We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT ALL ROUND!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great location on a great property with amazing views of the ocean an islands in the backdrop, lots of room to relax under the trees in a hammock with no hassle's , a very short walking distance to some world class waves. Rooms are very clean with large bathrooms (I stayed in a "surfers favorite room ") .
Staff are very friendly and speak great English an will help you with just about anything you need, food is also very tasty! affordable and good portions too.
Couldn't say anything bad about my stay here at all an I will defiantly be back next year !

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommygun002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went to Siargao some few years ago and did not make an advance booking for the hotel. We just hopped into a boat, rode a motorcycle which the locals call "habal-habal" and started a 2 day adventure at the surfing capital of the Philippines.

Our habal-habal driver brought us to Cloud 9 Resort and told us its the best resort in the island. Since our visit was the off-peak season, we got a good deal on the villa which is fronting the sea and that long wooden bridge that they to seat expectators and judges for the surfing competitions.

We ordered room service the whole time since there are not so many restaurants in the area and access to transportation is scarce. The food is cooked well, mostly Filipino foods. They have sandwiches and burgers but we didn't try it and prefered rice the whole time. The price of the food is affordable too.

Just outside the villa, you can walk the shores and treat yourself to a great swim (just be careful for some areas that are really rocky). There are also locals whose life is surfing and were there in the water from sun up to sun down, willing to give you lessons and having their boards for rent at affordable prices. It would be so tempting to do because you will see kids as young as 5 years old braving the waves. Well, if they can do it, why can't you?

It was one great experience and I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanilla g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

stayed 4 nights on their fan room for 500php/night. the biggest draw here is that the resort is a 3-5mins walk to cloud 9, good small waves near the resort for surfing lesson, excellent service from staff, easy tranafer to and from sayak airport. if there's one thing that ocean101 can improve, it is the location of the common bath/toilet, i hope they can build one not near the resto area where people eat, gather, drink and laze around.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willdeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The resort’s location is overlooking the ocean. The well-kept garden surrounded by coconut trees, plants and grass makes the entire place is very relaxing.

Rooms we got were located near the resort’s entrance with garden view. The room is standard and clean with A/C, cabinet, towels, bed for triple sharing (1 double and 1 single bed) and has enough leg room to move around. Bathroom is big with shower and water heater.

Nice about the resort: Nice garden, ocean view, WIFI, friendly staff, good price, common TV at the dinning, yummy food with adequate serving, 5 minute walk to Cloud 9.

The resort has two huts with ocean view available to all resort guests. One floor hut provides a hammock in the middle with parallel seating provision. The big hut has 2 floors: 1st floor has a mini bar station, chairs and tables; 2nd floor has chairs, hammock and sofa bed.

Other activities available are area for volleyball, frizz bee and billiards.

Recommending this to groups and families.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are ok, no frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room is very basic with bed, A/C, TV with intermittent satellite cable connection, the bathroom is spacious and has a water heater. The highlight is when you get the beachfront rooms, is the view you wake up to (see photo uploaded). Time seems to slow down when you're at the resort. You can just read a book at the hammock, play volleyball or billiards when you decide not to surf. Unlike other higher-end resorts in the island, this does not have a swimming pool. Not bad for a little less than $50USD per night, breakfast not included.

Staff are friendly and helpful. They can help you book surfing lessons and tours. Food is decent but can take long. Property is well maintained and is about a good 10 minute walk to Cloud 9, the famous surf spot in the island.

Room Tip: If you're going solo and want some peace and quiet, request for room #21 or the farthest room fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Reasonably priced, clean rooms and decent food. The staff make you feel very welcome and are very friendly. Not the Ritz but good for the money.

I highly recommend the boat trip offered by the hotel to the 3 islands close to siarago.

I would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed there for about a week. It's situated quite nice at the ocean but a bit far from the surfing spots. Both the rooms and the food is around the Filipino standard.

Sadly we were scammed of 3000 pesos of our surfing instructor and that was when we got to see the real Ocean 101. Nobody took any responsibility at all, they weren't listening to what the problem was, the western manager just told us "this is the Philippines" and I should just accept it.

I will never ever accept any behavior of this kind! Their morals and values are about the same as an average street vendor.

Hopefully you wont get upon trouble but if you do you are all by yourself out there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mr_Lindblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean101cloud9, Owner at Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

this review is incorrect and concerned reviewer has lied and quoted statements out of context for dramatization

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
127 reviews
4.7 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
85 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#4 of 6 in General Luna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Patrick's on the Beach
Patrick's on the Beach
#9 of 41 in Siargao Island
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Romantic Beach Villas
Romantic Beach Villas
#6 of 49 in Siargao Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort

Address: Cloud 9, Gen Luna, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range: $37 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OCEAN101CLOUD9 RESORT is an established resort built progressively since 2001 with quality, clean and secure accommodation and a renowned restaurant. It is located 200 metres from cloud 9 wave in the cloud 9 bay with unsurpassed boat access to 6 other quality waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Hotel Siargao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing