We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite stop-over!”
Review of Hotel de Bordeaux

Hotel de Bordeaux
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Bordeaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pons
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our favourite stop-over!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel de Bordeaux regularly over the last 10 years. After all this time, we have yet to be disappointed by the restaurant and service. The food is of a very high standard with a regularly-changing menu that delights and surprises. The building will soon be renovated and I expect even better things. Patio area is lovely for a summer evening meal and prices are very fair. Great cheese board and selection of wines. JLR score - 43/50

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseRomanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor Co. Down
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Tucked away in the small town of Pons, a most comfotable hotel of character, close to the A10 motorway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pons, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We've enjoyed two meals recently in the restaurant here, both excellent. The first was an evening dinner where we had the tasting menu for a minor celebration. Often with a lot of courses restaurants don't get the balance right, but this one was spot on - and interesting and consistently good selection of content with portions of exactly the right size for us. Our second visit was at lunchtime with friends and again we were not disappointed, having a set menu we all got a great meal and an extremely economic price. And the service was good - well balanced - sufficiently attentive and friendly without being too 'in your face'. The hotel might have its shortcomings but so far as we could see, the restaurant is in a different, higher class altogether.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Hotel is pretty much horrible. Rooms don't correspond at all to what is shown in the internet (probably one room is renovated, the rest are old, ugly, tiny, filthy boxes). The rates are far too high for what it is and we would never ever consider staying in this shabby place.
Staff is very unfriendly and not helpful.
If you want a bad experience, this is the place to go.
We have been there with several friends using several rooms and everybody has been disappointed by this place, so it does not seem to be an unlucky punch of a particularly horrible room/horrible staff taking care of us.
The village is charming though.
In conclusion: think twice before booking this place and go there at your own risk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldAzntourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pons hotels

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

A simple town centre hotel
With very basic rooms and reasonable food
OK for a one night stopover

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

What a find! In the gorgeous medieval town of Pons, up on a hill behind massive ramparts, the Hotel de Bordeaux is not only a very old hostellry in its own right, being on the old pilgrim route to Santiago de Compostela, but the cuisine is superb and in the summer it is served in the pretty courtyard restaurant outside. It is worth taking a cheap flight to La Rochelle, hiring a car and motoring up here just for the night and dinner in this hotel. I can imagine it would be fantastic for a romantic night away.

The rooms are obviously constantly being updated, we were lucky enough to have the room on the top floor with a huge section of round wall where it ran round the staircase - I have read comments mentioning how small the rooms are here, but that was certainly not my experience, and the beds were fabulously comfortable. The bathroom too was large, modern and clean. It is only a 2 star hotel, but the restaurant should be considered in its own category, 4 stars at least - well worth its mention in the Michelin guide. Check the hotel's own website for details of the rooms and menus. We absolutely loved it!

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, large room
  • Disliked — Hard to say, can't think of anything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surreytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pons
10.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecu
Hotel de l'Ecu
#1 of 4 in Jonzac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Les Thermes
Hotel Les Thermes
#3 of 4 in Jonzac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel le Relais
Hotel le Relais
#1 of 1 in Jarnac Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
10.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Vieux Logis
6.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bordeaux

Property: Hotel de Bordeaux
Address: 1 avenue Gambetta, 17800, Pons, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Pons
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Bordeaux 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing