We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange hotel - but clean and comfortable rooms”

Eshel Hashomron Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ariel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eshel Hashomron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ariel
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is a little bit of Israel inside the West Bank. In the lobby is a room with life-sized models of the Ark of the Covenant, Menorah and offering of Shewbread. In the huge garden at the back the owner has built a "Biblical Garden" with working models showing the early history of the nation of Israel (from Moses to Joshua) including a full-sized tabernacle and the owner conducts group tours after dinner - he's quite a showman.
Rooms were very clean with fairly new carpets and comfortable beds; only negative was that the air con had no temperature control so it was either on (and freezing) or off and too hot. There was a large but unheated pool outside. Breakfast and dinner were buffets and were just average; there was free coffee and tea all day and wifi was free but only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a nice balcony and the ones facing the pool probably have a better view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Eshel Hashomron Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

we stayed a nice weekend. full board. very nice swimming pool. the air condition did not worked well. so we stayed in the swimming pool.the managers were with us - so the service was good. it is an interesting experience. you cannot go travel alone by foot around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isacharweinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the place to stay if in Ariel mostly because we didn't see any place else. When you arrive you must ring doorbell to get access to hotel, They have not had a booming in several years,but you will see the blast marks on the floor. Because of low occupancy up keep is lagging but room was clean but stark, bring your own wash cloth. Room doors are designed to be blast proof. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Big pool when open. See website it accurate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boborunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We just returned from Israel and spent a very special Shabbat at this hotel in Ariel. Our family celebrated the Bar Mitzvah of my nephew Michoel. We had a very clean room with new carpet. I would not call it deluxe but very comfortable, nice beds, good clean accommodations. I would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers in the area or for family reunions. The food was very tasty. The front desk very pleasant. They have a nice pool which was closed and is probably open in the summer only.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fredlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever seen. Do not stay here if you expect any room/hotel amenities. The bed comforters had cigarette burns in them and looked like they haven't been washed in 10 yrs. They do not give you any shampoo, bar soap, etc. The paint on the walls was coming off. The in room phone looked as if it also hadn't been cleaned off in 10yrs. The window curtains had brown smear marks all over them and the balcony was dusty and covered in dirt from the outside. There is only 1 VERY small elevator inside the reception/lobby building. There are no elevators that lead to the guest rooms. The lounge chairs by the pool area were filthy.

Unfortunately, this is the only hotel in Ariel. I don't mind staying in older hotels, but they must be clean. This place is more like a youth hostel than a hotel. Most of the guests I saw there were in their early 20's and teens. Clearly they were just looking for a cheap place to stay. I checked out of this hotel the moment I walked in. I ended up staying at a beautiful hotel in Tel Aviv. If you are only looking for a bed to sleep in and do not care if it's clean or not, then this hotel if for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJP217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We were attending an event in the City of Ariel and wanted the convenience of being in the area at a reasonably priced hotel. Eshel Hashomron provided this and, besides, it's the only hotel in the area available!

The room was spacious and looked out onto the olympic sized pool and the curvy archeticture of the surrounding rooms.

Our room had privacy from the abundant plants and we had internet access included in the room rate.

The amenities are sparse - a thin bar of soap and a thin towel. But we slept well in clean rooms and had a full Israeli breakfast as part of our room rate in the morning.

Overall, a reasonable hotel in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RJMC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eshel Hashomron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eshel Hashomron Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 1822, Ariel 44837, Palestinian Territories
Location: Palestinian Territories > West Bank > Ariel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ariel
Hotel Class:3 star — Eshel Hashomron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Eshel Hashomron Hotel Ariel, Palestinian Territories

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing