We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true”
Review of Bambu Ecocabanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu Ecocabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Imagen yourself in a bambuhut with terrass overlooking the ocean. Paradise? Well, it's Bambu in San Agustinillo!
Memo is the perfect host. He made us feel like home from the second we walked in.
Bambu is located close to several good restaurants (but don't miss the place next door, or the Frappuccinos at La Mora) and directly by the beach.
The prices for a double with ensuite are not for the slimmer budget, but it's cheaper than the average hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Perhaps I caught them at a bad time (owner was away), but I thought Bambu was an average place and that you could do better in San Agustinillo or nearby Mazunte. I understand and like the laid-back beach vibe in this part of Mexico, but it was just too loose here. It seemed at times that there were no staff around and that you were pretty much on your own. My room was not cleaned each day and it was somewhat unsettling to have to step over the dog feces in between the sitting area/hammocks and the beach. I realize there are dogs all over the town and on the beach, but staff really should make sure that key areas are cleaned regularly. There also is no bar or restaurant at Bambu, though they have a kitchen area and fridge that they make available to guests. It feels like a hostel that would appeal more to young backpackers and extremely budget-conscious travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANUCKINBETHESDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place is Awesome! Memo is a wonderful host! His helper Miguel is helpful,friendly,and would give you "The shirt off his back" Have been going to the beach in San Agustinillo for 10 years and Memo has always had a nice warm smile and a top notch place to stay and visit.Cant brag enuff on Bambu,the place is THE BEST!

Room Tip: All of them awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arms C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Forget, corny Cancun and touristy Tulum - San Agustinillo is paradise (and unlike the other two, still actually feels like you're still in Mexico). And Bambu is a wonderful place to call home in paradise. The cabins are pretty basic but are clean and nicely decorated and the beds are big.

We thought the best part was the way the hotel had laid out it's beach area - hammocks, deck chairs and palm trees, as well as the sound of the crashing waves when lying in bed at night... We didn't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

easy, nice, beautiful. very friendly owner. beautiful seaview, nice neighbors, perfect for familys with small children. thanky you very much! **********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just stayed 7 nights at Bambu and absolutely loved it. Toplocation at a marvelous quiet beach (in july), really sweet people, fanatstic rooms in kind of Flinstone-style with great view over Pacific. We stayed in Bambu-room, which probably is the best room. Superbreakfast just nextdoor on the beach. If you want to relax this is the place. Have fun!

Room Tip: Bambu-room is by far the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at Bambu in the middle of March. We didn’t have any reservation and hoped to find some hotel upon arrival. When we get a taxi at Huatulco airport and asked a driver about a nice hotel in San Agustinillo, he suggested Bambu. But we decided to have a look at other hotels. After visiting 3 or 4 of them, we have chosen Bambu however, - it looked very nice and the price was adequate. We also liked the style: everything there is made of natural materials, especially we liked our bamboo bed. )) We stayed in a very spacious bungalow with big sliding doors with an astonish view to the ocean.

Later on we got to know closer Memo, the owner of this hotel, and once again realized what a good choice we’ve made, staying in this particular place. Memo is a very friendly person, very helpful and responsive.

There is no restaurant in Bambu, but they have a kitchen. It was so nice to wake up on a sunrise, go to a nearest shop (about 20 meters, you don’t even need to put on your shoes), buy there a couple of eggs and tomatoes and make an omelette for a breakfast.

Bambu is very good for romantic stay (you feel very secluded there), but you will never feel lonely there if you don’t want to. It was so nice to chat with Memo’s friends, who sometimes visited him and we were sitting around a big table in the evening, having drinks and chatting. That is when we began to feel that we are in real Mexico, not in one of those touristic reservations, which look alike all around the world.

We really loved this place. During our 3-week trip we stayed in a lot of hotels, some of them were nice, some were not, but Bambu will always stay in our hearts as a very special place, as one of the brightest memories of this long and interesting trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elentari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustinillo
0.2 mi away
Punta Placer Bungalows
Punta Placer Bungalows
#3 of 4 in San Agustinillo
107 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 6 in Zipolite
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
1.1 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
114 reviews
0 mi away
Un Sueno, Cabanas Del Pacifico
Un Sueno, Cabanas Del Pacifico
#2 of 4 in San Agustinillo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Ecocabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Ecocabanas

Address: Carretera Principal Zipolite-Mazunte | Centro, San Agustinillo 70946, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Agustinillo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Agustinillo
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu is a small hotel on the beach, ideal for enjoying the nature and relaxing. Every cabaña has his own bathroom. The beach is an open sea, so in some seasons the ripe tide is strong We don´t have restaurant service, we have a comun kitchen The town has several good restaurants, all by walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bambu Ecocabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel San Agustinillo
Bambu Ecocabanas San Agustinillo, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing