We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punta Placer Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Agustinillo
Reviewed December 30, 2009

What an amazing place! Our rooms were very comfortable and what a GREAT view! Claire and her staff were GREAT! Really don't think you could find a better location as we were close enough to town and also right on the beach a few steps away from the water. Our rooms were always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKNRAVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 104 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

This place made me feel like a king for three days. I am sure it is the best place around, and couldn't be closer to the beach. The waves will put you to sleep at night. The coconut palms in front make perfect shade for reading, hammock snoozing, watching the beach doggies, or just watching the surf. The beds are comfortable and the style is eco-luxury. This is the first place I have ever stayed where the minibar is a good value and an amazing convenience.

If you are looking for an american style hotel with carpets and A/C you probably won't be in San Agustinillo in the first place. If you are looking for simplicity and a place to get away and enjoy perfect weather and natural beauty, then this is perfection. The staff at Punta Placer are relaxed but attentive. The restaurant is lovely, though dinners are better down the beach Mexico Lindo.

If you end up here, don't be afraid to walk to Mazunte. The beach there is beautiful as well, and it is certainly more lively in the evenings. There are more dining options there too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Wow. What a gorgeous spot! We loved most everything about Punta Placer and San Augustinillo. Oh how we would have loved to spend more than three days. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

My 15 year old son and I traveled to this amazing place for his 15th birthday... and it was the most perfect part of our trip. The bungalows are perfect, the staff are friendly and accommodating, and you couldn't ask for a better location.

We arrived tired and sore from a 10 hour bus ride from Oaxaca city. We found a beautiful bungalow waiting for us right on the moonlit beach. Our beds were super comfortable, and the fridge had cold beers and water waiting for us. In the morning, I stepped out into paradise... ate an amazing breakfast, drank Conora and laid in a hammock, watched my son play in the waves, took a walk into town, watched the sun set, and had an amazing dinner.

Over the next five days my son and I went on a boat ride to swim with sea turtles, a wooden canoe ride into a mangrove forest to see crocs, and a late night beach walk to watch sea turtles lay eggs and a little further up, the babies hatching and making their way to the sea in the moonlight.

I cannot say enough good things about Punta Placer. There is nothing more I could have asked for. Perfect perfect perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rumnting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

located right on the beach, the place is warmly managed by french couple with a bali-style touch in design. rooms are perfect - all with a fanctastic view over the pacifics and terraces. in front of the bungalows (20 m from the ocean) are several hammocks and shezlongs shadowed by palms, so you can have your margarita, reading the book and watching pelicans hunting for fish at the same time. last but not least - free wi-fi internet was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Slonik220v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Two nights at the Cabanas Punta Placer in San Agustinillo. Eight rooms in all, with a small restaurant. Our very clean room was outfitted with an overhead fan, locally made toiletries, a very firm platform bed, a fridge, a hammock and patio, and nice view of the beach and ocean.

Although right on the only street in town, the ocean drowned out most noise, and auto traffic is a non-event at night, for the most part. But if you're looking for the perfect room I would recommend asking for one of the cabanas right on the beach.

Claire, our hostess, was helpful and friendly, and yes, makes a mean margarita. Breakfasts were good, too.

San Agustinillo is a lovely little town, with not much to do except eat, doze, swim, read and then do it again. A real beach vacation off the beaten path. We shall return.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank LuckyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Our experience was Excellent! David and Claire will take care you!
The Red Snapper they served us one night was the best we ever had, along with the yummy coconut flan. We also tested the Margaritas along the beach and we always came back to Punta Placer, as did our other family members. You want a GREAT Margarita see Claire. Fresh limes and lemons...
Claire also provides an excellent massage too!
David will take care of your surfing and boating needs, he feels the pulse of the sea. He keeps and eye out for you safety and makes sure you don't get taken away from the rip tides.
You may pay a few more dollars, but you will also get hot water, a cafe, beautiful accommodations, and people who really care about your experience. Thank You David & Claire...

Andy & Andy Littlefield
Eliot, Maine

Thank AndyLittlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustinillo
0.2 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
0.0 mi away
Paraiso Del Pescador
Paraiso Del Pescador
#4 of 4 in San Agustinillo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 6 in Zipolite
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Un Sueno, Cabanas Del Pacifico
Un Sueno, Cabanas Del Pacifico
#2 of 4 in San Agustinillo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Placer Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Placer Bungalows

Address: Playa San Agustinillo, San Agustinillo 70946, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Agustinillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Agustinillo
Price Range: $97 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Placer Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Placer is an intimate beachside complex, featuring 9 eco-luxe rooms divided into 4 bungalows, set on the beautiful sandy stretch of San Agustinillo beach, Oaxaca. Enjoy getting back to nature at our little fishing village hideaway, where you can relax under traditional palm roofs, surrounded by tropical wooden furniture, coconut trees and uninterrupted ocean views. Our laidback ambiance - complete with delicious Mexican home-cooking - makes escaping from the demands of modern life here easy. Pull up a deckchair, grab a margharita and settle in for some unbeatable sunset views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Punta Placer Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Placer Bungalows Hotel San Agustinillo
Punta Placer Hotel
Punta Placer Bungalows San Agustinillo, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing