We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort and beautiful dives”
Review of Tufi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tufi Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tufi
Certificate of Excellence
Gaggenau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort and beautiful dives”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The TUFI Resort was our second destination during our journey through PNG in May 2013. From the Domestic Terminal in Port Moresby you reach TUFI International Airport within one hour flight time. We arrived a little late because of a short stopover in Popondetta, where locals entered the plane. Enough time to communicate with the foreign culture and change some pleasant words.

LODGING:
The TUFI Resort seems unremarkable from the outside and a little screened because of the wooden fence. But once you step inside you just feel like in paradise. A large garden with various plants, palms and tall trees allows tropical mood to develop. The garden is arranged beautifully and perfectly groomed. Everything seems to be at the right place. The two hornbills, Coco and Lulu, are welcoming us and are collecting the first hesistant tender loving care. Cool wipes and welcome cocktails are hold available already on the panorama terrace. Gorgeous.
As we were lead to our room our bags are already inside. So to say an “all-round carefree package”. The rooms are very beautiful and in proportion above-average very well furnished. Mosquito net above the bed, mosquito lettice at door and windows, fridge, a big closet as well as stacker pockets and drawers are very helpful, especially for us as photographers. The terrace is a dream – with ocean view and a hammock. Through TUFI Resort different trips and excursions can be booked. We stayed one night, two days, in Yavi village with the locals and stayed in their guest house, suffering their hospitality very well. A guided tour through the deepest jungle with our guide P.J. and also a canoe tour as well as extensive conversations with the villagers showed us their way of life. A distinctive culture and traditions which seem to be completely different for us Europeans.

FOOD:
Lunch, dish served on a plate, is varied and well-balanced. During a dive day on the boat sufficient lunch was served. Also fruits and lots of drinking water was available twenty-four-hours. For dinner a 3-course-menue has been served every day. We are bound to say that it was nearly gourmet kitchen. Lobster, fresh fish and delicious pasta. For breakfast coffee, juice and water as well as a fruit plate, cereals and toast for self-toasting was available. Warm dishes can be served for an additional charge.

DIVING:
This is what you expect from diving in PNG. During our stay at TUFI Resort we had fantastic visibilities every day. During the boat trips also dive spots further away are approached even for two or four persons without any exeptions. The dive guides Archie, Alex and Andy are bothering which dive spots will be approached and after every dive a big smile passed through our faces. The diving gear was picked up from the room and stored in the dive shop. Before our first dive the crew asked us to get our gear together. This was observed strictly and assumed for the rest of our stay. Our equipment was fitted perfectly every day, even the number of weights was correct every time. During our dives we only saw unimpaired reefscapes and lots of big and small fish as well as awesome coral formations of hard- and soft corals. Sharks were ever-present, even a hammerhead. The jetty of TUFI Resort is a good place for muck-diving. In the daytime as well as in the night time quirky and beautiful critters can be discovered. Beside uncountable nudibranchs you can find the colourful mandarin fish if you have some luck. For us as underwater photographers - perfect. We would also like to mention that they place value to the security of the divers. At rainy days they are not driving to dive spots far away but rather to the dive sites around the Fjords. Also very beautiful and recommendable.

RÉSUMÉ:
We stayed 7 nights at TUFI Resort and because of the attention of all employees and resort manager Wayne Dicker we have not missed anything. The rooms have been cleaned up daily, also laundry service was available for additional charge. Our dives have been perfectly planned and we got an extensive briefing on the boat. We just have to say that TUFI Resort is absolutely recommendable. Recovery and adventure are guaranteed.

Mel & David
www.art-and-water.de

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tufiresortmanagement, Manager at Tufi Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Mel and David

The Staff and Management remember you both as great guests and being very well traveled
We thank you for your great and well presented review and we hope to see you at Tufi again sometime soon

Tufi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    32
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
45
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have mixed feelings after staying at this resort. The resort was very nice and comfortable. We had plenty to eat, the rooms were cleaned adequately and the local staff were delightful.
Our complaints are very different in nature. We interacted with quite a few villagers both in Tufi and surrounding villages. We always had the same response that the resort is not kind to them. The same staff were there when we came up for breakfast till after dinner that night. These staff members never complained, but they worked very long hours for very little money. There is fair trade in coffee productions, it would be nice to see fair trade in the resort sector as well. For a resort to bring in that kind of money and be surrounded by extreme poverty and ill health is very sad.
We are divers and were able to do some dives. We weren't able to do outer reef dives as the water was to choppy. If you want to do outer reefs, it would be best to go between Sept and April. Also, they have limited wet suits and BCD, so it would be best to bring your own. The dive instructors were the best. They have over 5,000 hours diving those dive sites.
I would like to reiterate that the resort is nice. We did not have complaints with the actual resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravellers1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just had the pleasure of a 4 night stay in Tufi What a great place with so much to see and do, the reort is lovely and the staff are very good at looking after all you needs. Two real highlights for me were the cultural tour which was just fantastic and the generosity of the local people to share their village life was very much appreciated. We were made to feel like welcome guests rather than tourists. A great testament to the lovely nature of these village people. Such a far cry from Port Moresby which by contrast is just a place to work and or pass through. Second highlight was an afternoon when we canoed up the fiord through azure blue waters and drifted across the coral formations, visibility even from above the surface was at least 15 meters. The only distraction was the one or two local people on their canoes heading to and from the markets at Tufi all of whom were quick with a friendly welcome. Great hotel, great location.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay in a deluxe bungalow, the room is much bigger and more comfortable and so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoli_Zoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a lovely Birthday surprise (hence the title), magnificent surrounds – the perfect place to unwind.
The scenery surrounding Tufi is absolutely spectacular. The afternoon sea-breeze on the walk-around patio is divine – perfect with a glass of wine and a good book - true serenity! Do as much, or as little...Choice is yours!
The cultural show is a MUST! The villagers and the people of Tufi are lovely, friendly and always smiling. As with most Papua New Guinean’s their enthusiasm to teach their way of life is something to see, experience and fully appreciate.
The cultural show is finished off with a wonderful luncheon on the beach and the time is yours to unwind, swim, snorkel and relax.

The accommodation is very basic as too the resort’s facilities and I do strongly suggest you take plenty of insect repellent as the mozzies are huge and relentless!
This however, should not deter anyone from experiencing this wonderful part of PNG.

The only negative for us and as mentioned by other reviewer’s - the food is a little on the 'light-side'. Breakfast (continental) is very basic! Be aware - you will need to pay extra for a cooked breakfast and if you are diving or heading out on a boat - you may need it.
Lunch too is very 'light-on', again especially if you've been out diving, swimming, kayaking etc.
Dinner however, was a good deal more substantial with three courses and bread (in most cases) REMEMBER there's no buffet - it's the kitchen's choice.
Now in saying this, the food selection we were given was very good - My daughter and I are both vegetarian and our food was always nice...Men/boys - you may just need to ask for a little more!

Strong recommendation to 'plan ahead'...Take some additional nibbles, drinks etc. for in-between meals as you could be waiting 5-6hrs between meal intervals. We found this in the afternoon’s during the 'happy-hour'??? (5ish) when we paid 'full-price' for beverages and had to buy chips/nuts to absorb the alcohol because there was at least 2hrs before dinner was served (7ish).

All-in-all it is a very special part of PNG and a must to visit.

Room Tip: Over-looking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This wonderful resort is but an hour from Port Moresby but it's a different world. View of beautiful fjords from many rooms. Rooms are safari level - high level. Clean, comfortable, restful. Guides are terrific. Birdwatching excellent here. Local tribes are friendly and perform their ritual dances in complete costume and facial painting. Fod great. Water safe here, so you can enjoy a nice drink without your stomach paying for it. Central lodge beautiful with spacious veranda to enjoy your photos, book, each other or the friendly resident hornbills. This is a must location in PNG.

Room Tip: Ask for an unobstructed view of sea or fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheretooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tufi offers superb diving and a fantastic location.
Diving is expensive but outstanding reefs, huge amount of life, and unspoiled coral, from good boats with sensible dive masters. Can't get much better, and a great place to see natural coral reefs teeming with life before they get spoiled.
Side trips offered are pricey but interesting and worthwhile.
The resort rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean.
Food is basic and locally produced, breakfast is a very poor offering and could so easily be improved, the fixed menu lunch and evening meals are much better and particularly the fish was excellent, but leave plenty of time for the meal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pradiphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

First and foremost, the area is stunning - amazing location overlooking such natural beauty.
If you are here for the diving - this is world class. Good dive boats, excellent diving on the house reef and in the fjords as well as 'big fish' diving out on the outer reefs, plus an array of wrecks.
The facilities at the resort are basic, as to be expected in a remote location - however the service is a little 'cold' and mechanical.
The food is disappointing - my own opinion was that they are trying to save money here but at the same time trying to be a little too 'fancy' - when some hearty home-style food (like the local fish, lobster and sweet potatoes) would be more than adequate. Hardly if any vegetables with meals, and small portions for hungry divers!
Mosquitoes are another problem - bring plenty of bug spray (and high DEET %!).
A few small changes in attitude and mentality would make this place hugely more attractive.
Having said that - still a stunning location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RWArby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tufi
0.0 mi away
Tawali Resort
Tawali Resort
#1 of 2 in Alotau
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madang Resort Hotel
Madang Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Madang
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walindi Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufi Resort

Property: Tufi Resort
Address: Oro Province, Tufi 246, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Tufi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tufi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique, safe and friendly cultural experience with pristine diving sites and adventure activities! Come explore the amazing Tufi and venture to the wild organic surrounds of the last pacific frontier of the beautiful emerging Papua New Guinea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tufi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufi Dive Hotel Tufi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing