We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch year after year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boardwalk at Cloud 9
Ranked #16 of 41 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch year after year!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've been coming to Cloud 9 at least once a year for the last 6 years. At first, as a backpacker in search of good value, and these days, as a more discerning traveler who still loves to have a good time. Andrew and Rhoda and their staff have always taken great care of me and my friends. From the days when we lived in the staff quarters because that's all we could budget, to now, when we can stay in a stellar room overlooking the break. I love the food, and there's always something on the go, my favourite is open Mic night on sundays when I get a chance to play guitar for a few beers (still a backpacker at heart). Don't ever change!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a view of the break are super. The lower fan rooms are great if you're on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AV8TER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
22
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 months at the boardwalk. Andrew and Rhoda are really nice hosts and all the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location could not be better. We had a clear view of the surf spot from our balcony. The room that we stayed was very comfortable and clean. Can´t wait to be back at the Boardwalk at Cloud 9.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toyberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had planned a stay of only a few days at the Boardwalk, but ended up staying for around one month, across May/ June 2013. The rooms are good value and the location is prime for surf and just cruising around the reefs and beaches. Neighbouring restuarants and bars are nice and close. The hosts, Andrew and Rhoda, as well as the awesome staff, made my stay all too easy, with a fun and chilled vibe.I only have positive things to say about my experience here and will be returning for another stay, hopefully some time soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I feel the Boardwalk is the best place to stay due to the great service, friendly environment and great view of the surf all day. Also, the owner(s) are very helpful in helping you find what ever you need to make your stay welcome and fun. They can charter boats for you, rent equipment and the fun never stops. Last but not least, they have a great menu!!! I hope you find your stay as great as mine always is.

Room Tip: All rooms are great if you want economy you can ask for a fan room with no a/c but still very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75leopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here last year. It was great, all the staff were very fun and welcoming. They were able to facilitate excellent entertainment and tours so there was never a dull moment.

The boardwalk is the place to stay with the view over the best waves right out the front. Great for singles, couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Upstairs out the front has the best view of cloud 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jermos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardwalk_Resort, Owner at The Boardwalk at Cloud 9, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Jeremy, It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. See you next time
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hey! My name's Chris. I travel the world for the UN and for Nat Geo....and this is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The staff....well I wouldn't cal them staff....I would call them FAMILY...are incredibly kind. Rooms are gorgeous and incredibly well kept. Air Conditioners work like a charm. Rates are super affordable. Most importantly, Andrew and his wife (the owners) take you under their wing to make sure your trip is smooth and without funny business.

PS- If you're a surfer this is literally the best view of the ocean. You can see the breakers without getting out of bed. It's the connection point for all surfers when they leave the beach. Don't look any further.

Enjoy Cloud 9!

Room Tip: Best Surfing View on Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbashinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardwalk_Resort, Owner at The Boardwalk at Cloud 9, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Chris,
Thanks for the review. I hope you can make it back to the island again one day. In the meantime I will keep an eye out on the TV for you.
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friends and I had our 3-day vacation in Siargao last April 26-28. We chose to stay in two different places during the two nights we were there because we felt like this would give us a better "feel" of what Siargao was like.
CONS:
- We stayed in The Boardwalk during our first night. We had originally booked a superior beachfront room about a month prior which was confirmed by Andrew (the owner) via email, but when we arrived at the resort, Rhoda (also the owner) told us she didn't have our reservation listed. This was a big bummer. We expected better and more reliable service from this place. Good thing though that they still had a non-beachfront room available, which still was okay for us.
- Correspondence via e-mail could improve. Andrew would stop replying to my e-mails sometimes and I'd have to e-mail him or Rhoda back to follow-up.
- The pipes surrounding the room would make odd sounds every now and then. This was okay unless you're a very light sleeper.
- There was also a power outage at midnight, and since it didn't come back on until an hour after, I presume they didn't have a generator. So the room got quite hot during that time. The outage wasn't the inn's fault though. Just a bit of bad luck for us I guess.
- All means of transportation around the island are expensive (at least for us Filipinos on a budget). The tricycle ride from the airport to General Luna was PHP 600. Short trips (less than 5 min) cost us PHP 25 each.
- Bring insect repellant. I got a million mosquito bites.
- Dogs and cats abound. Even inside the restaurant. They are right at your feet while you are eating. I didn't mind this but some people might.
PROS:
+ We were refunded the price difference of our room and Rhoda made up for the oversight by letting us use their surfboards for free (instead of renting them for PHP 200 each). So that was good!
+ The room we had was basic but clean and well-maintained.
+ Service was pretty good!
+ Complimentary breakfast consisted of a buffet of scrambled eggs, breaded (i think) fish, skinless chorizo, fresh fruits, cornflakes with fresh milk, bread with butter and jam, rice and orange juice. Yum!
+ Local surfing instructors were good overall (costs PHP 300 per hour).
+ Unbeatable location. The boardwalk is literally just a few steps away!
+ Very homey.
+ Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkvacenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardwalk_Resort, Owner at The Boardwalk at Cloud 9, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hey, thanks for leaving a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at Siargao and I hope you come back again one day.
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
#10 of 41 in Siargao Island
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patrick's on the Beach
Patrick's on the Beach
#9 of 41 in Siargao Island
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kokai Resort Bar and Restaurant
Kokai Resort Bar and Restaurant
#7 of 41 in Siargao Island
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viento Del Mar
Viento Del Mar
#4 of 14 in General Luna
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherinicole Beach Resort
Cherinicole Beach Resort
#18 of 41 in Siargao Island
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk at Cloud 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk at Cloud 9

Property: The Boardwalk at Cloud 9
Address: General Luna, Mindanao 8400, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk at Cloud 9 Resort is located directly in front of the famous Cloud 9 surf break. Having undergone a major refurbishment in the last two years, we offer guests modern and comfortable rooms with unrivaled views of Cloud 9. The restaurant is open from 6.30am until 10pm and offers both local and foreign cuisine. We have free wi-fi and free activities such as kayaking and snorkeling for our guests. Other activities include surf lessons, surf board hire, motorbike rental, stand-up paddle boards, kite-boarding lessons and island hopping tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Boardwalk at Cloud 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing