We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderfullly relaxing, beautiful location - heaven”
Review of Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderfullly relaxing, beautiful location - heaven”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Bambu is a fantastic place to stay. It has lovely large airy rooms and a very relaxed laid back atmosphere. Memo - the owner is fantastic, and very helpful. Its a beautiful location, and a very special place to stay. My only one criticism was that our room wasnt particularly clean - there was a few questionable stains in the bathroom - which were obviously left by the previous occupants - after two days I decided to scrub the stains off myself. Also the bin (which you put used toilet paper in) had clearly never been cleaned, which is slightly gross given what it is used for! Each day the beds are made and the floors swept and washed, but it would be nice if the bathrooms were given a proper clean inbetween guests. HOWEVER, this was really not a big issue and the positives far outweigh any negative! Thanks to Memo for a great stay - and to the lovely cat Lola!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lornstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Best place to stay in San agustinillo by a mile! Right on the beach, plenty space & shade on site. Kitchen with everything you need. Lovely owner & staff just perfect

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallygally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Bambu is so wonderful. My partner, 1 year old baby and I had possibly our best vacation ever. We relaxed, enjoyed the beauty of the beach, the hotel, the kind people. The hotel has 6 rooms and is right on the loveliest, quiet beach so far from any highrises. Our room was on the first floor since I have a little one. My room was whitewashed and blue tiled, lovely bathroom, cool with a fan and bamboo walls. Memo who owns the hotel was helpful and fun to talk to. He was so considerate of our needs as parents of a baby. Best of all was perhaps hanging out in the outdoor, communal kitchen with Memo and other guests we met.
I am planning a return already.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochileraymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

My wife and I arrived here by mistake A neighbouring hotel where we had reservations was overbooked and sent us to the Bambu and it's laid back owner, Memo. We had a wonderful Cabana, within 30 meters of the beach and ocean waves. The large room had a comforable queen bed, mosquito tent, fan, shower and decent bathroom. Outside we had our own private terrace, a hammock and table & chairs. There is a communal kitchen in the center of the 8 cabana complex. All in all very simple, rustic, quiet (except the surf) and romantic. The beach in front is one of the most beautiful I have seen in Mexico. Swimming is good at the North end. This is not a luxury Cabana complex, like a couple of the competitors just down the beach, but it offers exceptional value, good service and a unbeatable location. We plan on going back next winter. We much prefered this area, San Augustinillo, Mazute, Zipolete to the much larger Puerto Escondido.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldyuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We ended up at Bambu as we couldn't find anywhere else to stay in the village that could give us a family room. Bambu is at the end of the village though this is not a problem as the village is so small. The hotel is still being finished and the owner is working hard to make a go of the place. This was not a problem in any way. We had a stunning bamboo room, upstairs overlooking the sea. It was spotlessly clean and very spacious. Support a local whos trying to make a living - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustinillo
0.2 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.8 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Placer Bungalows
Punta Placer Bungalows
#3 of 4 in San Agustinillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
0.3 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 9 in Puerto Angel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu

Property: Bambu
Address: Main Rd | Conocido, San Agustinillo, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Agustinillo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in San Agustinillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel San Agustinillo
Bambu San Agustinillo, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing