – certainly great exercise and makes you remember everything when going out!

It is an ideal base from which to explore, by car and foot, this small, green island littered with palm trees. There are spectacular views from Miradors (viewpoints) and many, well signposted, walks. We managed to see so much and the quiet roads, along with some of the inclines/declines were a pleasure to drive on.

Having self catered for many years, as we like the freedom it offers, and also having owned (and rented out) an apartment in the Canaries, we fully appreciate the ongoing hard work involved, for the owners, in maintaining a holiday property for guests.

We booked Casa Bibi for a special birthday and spent some time looking, before making a decision about where to stay. It was made based on photos, having a few ‘extras’ and reviews from other guests.

A few points re the apartment, most of which we have mentioned to the owner since our stay, and have received a reply:

1. It would have been nice to have been informed, in advance, that:

• the dishwasher wasn’t working (irrelevant of whether or not we would have used it), instead of being met with a laminated sign on it saying “sorry out of order”.
The owner has since informed us “the pump gave up just before we were leaving
for the UK and we could not track down a replacement in time”.

• a building is being built adjacent to the roof terrace. Admittedly, no work took place during our stay but it was still something of an unprepared for eyesore at the top of the steps to the roof terrace. The views to the sea and mountain are fortunately not affected by this.
The owner has since informed us “the building work was supposed to be finished
last year but everything moves very slowly in La Gomera. However I knew it
would not be resumed until after the season and it does not obscure the views
of the ocean and mountain. However I do understand your concern”.

2. We couldn’t understand why the large fridge freezer was in the bedroom (noisy during the night, if switched on) when there is more than enough room in the spacious kitchen area and it would have complemented the attractive, modern units. It was unnecessary to have a small, token fridge in the kitchen area as well! If that had been the only fridge we wouldn’t have booked the apartment.
The owner has since informed us “the fridge freezer in the bedroom should have been switched off, sorry that it caused you problems with noise at night. The large fridge freezer is an extra facility for guests who stay for longer periods of time (1 or 2 months). It was originally in the kitchen but was moved so that more seating in the kitchen dining area could be provided”.

3. We feel some of the photos and information on the website need updating as there have been a few changes in the layout of furniture inside and the roof terrace is different. For example it clearly states “a fully equipped kitchen (toaster, food processor, American fridge freezer and dishwasher)”. No mention of the fridge/freezer being in the bedroom and only for the use of long term guests, or of a small fridge being in the kitchen area. No reference to the bathroom being en suite plus we didn’t find a bbq on the terrace.

La Gomera is definitely an Island we will return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious apartment
Liked least: fridge freezer in bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalti...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely property. Clean and tidy and very spacious. Massive comfy bed and lovely shower. Close enough to beach and restaurants. You need to be fit to climb the steps to the property though as there are lots of them. All in all I would recommend this property to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday in Casa Bibi and am delighted that you would recommend it as a holiday destination.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 26, 2015
Thank you for your positive review. I'm glad you had a great honeymoon. We may see you on your anniversary :) Kind regards Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing