We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful/ Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patrick's on the Beach
Ranked #8 of 41 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful/ Fantastic”
Reviewed November 29, 2007

Andreas is amazingly helpful and overly friendly...he went out
of his way to help us in every aspect of our time with him...including helping us with hopper flights, boats , scheduling,advice, etc... His accommodations were simple and clean and fairly priced, and we felt very comfortable... the places are basically on the water for less than $39 US per night....what else could you want! We were not looking for the backpacking/hostel type situation...but he did also offer camping sites for very little...He offered the convience of food
prepared by the kitchen... that was great...after a day on the water.
Patricks is also quite close...less than 3k from Cloud-Nine,Cemetary,and Daku (directly in front of his place by boat)
We had, and still have No complaints...Patricks is a great- mello
place to wind down.

  • Liked — straight forward simple and clean.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank whalebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    47
    15
    15
    10
See reviews for
15
51
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

not reasonable the price, the owner try to cheat you and he's telling lies. Don't go there !!!

  • Liked — nichts
  • Disliked — allem
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Siargao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohol Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

i Sayed there for 4 weeks the prices were reasonable...i realy pitty the other people that left comments here that cant afford 25$ a night for and airconditioned private bungalo on the beach...maybe they need to get new jobs? anyway the place was great! i would have stayed longer but had to go back to the USA...patrick's is a defanite thumbs up for me..i would go there again for sure...

  • Liked — The Beach and the fact i was 20 feet from it at all times!
  • Disliked — nothing that i can think of
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vestpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

Let's be fair guys.

OK, the place is over priced. Especially if you are a surfer and want to be near the waves. You can be within walking distance of Cloud Nine and pay about half of what it costs to stay at Patrick's, but Patrick's does have its own, somewhat unique charm.

By the way, as best as I could figure, the owner is not "Patrick". That's the name of his 1/2-PI infant son, with the resort's name being a semi-rip-off from a famous bar on the wharf in St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands.

The owner 's name is Andreas, an old German dude with a PhD in economics from the University of Hamburg - one of the best schools and best econ depts in Germany. So, whaddaya expect? To be fair, Andreas is probably one of the most personable and tolerant German "Doktors" whom you'll ever be likely to meet. I sort of pity his staff, but then, they should have know what were signing up for when they took the job : ).

In any case when I was there, back in 04, there were a few roaches to be seen and some leaky plumbing to be found, but the internet worked, the mango rum was tasty (if a bit expensive by local standards), the food was good (if typically slow on the delivery) and the beach and sunshine were primo.

I agree with other folks on the thread that Pat's is a good place to start out your Siargao adventure. However, if you are a surfer on a limited budget, eventually you'll want to head out to Cloud Nine, where you can get a relatively comfortable, air-conned concrete cell block for cheap, right on top of the break, with cheap PI beer on tap, some good comraderie, and even a few pretty waitresses hangin' about to boot.

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MindoVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Based upon phone conversations and website I was expecting a low level resort and arrived to a third world hut. Once I got used to the fact that I was in the third world that was fine, BUT the prices were anything BUT. You can stay at any number of other similar places on the island and get the same conditions and pay 1/4 of what they charge.

And the owner is awful, he is notorious for mistreating his employees and the locals he deals with.

I too was overcharged and so was a friend of mine.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank frogkuehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

Was well overpriced but heavily promoted on the internet, so was the first place we came across.

This place is very unpopular with the locals for it's prices and the antics of the owner. Just speak with any local, especially Pirate, he'll tell you all about it.

I personally was ripped off when I paid the bill.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The prices compared with everyone else
  • Tips/Secrets — Definately visit Siargao, just not this place
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Julsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Siargao is located at the south eastern seaboard of the Philippines where Pacific storms produce some of the most magnificent surf. One resort that stands out is Patrick's on the Beach Resort which caters to everyone from family types all the way to surfers on a budget. Accomodation consists of nipa hut cottages some of which come with air conditioning and cable TV, while the most basic would be OZARK TRAIL tents. For non-surfers, the resort can arrange fishing, or island hopping trips complete with pack lunch and dinner. Dining menu is quite ecclectic and sampling them can be an activity itself.

Property has a nice beach front and is walking distance to the town market. You can hire a motorbike to bring you to Cloud 9 which is THE SURFING SPOT on the island. This is the only property on the island that has internet and accepts credit cards for a fee. Everything said, perhaps the resort's greatest asset would have to be Andreas (the owner) who not only makes is own yogurt and mango rum, but can regale you with his stories.

Hard to squeeze everything in this review, just check out www.particksonthebeach.com

Helpful?
9 Thank trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
#10 of 41 in Siargao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Siargao Inn
Siargao Inn
#2 of 14 in General Luna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Romantic Beach Villas
Romantic Beach Villas
#6 of 42 in Siargao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kokai Resort Bar and Restaurant
Kokai Resort Bar and Restaurant
#9 of 41 in Siargao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patrick's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick's on the Beach

Property: Patrick's on the Beach
Address: Gen. Luna, Surigao del Norte, Mindanao 8419, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patrick's on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in General Luna on Siargao Island, Patrick’s on the Beach is a lush tropical beach front resort surrounded by beautiful trees, flowers and a pristine white sand beach. This unique resort offers the total Philippine experience. Perfect for a Honeymoon Destination, ideal for Diving, Snorkeling, Surfing, Stand-Up Paddle Boarding, Kite-Boarding, Kayaking, Fishing, Jungle Hiking, Island Hoping, Caving, Mountain Climbing, Bird Watching, Action Touring, Fun & Games and much more… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Patrick's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patrick`s On The Beach Hotel Siargao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing