We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Camp Baringo
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sandai Resort(Baringo District)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Keellu Resort(Eldoret)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
86
17
5
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
17
5
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish eaglesbird lifeluxury tentslovely poolan amazing placeexcellent foodpool areaboat rideeach morningamazing viewstwo nightsvery special placeoverlooking the lakedifferent speciesa great staybird watchersstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Personalized service, excellent food, a great atmosphere and unique layout that really puts you into the "letting go" and "get away from civilization" mindset. The current renovations (major works completed, but improvements are ongoing) strike the perfect balance between delivering luxury, but not overdoing the first world amenities. For example, hot water, but not in any sort of traditional shower or tub. The staff is excellent, well trained and friendly, almost to a fault.

Loved the ruggedness of it, while not sacrificing anything like wifi, electricity, hot water, gourmet food and a full bar!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmyent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The fact that our luggage was mislaid by Turkish Airlines and the absence therefore of anything nice to wear except our travel clothes became irrelevant once we stepped onto this magical and fascinating island. Thanks to the little shop I was able to buy a whole new wardrobe of.......kikoys - which just did the job! How we loved our stay on Island Camp - the food was incredible, beautifully prepared and presented with genuine smiles, the tents simply gorgeous and clearly immaculately upgraded and designed. We sensed that there was a huge amount of refurbishment and planning going on to perfect an already enchanting island in the middle of a beautiful nowhere. As for the manager, Perrie - he could not have been more entertaining, friendly, sympathetic about our loss of luggage and along with his business partner Bonnie, we thoroughly enjoyed the repartee over drinks and homemade crisps in the bar every evening! Armed with binoculars and a book about African birds we were escorted around the island - now much smaller owing to the rise of lake water - by the most knowledgeable Dixon. So many exquisite birds to see and listen to, hidden away but identified by the expert for our benefit. Will we return? Of course, how could we not - this is one of the ultimately fantastic places to stay - even without anything decent to wear!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was a really relaxing time, not good for ppl with walking difficulties as its uneven and on top of a rock,the service was ok but very friendly and the pool was clean ,jus a relaxing place not much to do jus enjoy your break and do a bit of boat ride and surfing mayb....... One can take a days trip to Lake Bagoria and see the amazing eruptions of gases from the earth,pretty cool lots of Flamingos have migrated to here from lake Naivasha as the water is fresh and has a lot of salt content compared to Lake Naivasha that has sewerage .......

Room Tip: It's a good stop over for a day or two and relax from hustle bustle of touring,all rooms are ok as all of them face some angle of the lake or the other.....enjoyable trip anyhow
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junglequeen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been going to Island Camp on and off since 1980. It's true it needed a bit of a re-vamp and that is now happening (May 2013) Upgraded tents, pool area and bars. The same unique location and away-from-it all experiences. Friendly staff and management and personal service. Beware the info below about 'alternatives'. The Lake is now so high that Lake Baringo Lodge is under water and camping and cottages at Roberts' Camp have suffered the same fate. Island Camp Resort is THE place to enjoy this amazing part of Kenya.

Room Tip: If you want a real Kenya experience rather than a one-size-fits-all safari lodge, this is the place to get to. Most rooms upgraded 2013.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

For those who love nature and will like to be close to it, this is apt. A setting within natural habitat. It is set on an island of exquisite natural reserve with awe inspiring bedrooms. I found the bedrooms set overlooking the river with chirping birds and crawling reptiles initially scary but after a first night sleep induced by the whistling leaves, I overcame the anxiety and learnt to live with nature in all its ramifications.

It does not offer any hospitality star but raw and natural which is beautiful where nature is concerned. I recommend for those who love adventure and will want to be lose to nature.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews