We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hosts. Awesome Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buddha's Surf Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Siargao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Chris & Ash were awesome, most amazing hosts who went out of their way to look after me & everyone else there. Buddhas is a very cool place, accomodation is very comfortable, food is great. At first I thought it was a little bit out of the way as its 2km from Cloud 9, but it turns out to be better as its in between there and the town. They look after you with motorbike, surfboard and tours etc. If you're going here blindly like I was, I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 168 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Buddha is the perfect place to chill in between surf sessons. The food's great and the rooms and really comfy, with air-con and a hard-drive full of movies to watch. We loved the slack-line and Indo board as well. Owner Ashley is a great guy and willing to help in any way he can, and stand-in manager Chris was also really lovely. I would highly recommend staying at Buddha if you visit the paradise that is, Siargao!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethJayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We arrived at Buddhas at 4pm to be greeted by a very friendly Chris, the interim manager. Drinks were served and then we were promptly invited to join an impromptu SUP-yoga session by sunset. We surfed every day with Chris, some excellent local instructors and other guests and were able to borrow Chris's motorbike for a jaunt around the island. The service was brilliant, Chris was very well informed about the island and was happy to share his wisdom and expertise. The girls working at the resort were lovely and attentive and the food they cooked was delicious - lots of Thai and some Filipino dishes on the menu with some western influences thrown in for homesick travellers. Definitely order the chilli cashews and the seared tuna salad! The breakfasts are perfect for a post-surf re-fuel.

Buddhas is like a home away from home, very welcoming and somewhere i hope to return to one day soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmileeJaneTombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

It's all about the people. Chris and the staff were very accommodating with our requests, making the stay worth it. They were always open to answering questions about the island and what else we could do with our short stay in Siargao. When our flight got cancelled, Chris was very generous to let us all stay in the family room at a fair price. It was fun being close to Cloud 9, sharing stories with neighboring guests.. so when I do plan to go back, I'll make sure to stay here again. Thanks for taking care of us, Buddha's!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jan Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This little place is absolutely top notch. Chris, a surfer from Scotland who is interim manager, could not have been more helpful. The whole vibe there almost makes you feel like you are staying with good friends rather than at a hotel. Staff went out of their way to be helpful with surf tips, getting rides to the where the waves are, hiring boards and motor bikes, etc. Chris arranged a deep water fishing trip at our request, and when we turned up with a 3 kg yellow fin tuna, staff prepared an excellent spread of sashimi for us. Lodgings are a bit spartan as befits a surf resort but everything you need is there. The restaurant serves good food and cold, cheap beers. I cannot imagine why you would stay anywhere else on the Siargao surf coast. We WILL be back!

Room Tip: Room # 5 is near the front end and very convenient if you are lugging surfboards or kit around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Buddha's Surf Resort is truly an ideal place to stay for travellers searching for good island feel. Comforting ambiance, relaxing atmosphere and laid-back feel are exactly one's after when going for an island vacation - and indeed the resort has all of these good vibes that one's desire. Our stay was truly a time off that we've been longing for. Days of de-stressing in an island far away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
http://www.marxtermind.com/2014/05/buddhas-surf-resort-place-to-stay-in.html

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marxtermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had our first all-girls escapade.. we booked with this resort online, and they responded instantly, the communication and arrangement was excellent. As tourists in the island, Ashley gave as big deals and worth it cost for our land arrangements and island hopping tour!! Try their Island Hopping Package.. its worth it!! the Boatmen were friendly and even took pictures for us.. the food included in our island hopping was delicious (Big TUNA, Grilled Chicken and Mango Salad!!).

There rooms are also affordable for 5-6 persons, budget friendly!! Very cozy ambiance as if were living in our private vacation house. Chris, also made arrangement for our buggy rides to have a tour to Cloud 9... we enjoyed a lot, we never mind if its raining yet we enjoyed our stay!!

Try their food at the resto.. its excellent!! Its feels like home, peaceful and not crowded... best for those having short trips and relaxation.

As to pocket damage it costs as about P4,000 pesos each for a group of 5, for a 2 days/1 night stay and we enjoy these:
- Fastcraft and Roro fare (Surigao to Dapa -vice versa)
-Van (Back and Forth to Dapa & Buddhas)-- coz its raining thou still cheap compared to "habal-habal at regular rate of 250/each a trip --- c/o Buddhas arrangement
-Welcome Drinks at Buddhas (Lemonade version)
-Island Hopping Tour (with grilled tuna, grilled chicken and mango salad) --- c/o Buddhas arrangment Note: Pls bring extra money for entrance fee at Guyam and Daku islands, as well as fee for grilling the fish and chicken. You may also request for cooked rice at Daku island.
-Dinner (Tuna and Chicken Salad) & Buddhas Vanilla Milkshakes, Chai Tea and Tequilla Sunrise with French fries
-Buggy Rides and Bicycle Rental Fee, --- c/o Buddhas arrangement
-Room Accomodation good for 6 persons,
-Free Big Breakfast.. must try Big Buddha's Breakfast

we surely come back to Siargao and stay at Buddha's for our next escapade.

Room Tip: If your traveling with friends up to 6 persons.. try the Family Room-- big beds and value for money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenGarrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
132 reviews
3.7 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
92 reviews
3.5 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#6 of 6 in General Luna
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunset Bay Villas
Sunset Bay Villas
#5 of 6 in General Luna
12 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#4 of 6 in General Luna
181 reviews
1 mi away
Kawayan Siargao Resort
Kawayan Siargao Resort
#3 of 6 in General Luna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha's Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha's Surf Resort

Address: Catangnan, Mindanao 8419, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Siargao Island
Price Range: $53 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Siargao Island Surf community, Buddha's Surf Resort gives you a true local surfing experience. Located between the busy Cloud 9 and the town of General Luna, the resort is ideal for travelers and surfers alike looking for good island vibes. The resort is comfortable with a laid back atmosphere and has easy access to everything you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Buddha's Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing