We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paradise in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buddha's Surf Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Siargao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I went to buddha's 15 days after the big typhoon haigan and hoped to find everything ok, and that was exactly what I found, no sign of the all mighty haigan, Siargao had no damage and everything was functioning just fine.
About the Buddha's resort.
Just one word AMAZING.
Specially the staff and a particular mention to Marlo, Bebé, Jing Jing and Ya Ya, they really deserve it for the fantastic time they made us pass in Buddha's
Salamat cayo guys

One thing I'm sure
I'll be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 165 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Super friendly staff and very accommodating manager, nothing was too much trouble. Helped organise twice daily boats out to all the best surf spots on the day. Grab a hubble-hubble out the front down to cloud nine in 2min. Rooms are great value, large, clean, modern set in nice gardens. This place was a real treat, originally booked in for 2 days but liked it so much I stayed 10. Fresh coconuts on Tap, Delicious fresh fish out the kitchen and the BBQ gets fired up several times a week. Looking forward to getting back to Buddha surf in 2014. Everything I hoped it would be and much more. No pool but why would you want one when there is a gorgeous turquoise ocean on your door step

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you happen to go to Siargao, be sure to stay in Bhudda surf resort.

cozy, layback atmosphear, wonderfull staff, great food.

by the way, we have been there after the super typhoon Haiyanan and I can ensure that this island was not afected by it.

again Salamat to Marlo, Bebe, ya ya and jing jing

we will be back :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed at Buddha's for 5 days recently as part of a short vacation to get away and take some surf lessons. Buddha's surf resort provided high quality lodging at a moderate price. Buddha's is not a 5 star resort, but it is not meant to be a 5 star resort. The reason most of the persons are at Buddha's is surfing and they want a clean comfortable place to lay their heads at the end of the day with a nice restaurant where you can have good food at a decent price along with a few beers. The owner/manager, Ashley, did a good job of finding me a surf instructor. The onsite restaurant had a good selection of tasty food at moderate prices (I ate at Buddha's 95% of the time). Do not expect speedy service, but the food does eventually arrive and it is was pretty good. This is not a backpacker joint, all the folks staying here were professionals looking to do some surfing with some on an extended vacation

Room Tip: There is one room on the second floor that might be a bit bigger than the rest. Also has a nice bal...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank schausdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Myself and two friends Stayed at buddha's for two periods during a four week surf trip on the Island. High quality accommodation wasn't a priority for us but Buddha's had the combination of being competitively priced and being well reviewed. It looked like we'd get a good deal AND a comfortable bed...

Our initial plan was to spend half our trip in the south of the island at Buddha's and the other half in the more remote north. However after leaving Buddha's after our first weeks stay we all quickly found ourselves pinning to return to Buddha's warm vibe, super comfy mattresses and Pani's cooking.

The calibre of the resort and service far surpassed all of our expectations. For our planned surf trip the idea of spending a lot of time hanging out in any 'resort' was insane - but the resort had everything. A mix of fresh hand prepared food and an excellent ambiance making it the perfect place to hang out and meet other travellers. The also resort hosts a variety of evenings, from special meals to the weekly open mic night where the resort really comes to life, attracting locals and other travellers to come hang out, drink cold beers, listen to live music and exchange the days surf stories.

The staff were constantly on hand ensuring we had everything we needed and always offered to assist us in organising any activities outside of the resort. Everything from boat rentals to massages could be arranged at the drop of a hat. The owner Ash is clearly well plugged into the island and has a wealth of local knowledge to share, especially when it comes to what spots to surf and when. After spending a month traveling up and down the island, scouting out other venues and resorts, I'm confident we picked the best place to stay. Staying at buddhas took what would've been an excellent surf trip and turned it into something special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I think this hotel resort is slightly over rated in reviews.
We stayed here for a few nights. The room is Ok, the toilet works and the shower works( but just)
The staff are friendly for sure but the service in the restaurant is very slow indeed.
The next door La Luna had certainly a better restaurant.
We looked into some other resorts along the road to Cloud 9 and our impressions that there are several better choices than Buddah. Specially with seaview wich is nice when staying on an Islans resort. In short Buddah is not bad but far from being among the best between General Luna and Cloude 9.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be same except one big family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter19502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleychar1es, Owner at Buddha's Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback, which I would like to have the opportunity to comment on.

We were surprised regarding your comments on the showers, this was not raised as a specific concern and they are a European brand of a high standard with good water pressure.

Regarding the restaurant, we apologize if you felt the service was slower than expected, but the restaurant is popular, and at busy times due to the fact that all our food is freshly prepared, a delay can be inevitable. This is something we are working hard to improve.

We appreciate there are higher end resorts with sea views, but you will find this is reflected in the price, which is not as competitive or as reasonable as we can offer.

We are sorry your overall view of Siargao wasn't as favorable as the majority of our previous guests, this may be reflective of your original expectations of the area as a whole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sitting close to the famous cloud 9 surfing resort on the paradisal island of Siargao, Buddha Surf Resort truly makes travelling to the island that much more special.

The rooms at the resort overlook a beautifully well-kept garden that is surrounded by large palm trees and a volleyball net. My room had a large, very comfy bed compete with clean sheets and towels each day and a separate en-suite shower room. A deck chair sits outside the room for those times when you want to sit back and just relax. There is a restaurant with a large seating area that serves a large menu of amazing food throughout the day (I would definitely recommend the 'surfer's breakfast!') and a space to store your motorbike, which are available to rent from the resort. In addition to this are surfboards to hire along with experienced local surfing instructors, who helped me improve my surfing enormously during my time there. Wifi internet is also a welcome addition for those wishing to catch up on emails or keep in touch with friends and family.

Several evenings were put on at the resort during my time there, of which the acoustic night was one of the highlights. Locals and travellers from around the island came together for a fun chilled-out evening in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The resort owner, Ashley, worked tirelessly during my time there to ensure I enjoyed as much of the island as possible. His extensive knowledge of the island proved invaluable to my trip and left me wanting to stay and do more. I would definitely recommend a trip out to one of the many tiny islands dotted around Siargao and spend a day relaxing on the white sandy beaches with water so clear you can see the fish swim between your feet.

Whether you're a surf bum, a keen traveller or on a family holiday, if you plan on visiting the Philippines, make sure you pass through the beautiful island of Siargao and rely on Buddha Surf Resort to make your stay an unforgettable one. I'm already counting down the days till my next trip back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0eFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#4 of 6 in General Luna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunset Bay Villas
Sunset Bay Villas
#6 of 6 in General Luna
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kawayan Siargao Resort
Kawayan Siargao Resort
#3 of 6 in General Luna
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha's Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha's Surf Resort

Address: Catangnan, Mindanao 8419, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Siargao Island
Price Range: $44 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Siargao Island Surf community, Buddha's Surf Resort gives you a true local surfing experience. Located between the busy Cloud 9 and the town of General Luna, the resort is ideal for travelers and surfers alike looking for good island vibes. The resort is comfortable with a laid back atmosphere and has easy access to everything you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Buddha's Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing