We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving, simple resort”
Review of Tufi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tufi Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tufi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great diving, simple resort”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tufi offers superb diving and a fantastic location.
Diving is expensive but outstanding reefs, huge amount of life, and unspoiled coral, from good boats with sensible dive masters. Can't get much better, and a great place to see natural coral reefs teeming with life before they get spoiled.
Side trips offered are pricey but interesting and worthwhile.
The resort rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean.
Food is basic and locally produced, breakfast is a very poor offering and could so easily be improved, the fixed menu lunch and evening meals are much better and particularly the fish was excellent, but leave plenty of time for the meal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pradiphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
45
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

First and foremost, the area is stunning - amazing location overlooking such natural beauty.
If you are here for the diving - this is world class. Good dive boats, excellent diving on the house reef and in the fjords as well as 'big fish' diving out on the outer reefs, plus an array of wrecks.
The facilities at the resort are basic, as to be expected in a remote location - however the service is a little 'cold' and mechanical.
The food is disappointing - my own opinion was that they are trying to save money here but at the same time trying to be a little too 'fancy' - when some hearty home-style food (like the local fish, lobster and sweet potatoes) would be more than adequate. Hardly if any vegetables with meals, and small portions for hungry divers!
Mosquitoes are another problem - bring plenty of bug spray (and high DEET %!).
A few small changes in attitude and mentality would make this place hugely more attractive.
Having said that - still a stunning location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RWArby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The setting of the resort is nothing less than spectacular, and the staff very helpful. This is not just a dive resort, there are many other activities to keep you entertained. But scuba diving is the main theme, I’m an avid wreck diver so no regular excursion to the “Jacob” a large world war 2 wreck (and recognised as the best shipwreck dive in PNG) only a few hours from the resort is a bit of a disappointment. However I’m sure if you booked it in advance they may take you out to the wreck. Diving at the wharf is simply amazing as one of WW2 great disasters occurred here when the WW2 PT boat base went up in flames taking 4 small craft with it. The main building is great but the accommodation although clean and tidy, is only just acceptable, and not up to standard for the cost. Never the less, just visiting Tufi makes up for some of the small short comings. Divers and nature lovers will love this place.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Tufi Dive Resort in October 2012, for 10 nights. We snorkeled, went on guided birding tours, and stayed overnight at Orotoaba Village to see the Birds of Paradise display at dawn. The weather was mostly good, it was hot and humid. Usually had thunderous rain showers at some point each day. One day all activities were rained out. It was not windy. But the ocean was mostly choppy.

Travel arrangements through Ryan Dandy, World of Diving. PNG Visa through VisaHQ.com. Converted Dollars into Kina at Brisbane airport, we had about $400 Kina. We were only in Port Moresby airport and Tufi Dive Resort. Both took Master Card. The departure tax for PNG was included in our Air Niugini tickets.

Accommodations/Resort: The resort does not have a beach. Don't expect a peaceful (Tufi is in a village) tropical holiday lounging on a remote beach. The only shore swimming or snorkeling is down at the dock area. All other sites are boat access. The resort does have a small swimming pool. The resort has 3 Hornbills (orphans raised at the resort). If we stayed in our room too long, they would hop on our roof for us to come out.

The managers (Wayne and Vicki) and the staff were awesome. We had a deluxe room with a big balcony. Large, clean and comfortable. Drying racks for your gear. Housekeeping provides a cold bottle of water in the mini-refrigerator every day. Our balcony faced the fjord (dock) side, and the view of the fjord was breathtaking. Right below our balcony was the road down to the dock area (only vehicle is the resort's). Also, the Tufi Handicrafts Village. Local people selling shells, jewelry, woven bags, etc. It could get pretty noisy during the day.

Mosquitoes were active. We brought insect repellent with 98 percent DEET. Keep the screen doors closed in your room to keep mosquitoes out. We were taking anti-malaria medication.

We felt completely safe in the around Tufi, but we always had a guide with us, except when walking up and down the steep road to the dock. The dock area is a little rough looking, with litter, dirt road with potholes, rusty buildings. There is also a little grocery store (did not go in). The resort itself was completely fenced and locked, security walked the grounds all night. Front gate is always secured and must be opened by a guard. There is a back gate onto the road to use when walking to the dock. It is unlocked during the day.

Food: Usually seafood or lamb. Dinner; a starter, main, and dessert. Lunch; a main dish, like curry, pasta, or fish. Breakfast; fruit, cereal (milk or yogurt), toast, muffins, juice, coffee. All meals served in the main building. In our opinion the dinners were outstanding. Lunch and breakfast, just OK. There is always a cold bottle of water on your table.

Expenses: (Kina converts to, 1 Kina (K) = .50 US cents).
Outer reef snorkeling with dive boat, $165 K per person. Boat snorkeling to Blue Ribbon Reef, $99 K per person. Paddling a canoe over to the nearest beach to the resort to snorkel, $38.50 K per person. Village Cultural Tour, $249 K per person, like a boutique sing-sing (awesome experience, so glad we went). Beer $11 K. Wine $22 K per glass or $100 K per bottle (or more). Cocktails $33 K. Sodas $6 K. Bottled water $5 K. If you drink, pack a bottle of something in your luggage. When settling up your final bill be prepared for Tufi to charge a percentage surcharge for using a credit card. We were charged 5% and another guest who had American Express was charged 10%.

Photos are still a work in progress. Photos on Picasa.com. Please feel free to contact me for more details regarding snorkeling, birding, Orotoaba Village visit, culture … my review was just too long.

Room Tip: Keep the screen doors closed in your room to keep mosquitoes out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful view of the fjords on the flight coming in to Tufi (sit on the left side of the plane); the resort is a 5 min walk from the runway, and is perched atop one of the cliffs, and has breathtaking scenery of the bay below. Diving was good, and the cultural tour was a real treat (not too tacky at all). Very cosy bar / restaurant area, and great place to socialise with your fellow guests. The rooms are basic but comfortable, and have beautiful views down to the bay.

It is expensive, but so is everything else in PNG - it is well worth forking out the money for a few days' escape.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AudreyH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited this resort in 2011 for sunset drinks. The resort itself is picturesque, located on the top of the hill with a beautiful view down over the water below. It is a dive focussed resort, although I believe they can cater for snorkellers. The food offered was good, and the cocktails good (just expensive). The deck was a perfect place for a drink... and the animals kept on site were great to see.
I would definitely go back for a visit, I loved beautiful Tufi!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I guess we must be very discerning travellers, since we could not understand why some are raving about how great this place is. I always try to be very fair in my reviews, and desperately try to find the good in every place. But this place was just not up to scratch for experienced travellers - certainly not when compared with the cost. Would be better listed as expensive backpackers resort. Yes there are some magnificent views but I think we paid for more than just a couple awesome views.

Seriously, this might be great for rich backpackers, but only if they intend to go diving. Unfortunately there is no easy access to the sea for snorkelling due to land-owner issues, and the pier where the dive centre is located is "industrial" and polluted with oil slicks & rubbish. The overpriced resort extorted k90 (US$ 45) from me for a 10 minute boat ride to get to one of the only areas allowed for snorkelling. Frankly the snorkelling was poor (and that is being polite). I was really pissed off when I saw the high charge for under one hr. snorkelling (with my own gear!!! - nothing else whatsoever included).

In addition to the lack of swimming activities, the only other activities involve long hikes into the wilderness at very high cost, or an expensive boat ride with tree after tree after tree after tree (maybe a great experience for city folk that have never seen trees before). You pay EXTRA if you get thirsty on the boat (including soda water). There is literally NOTHING else you can do there, due to land-owner issues. If you walk outside the "resort" you are likely to be asked to pay a fee for waking on someone's land. This is not at all what I expected. I suppose you could also sit at the bar and try to enjoy the $7 beers while being ferociously consumed by mosquitoes.

The rooms are "rough" type accommodation, and although there is an a/c it is unable to cope with PNG heat during the day. Particularly with all the huge gaps around doors and windows. On a positive note we did get a good night's sleep since we were so exhausted from the heat, and the bed was adequate. The a/c managed to cool the room at night. Heaps of mosquitoes everywhere, so be prepared (openings & beds do have mosquito nets). Also the room came with coffee/tea facilities and mini-fridge (much appreciated). The bathroom was a bit worn and the shower uncomfortable (small) for average sized people. The whole experience might seem great if you are coming from some really harsh bush-living. For me I just couldn't wait to leave and get home for a decent shower and meal.

The food was average and we left every meal feeling unsatisfied. Several of our group got gastrointestinal problems after eating the "yoghurt" at breakfast the second day. As another reviewer mentioned, a lot of stuff does get "recycled". Being in such a remote place, they may have food supply problems. "Full" breakfast - which is eggs & toast with "bacon" for around $30. An omelet will cost you around 10 bucks. A t-shirt for around $45. Got the picture. I wouldn't mind spending the money for high quality, but all very mediocre quality stuff (some lower than that).

After two days of disappointment, there was at least a little cultural dance & show inside the resort that was nice and entertaining (but I am sure it cost heaps also). The managers are friendly as can be in the circumstances, and the resort staff (mostly girls) are nice, if a little difficult to communicate with (how do you explain "nice place to swim" to someone that has never been in the water). Arriving and departing by plane is an "experience" that was both entertaining and unique (not for the faint of heart).

WARNING: if you are not diving, or an upmarket traveller, do NOT go here. You will be disappointed.

Room Tip: **FOR DIVING ONLY** Do NOT go if you are not diving - I cannot stress this enough. Bring plenty of m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tufi
0.0 mi away
Tawali Resort
Tawali Resort
#1 of 2 in Alotau
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madang Resort Hotel
Madang Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Madang
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shady Rest Hotel
The Shady Rest Hotel
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufi Resort

Property: Tufi Resort
Address: Oro Province, Tufi 246, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Tufi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tufi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique, safe and friendly cultural experience with pristine diving sites and adventure activities! Come explore the amazing Tufi and venture to the wild organic surrounds of the last pacific frontier of the beautiful emerging Papua New Guinea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tufi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufi Dive Hotel Tufi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing