We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy family getaway; seaside paradise”
Review of Bambu Ecocabanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu Ecocabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Oaxaca de Juárez, Oaxaca, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreamy family getaway; seaside paradise”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Bambu was highly reccommended to be by a friend, and it delivered on all fronts. Beautiful airy, clean rooms open to the ocean, well-maintained mosquito nets over the beds to keep bugs at bay, a great (and well shaded) sandy stretch out the front, well stocked with mattresses, hammocks and deck chairs, and a beachfront kitchen for meals at 'home'. Lots of thoughtful touches too, like a kid-sized tub on the sand, which my baby loved; outdoor showers; and a safe in the bedroom. Lots of nearby restaurants (although quite a few were closed in low season, when I visited), and Memo is a most friendly and helpful host. Great family getaway - I'd love to come back!
I booked direct via: memobambu@yahoo.com

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
69
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon Bambu late one night. The vibe of the locals and the manager Miguel made me want to stay. Not only was I blown away by the privacy of the rooms and the complete vacation feeling, but I had a kitchen to cook in. They had everything, a fridge, stove, pots and pans, blender, forks etc. I believe I counted 40 something hamacas. Who cant relax with a hammock? We stayed for our entire trip and drove to all our surf destinations. We can not wait to go back and make Bambu a regular destination for our travels. Absolutely amazing, 1 million stars!

Room Tip: Any room is great. They are all a little different and have dream like bug nets over the beds to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for five nights and had the best time in San Augistinillo and Bambu. Bambu is a very chill and laid back place, just like its owner.

We had a look at all of the Bambu cabanas houses, all were of good quality, large, either with one or two double beds and spacious bathrooms. Cabanas are clean and built with very good taste.

The cabanas are semi-open style. First we were a little bit afraid of possible insects flying in but in reality there were no issues. Perhaps it was due to the dry season but we did not have any mosquito problems. Even if there would be any there is a good mosquito net covering the bed that you can use. Maybe the place is not for you if you are a five star hotel type of a person, are accustomed to having 24h room service and toiletry supply in your room and faint every time shower drain gets clogged. But for all others, who just want to relax and have fun in a pleasant atmosphere, this is the place to be. Bambu is also great for families.

The owner will help you in everything you need, speaks very good English, is always around and is generally just a very chill and pleasant person.

As other reviewers have mentioned before, no breakfast is served. You can get your breakfast from the shop across the street, next doors or from El Sueno De Frida (great omlette!) couple of houses away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Imagen yourself in a bambuhut with terrass overlooking the ocean. Paradise? Well, it's Bambu in San Agustinillo!
Memo is the perfect host. He made us feel like home from the second we walked in.
Bambu is located close to several good restaurants (but don't miss the place next door, or the Frappuccinos at La Mora) and directly by the beach.
The prices for a double with ensuite are not for the slimmer budget, but it's cheaper than the average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Perhaps I caught them at a bad time (owner was away), but I thought Bambu was an average place and that you could do better in San Agustinillo or nearby Mazunte. I understand and like the laid-back beach vibe in this part of Mexico, but it was just too loose here. It seemed at times that there were no staff around and that you were pretty much on your own. My room was not cleaned each day and it was somewhat unsettling to have to step over the dog feces in between the sitting area/hammocks and the beach. I realize there are dogs all over the town and on the beach, but staff really should make sure that key areas are cleaned regularly. There also is no bar or restaurant at Bambu, though they have a kitchen area and fridge that they make available to guests. It feels like a hostel that would appeal more to young backpackers and extremely budget-conscious travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CANUCKINBETHESDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place is Awesome! Memo is a wonderful host! His helper Miguel is helpful,friendly,and would give you "The shirt off his back" Have been going to the beach in San Agustinillo for 10 years and Memo has always had a nice warm smile and a top notch place to stay and visit.Cant brag enuff on Bambu,the place is THE BEST!

Room Tip: All of them awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arms C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Forget, corny Cancun and touristy Tulum - San Agustinillo is paradise (and unlike the other two, still actually feels like you're still in Mexico). And Bambu is a wonderful place to call home in paradise. The cabins are pretty basic but are clean and nicely decorated and the beds are big.

We thought the best part was the way the hotel had laid out it's beach area - hammocks, deck chairs and palm trees, as well as the sound of the crashing waves when lying in bed at night... We didn't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustinillo
0.3 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
1.8 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
113 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Un Sueno, Cabanas Del Pacifico
Un Sueno, Cabanas Del Pacifico
#2 of 4 in San Agustinillo
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Ecocabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Ecocabanas

Property: Bambu Ecocabanas
Address: Carretera Principal Zipolite-Mazunte | Centro, San Agustinillo 70946, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Agustinillo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Agustinillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu is a small hotel on the beach, ideal for enjoying the nature and relaxing. Every cabaña has his own bathroom. The beach is an open sea, so in some seasons the ripe tide is strong We don´t have restaurant service, we have a comun kitchen The town has several good restaurants, all by walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bambu Ecocabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel San Agustinillo
Bambu Ecocabanas San Agustinillo, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing