We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelllent chambre d'hote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Balcons de la Seugne
Ranked #2 of 5 Pons B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Superb chambres d'hotes at Pons which is in itself an excellent location for a visit! A warm welcome was followed up with a charming room and balcony overlooking the river which flows beside the property. Despite a visit in February we had a great 3 day stay where the the hosts Peter and Sue were friendly without being intrusive! Great breakfasts and charming hospitality! Will be delighted to make return visits. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wow, where do I begin? On arrival, we were warmly welcomed. Everything was ready and the house was very clean and cosy.
The owners were pleasant and always in good humor.
There are plenty of brochures available in the sitting room which help in deciding where to visit.
The breakfast was fantastic and filling with fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, croissants, pain au chocolat, fresh fruit, cereal, milk, fresh bread and many condiments.
You do not feel rushed or bored but at home away from home.
It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided Pons was the town to stay as a stop-over on the way to Spain and Peter and Sue's chambres d'hotes stood out as the place to stay. We arrived on a very chilly December afternoon and, after settling in, went downstairs for tea in the comfortable sitting room. In fact, we stayed there, chatting to the proprietors until dinner was served in the adjacent dining room. We enjoyed a very sociable dinner, at 22 euros per person including wine. Peter and Sue would have been happy to make recommendationsfor dinner in the town but they suggested that on a Tuesday night in December, dinner at theirs would be the best choice! And they were right!
The room was spacious and cosy with two windows overlooking the river and an even better view from the huge bathroom, overlooking the B & B's garden and a public park. In the morning, we had a great breakfast of fruit salad and yogurt, croissants and pains au chocolat with other items available if required.
We had a quick look around Pons before getting to the B & B and it was very well cared for with historic buildings and a wonderful square, overlooked by two bar/restaurants - good if you are travelling the in the spring/summer/autumn as we thought the atmosphere on warmer days would be lovely.
Thank you Peter and Sue and every good wish for the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter w, Owner at Les Balcons de la Seugne, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour un tel examen postive. Nous apprécions nos clients prennent le temps de nous faire un retour sur leur séjour - surtout quand ils ont apprécié leur temps avec nous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent three nights here in late September. The house was easy to find (if you follow the directions on their website, and ignore Google!), with free parking just over the road. Excellent breakfasts, and very friendly, welcoming hosts. Our room was the "Granada" with its slightly eccentric Moroccan decor - loads of space and a great walk-in shower. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great location in tranquil and scenic Pons with ideal parking within a few metres. Superb hospitality from owners Peter and Sue who really made us welcome, were very accommodating as we travelled with our young baby, provided a delicious breakfast and offered advice on local restaurants and places to see. Rooms with lovely views and spotlessly clean. All in all a great base to view Pons and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel in tranquil Pons. Bed and room was fabulous, tasteful and the owners were friendly, fun and had all the inside info on where to eat and what not to miss in the area.Great place for a base to see the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A charming, quaint and comfortable hotel, good food and impeccable hospitality. We were greeted by the owners as if we were old friends. This hotel is great value for money and a perfect place to stay when visiting the beautiful cognac area. I will be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morleymandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pons
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#1 of 1 in Pons
61 reviews
13.1 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
14.2 mi away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
224 reviews
11.1 mi away
Chateau des Salles
Chateau des Salles
#1 of 1 in Saint Fort sur Gironde
55 reviews
13.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
#3 of 19 in Saintes
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons de la Seugne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons de la Seugne

Address: 33 rue Charles de Gaulle, 17800, Pons, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Pons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pons
Price Range: $97 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chambres d'Hôte, Les Balcons de la Seugne is owned and run by Peter and Sue Wright, a couple who aim to provide their guests with a tranquil, relaxing environment.This lovely 19th century house has been restored to create a charming town house atmosphere. Guests can relax in the comfortable sitting room and meals can be taken either in the dining room or on the terrace.There are three large and airy bedrooms,all en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Balcons de la Seugne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing