We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat by the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punta Placer Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Agustinillo
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Accommodation at Punta Placer consists of 4 round buildings, each with a modern cabana (spacious bedroom with shower-room) on the ground and first floor. It's located in the small fishing village of St Agustinillo, on the pale sandy beach of the unspoilt West coast. It's an hour by taxi (350-500 pesos) from Huatulco (nearest airport) and is a peaceful retreat (no moblie phone signal!) right beside the rolling waves of the Pacific Ocean. This is essentially a place to relax, lie in a hammock under the coconut palms, read, walk on the deserted beach, eat and drink, but beware of the very strong sun - we used factor 30 all the time. The cabanas are well designed and stylish, and the only drawback is the mosquito population which can carry Dengue Fever. We covered ourselves in insect repellent, particularly in the evenings, but still had a few bites on our legs. The design fault in our cabana was only having wall switches for the lights; so one of us had to turn off the light and then get into the mosquito net in the dark, trying to make sure it was completely tucked in under the mattress, from inside the net! We were there just at the end of the dry season and the fishermen told us that once the rains come (June to August) the mosquito problem is much much worse. Breakfasts, which are charged separately, were excellent, with a wide choice of dishes. Light meals are served through the day, but as the French owners were away, food was not available in the evenings, which was disappointing. Overall, the location is almost beach-holiday paradise, and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful - particularly the French Tourism student who was on a 6-month placement at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgina1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2010

We had such an amazing time here. The bungalows are truly beautiful, and the experience of staying on this beach was wonderful. It is so beautiful. The sunsets and the peace and quiet were perfect. Beware, there is nothing to do in San Augustillio other than beach, relax, walk and visit the restaurants. If you're looking for action it is not here, there seems to be more at Zipolite but San is so much nicer. Really good for couples, I would not recommend this for anyone looking for a bit of night life.
The kids who work here are great, it was really nice to meet them. The owners are very laid back and friendly and happy to accomodate you.
The only drawback - and it's a big one - is the heat and mosquitos! It made it nearly impossible to sleep, we were taking sleeping tablets every night. There is no air con (it would ruin the atmosphere) but the ceiling fan does not make it through the mosquito net so you just lie there and swelter. With no air moving around the mozzies are then free to eat you alive, and there are a lot of them. Unless you're used to the heat or not bothered by mozzies then be prepared. It's all fine during the day but the nights were hard work.
That said, I would definitely go back. The hotel could benefit from more fans in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

My husband and I have been down to San Agustinillo three times and our favorite place by far is Punta Placer. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the whole complex is very clean, and the owners and staff are friendly and gracious.

Punta Placer's restaurant is a great place to have breakfast (their chilaquiles were amazing). From the restaurant, smooth rocks form a winding path that leads to the cabanas. The winding rock pattern is continued in the rooms, which are comfortable and beautifully designed. Although there are mosquito nets, there were zero mosquitoes in the room. This was a great relief after staying at Un Sueno on a previous visit, where, perhaps because the rooms are set back a ways from the beach, we were tormented by mosquitoes whenever we weren't under the mosquito net.

Perhaps the thing I love best about Punta Placer is that, unlike most places down there, Punta Placer's eight cabanas are right on the beach. Other places put restaurants on the beach with the cabanas set back behind. Each Punta Placer cabana has a little patio with chairs and/or hammocks. In addition, on the beach in front of the cabanas there are hammocks strung up between palm trees, thatched umbrellas and comfy beach chairs for guests to use.

On our most recent trip to San Augustinillo, we were joined by friends from San Francisco. Because we had planned our trip for Easter Week, one of the most popular times for Oaxacans to visit the coast, we were only able to get one room at Punta Placer, which we gave to our friends. The other room we booked was up the hill at Casa Pan de Miel, which ran us $165 a night (vs. $100 at Punta Placer). Although Pan de Miel has a million dollar view and air conditioning, Punta Placer is a much nicer place to stay. Granted, Pan de Miel has a gorgeous infinity pool that gives the illusion that it is spilling over the cliff into the ocean. However, the pool was so warm when we were there that it was uncomfortable to swim in. Plus, our friends, not being guests of Pan de Miel, were not allowed in the pool, despite our offers to pay extra or to purchase food and drinks. Unlike Punta Placer, which is beautifully designed throughout, Pan de Miel has bland rectangular rooms that are oriented perpendicular to the coast, largely cutting off the ocean view. To top it off, Pan de Miel is a sweaty walk up a long hill, which is not fun to do at night given that the road is unlit.

Based on what we've experienced, Punta Placer is the best place to stay in San Augustinillo.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranAndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at Punta Placer for 9 days and loved it. We agree with all the positive comments made by other travelers. Rooms really are beautiful, very cool showers with plenty of hot water. We would like to mention the food! Every meal we ate there was excellent! especially the barbecued fish, the food is mexican with a french flare and everything is fresh and homemade. One extra point, the homemade cakes and cappucino at the Malex café are to die for!!! Its 2 min. from Punta placer.
Thanks Claire and David for a wonderful stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemrac94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

What an amazing place! Our rooms were very comfortable and what a GREAT view! Claire and her staff were GREAT! Really don't think you could find a better location as we were close enough to town and also right on the beach a few steps away from the water. Our rooms were always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKNRAVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

This place made me feel like a king for three days. I am sure it is the best place around, and couldn't be closer to the beach. The waves will put you to sleep at night. The coconut palms in front make perfect shade for reading, hammock snoozing, watching the beach doggies, or just watching the surf. The beds are comfortable and the style is eco-luxury. This is the first place I have ever stayed where the minibar is a good value and an amazing convenience.

If you are looking for an american style hotel with carpets and A/C you probably won't be in San Agustinillo in the first place. If you are looking for simplicity and a place to get away and enjoy perfect weather and natural beauty, then this is perfection. The staff at Punta Placer are relaxed but attentive. The restaurant is lovely, though dinners are better down the beach Mexico Lindo.

If you end up here, don't be afraid to walk to Mazunte. The beach there is beautiful as well, and it is certainly more lively in the evenings. There are more dining options there too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Wow. What a gorgeous spot! We loved most everything about Punta Placer and San Augustinillo. Oh how we would have loved to spend more than three days. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustinillo
0.2 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
0.3 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 6 in Zipolite
140 reviews
1 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
114 reviews
0 mi away
Paraiso Del Pescador
Paraiso Del Pescador
#4 of 4 in San Agustinillo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Placer Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Placer Bungalows

Address: Playa San Agustinillo, San Agustinillo 70946, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Agustinillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Agustinillo
Price Range: $87 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Placer Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Placer is an intimate beachside complex, featuring 9 eco-luxe rooms divided into 4 bungalows, set on the beautiful sandy stretch of San Agustinillo beach, Oaxaca. Enjoy getting back to nature at our little fishing village hideaway, where you can relax under traditional palm roofs, surrounded by tropical wooden furniture, coconut trees and uninterrupted ocean views. Our laidback ambiance - complete with delicious Mexican home-cooking - makes escaping from the demands of modern life here easy. Pull up a deckchair, grab a margharita and settle in for some unbeatable sunset views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Punta Placer Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Placer Bungalows Hotel San Agustinillo
Punta Placer Hotel
Punta Placer Bungalows San Agustinillo, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing