We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming appartment and helpful host”

Review of Casa Emma

The sun terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sun terrace.
Breakfast with a view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The sun terrace.
Breakfast with a view!
Bright and airy.
The kitchen and dining table.
Open plan living.
Bedroom.
The stylish bathroom.
Bedroom with king-size bed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Valle Gran Rey, La Gomera, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
balgedieb...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming appartment and helpful host”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed here recently as a couple. A unique property, the owner Emma has obviously put a lot of thought into the décor which gives it a very chilled out vibe! Handy for the local bars and shops. Great views from the roof terrace.
Emma is great fun and will help you out with info on walks, the area, where to eat etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleodof...
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in great location”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic property in la gomera which has all you need to have a great holiday regardless if you want to self cater or eat out . The accommodation has been tastefully decorated and has a real chill feel which suited us great . Emma made our stay very smooth and gave us great information to help us enjoy our holiday . There is great beaches , great resteraunts, great scenery and a very layed back vibe to this island . Highly recommend this property on a fantastic island with a fantastic host .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Could not have asked for a better base for a few days stay in La Calera.
Emma was attentive and sensitive to our needs during our 4 days in Valle Gran Rey.
The appt has been lovingly restored with wonderfull attention to detail. The roof terrace was great for relaxing in the sun and drying our smalls!
Excellent restaurants close by and only 15 mins walk to la playa.Small mercado just outside for essentials and fresh bread. Totally fell in love with the place!
First class base for walking the caminos rural or relaxing on the beach.
Thanx Emma. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We so enjoyed staying in the apartment which was easily one of the best ever. So well equipped and planned and the roof terrace really made it special. the use of the washing machine was a real bonus.
A friendly well stocked little local supermarket opposite the apartment was great for fresh bread in the mornings

Emma was so welcoming with a cold beer and very helpful with local knowledge. We will certainly be returning to La Gomera as we only had time to explore a fraction of the wonderful forest paths and routes and would love to return to the apartment if it's available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Little paradise”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

They call this the magic island and this is the fairy castle. Nestled in the charming little village of Calera in Valle Gran Rey with a fabulous sea view and the equally stunning view up the valley. The place is beautifully finished with all the facilities you need (including a fully equipped kitchen which is rare for an apartment) and a huge private roof terrace which is a lovely sun trap or a great place to watch the sunset while relaxing with a gin and tonic!
It's such good value fot money but a really high standard.
There are three restaurants in the village (if you can't be bothered cooking) or you can walk down to the centre where there are loads of great restaurants and cafes to suit all budgets.
Valle Gran Rey boasts some beautiful unspoilt beaches with a really relaxed easy going atmosphere. This is a great place for walkers or us less energetic strollers!
There is also a little well stocked supermarket just across the road which is really handy.
The owner Emma is lovely and very helpful. This was our third visit to Valle Gran Rey and it won't be our last. Just get a cheap flight to Tenerife hop on the ferry and discover this little paradise for yourself.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex12313...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful property in a fabulous location.”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The property had wonderful views from the roof terrace, a great place to relax with glass of glass of local wine. The interior was nicely decorated and well appointed and Emma the owner was very helpful. As keen hikers, we found the area to be a good base for some exciting walks. Valle Gran Rey is a very relaxed place, if you are eating out try the fish of the day for two at Casa Benjamin, amazing food.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbH107
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for a relaxing but active holiday!”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Excellent apartment, very well equipped and comfy seating and sleeping arrangements. Exactly as described in advert. Roof 'garden' furniture a bit tired and took a while to realise there were cushions but fabulous views down to the sea and a sun trap for much of the day. Lovely hillside location and pleasant walks down to a selection of beaches. We tried 2 restaurants in the village. Both very friendly and food good (not anything special but nice enough). Also ate at the beach... Less good and very busy. Supermarket over the road fine for breakfast and picnics. La gomera is fantastic if you like walking-loads of amazing well defined walks with huge variety of difficulty. We managed without a car but resorted to taxis a few times as the buses aren't very frequent. They're not timed for ferries either so we did some hanging around in bars for several hours waiting for the bus. Could have done with more local info on arrival and practical advice. Emma not there when we arrived and the couple of times we wanted to ask something she didn't seem to be around. We had her mob number though so could have rung if we really needed her. Would definitely go again, but for longer. A week not quite enough with all the travelling as it took a whole day to get there. Definitely stay here again too but you need to be fairly fit for all the steps in la calera!! Only neg comment... Apartment steps in need of repair, not great when its dark at the end of a long day travelling

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and bed
Liked least: Tiny bathroom and garden chairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing