We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Easter Week”
Review of Sagana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagana Resort
Ranked #6 of 41 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed there with our 5 years old daughter over easter with some friends and there kids.
The owners, Susan and Gerry, are fantastic, always there to help you, give you tips and arrange for outside activities.
The food is really good, especially in the Philippines where it could sometimes be a challenge to find decend food.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
it was a very relaxing week especially after a long flight from Europe.
Tk you so much

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 107 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Sagana Beach Resort! I spent a lot of time checking reviews of the various resorts on Siargao Island, and I'm convinced that I made the right choice. What helped sell me on this place was the immediate responsiveness that Susan provided on e-mail questions when I inquired about their accommodations. That told me something from the beginning. At first, I was not real keen on having the meals included in the on the price. However, that turned out to be one of the best features of staying at Sagana, because we did not have to worry about where to eat. And I'm not sure whether there were a lot of choices anyway.

Gerry and Susan were as accommodating and friendly as the reviews that I had read. We were also very impressed with the friendliness of their staff. The kitchen staff did an excellent job of preparing the food – and the food was excellent, even on our day trips when they would pack our lunches for us!

Our accommodations were very comfortable. We stayed in an open air cottage and as you might expect, bugs can be an issue. I would certainly stay in the open air cottage again, because I like the fresh air. But a word of advice - make sure you keep your mosquito net for the bed well tucked, because the mosquitos will join you if you don't! Also, it's a good idea to keep your suit cases and bags zipped up when you're not getting into them, so you don't end up taking some unwanted guests along home!

We felt very welcome here during our stay and certainly would go back! Thanks to the folks at Sagana for making our visit to Siargao Island an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBatbigoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susifishgirl, Owner at Sagana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hey Steve,
Cheers for the review. Yes Sue and I also only use Mosquito net and fan (don't really like A/C), but being in the tropics you will get bugs, good advice to be vigilent with the net. We are actually going to change cottage 1 this year and have it so it can be either open or kinda sealed with A/C (as the other cottages are). Take it easy and see you next time.

Susan and Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed there with my boyfriend for 4 days for Easter.
I didn't really know what to expect since i booked last minute and usually i am not keen on all inclusive formula, but since i knew that in Siargao you don't really have restaurants around, i thought "why not, let's give it a try".
It was just amazing.
What a nice surprise when we arrive, Gerry and Susan welcome us, show us around, makes us feel really comfortable, they make sure you feel like at home, introduce you to the other guests to create a more friendly atmsphere.
They have 6 cottages, all very nice, clean and in very good condition, this is much better in reality that on the pictures.
The food is really really good. Even if you decide not to stay there you should go for dinner!
They have a great cook, change the menu everyday, adapt to your needs. They are very flexible and you will not be disppointed.
It's great for couple, families with kids even young kids, and group of friends. There's no doubt that you have to stay in Sagan if you go to Siargao.
They also help to organize some activities and price won't be more expensive than elsewhere... They make sure you get a good deal and good boat driver.
Location is right in front of cloud 9 so surfers can't be closer !
Staff is great, owners are awesome, really this is the best place to stay in Siargao...
Great Value for Money
I have nothing to complain about and will go again

Room Tip: All cottage are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myanh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We heard about Sagana from lonely planet, and since it was the top choice, we decided to give it a try. The booking process was fairly easy, Gerry & Susan (owners) were very easy to work with. They will give you the choice if you want to include the transfers to & from the airport/port in your package. Ours were included, and the trips were very comfortable. My girlfriend had a cold the 1st night and as soon Susan knew about it she asked her staff to make her a hot calamansi ginger drink to make her feel better. They were very hands on taking care of their customers. Food wise. Superb menu! You will be given a starter appetizer followed by main course and dessert. Great scenery in the morning! Marvelous sunset by night..Fantastic service frim the staff we'll defintely go back again! The best place to surf.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wesguia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at the start of october. Everyone at sagana was friendly and very hospitable. Its in prime location and the food was amazing. The cottages were more than comfortable and all activities were very easy to organise. Definately worth every penny and will definately stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

After a number of visits to Siargao Island over the years I would find it hard to stay anywhere else but Sagana. From the moment you are met at the airport until you wave goodbye it's an escape that will stay with you forever, switch off relax and enjoy the amazing views and hospitality that always come with a free smile.
With words of wisdom from Gerry on surfing, golf or fishing or amazing travel stories from Sue you always feel at home.
As someone who travels extensively I find my time at Sagana more like being around friends than being a holiday.
Its more than just a surf destination, it's a way of life!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Sagana is one of the original nicer resorts in Siargao, way before the other equally beautiful resorts popped up (Pansukian might be the first, but that's a different price league). Despite being one of the older resorts, it is well maintained and still looks similar to what it was when I last saw it 8 years ago. It's advantage is it is right by Cloud 9/Quiksilver and you get a view of the break from the resort. You can leave everything in your room and step out just like that, no need to worry about where to leave things. There's an outdoor shower and pool area behind the bar/resto apres surf. Lay in hammocks, play pool, drink beer, eat yummy food, go sightseeing. You can get it all in Sagana. Website is pretty much spot on. Consider staying here if you want quick access to surf and great amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
#10 of 41 in Siargao Island
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buddha's Surf Resort
Buddha's Surf Resort
#3 of 9 in Siargao Island
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viento Del Mar
Viento Del Mar
#4 of 14 in General Luna
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kawayan Siargao Resort
Kawayan Siargao Resort
#3 of 6 in General Luna
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagana Resort

Address: BGY Catagnan | General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range: $68 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sagana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagana Hotel Siargao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing