We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
106
4
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal familysurf and yogaplay poolother guestsgood vibesplaying cardsbooks and gamessri lankagreat knowledgegreat musiclittle piece of paradisethese guyslast stopsurrounded by palm treessuper friendlybreakfast and dinnertuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 112 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

Our recent visit to Camp Poe lived up to all expectations! The staff and other guests were very welcoming when we arrived and there was generally a great atmosphere throughout the camp during our stay - comfy sofas, music playing, pool table etc! The food at Cafe Poe is also delicious (especially breakfast after an early morning surfing) and everyone eats together making it easy to meet people and make friends.

We did an afternoon yoga class with Ben the day we arrived which was amazing - he adapted the lesson to all abilities to make everyone feel comfortable (it was my first yoga experience and he was extremely helpful/patient). Ben also took us and some other guests to see Koggala Lake, arranging a lunch with a lovely local family on the way which was a wonderful experience and some of the best food we'd ever had!

Would recommend Camp Poe to anyone looking for something a bit extra - it's so much more than a hotel and the staff go out of their way to make sure everyone is having the best experience possible. Wish we could've stayed longer! Thanks again to Ben and the team x

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Thanks Olly!

Loved having you and Nicola here!

Keep up the yoga and come back and see us again soon!

Love the Poe Family X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017

We booked a full package for a week including yoga, surfing and a tent! It was our first week on Sri Lanka and it was a difficult one to move on after as we straight away fell in love with this place. It´s energy is so positive and relaxed. Ben, Till and the sri lankan family including "Mama" really give you the feeling you are coming to a home away from home. The tents are made for nature lovers. You can hear the monkeys and little squirrels, the birds and the wind. Really important fact: Extremely comfortable beds! And everything is surrounded by plants and palmtrees...just beautiful. Surfspots around the camp are available for every level. Within walking distance you´ll find "Sticks" and a beachbreak, which are both (depending on conditions) suitable for beginner to intermediate to pro. Within a 10 min TukTuk ride you´ll reach a bunch of different lefts, rights or beachbreaks. Ahangama for us was the perfect place to be. It isn´t too touristic but yet you get everywhere within 10-40 min by TukTuk or just 10 min walk into Ahangama village. We didn´t miss anything.
Yoga was very delightful and a perfect match with the surfing. Also the offered massages are great! ou can just totally be yourself at this camp, play music, draw, chill, read a book, sleep, play in the pool, play pool...so many options but you not gonna get bothered-all up to you. We got taught some Singhalese, hangdrum, drawing... Last but not least: food was insanely delicious!!! Breakfast is the best we could find on the island! I could go on like this for a while, but instead I just recommend go there yourself and check it out! We´ll be back for sure! Thank you Camp Poe family!!! Julia & Christin

P.S I celebrated my birthday there which turned into an unforgettable day!!! Thanks for the cake and the lovely dinner!!!

Room Tip: We loved the tent and there was also a small family staying in there which seemed to work perfectly!
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank yo for your visit and the nice words Julia & Christin, it was an absolute pleasure having you with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon for some surfing and yoga! All the best from the Poe family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

The best place I stayed while in Sri Lanka:) Ben and till and all the local staff are legends. Poe had a really good vibe going on with a fun mix of travellers. Food was great and it was central to many surf spots.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank jonathon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank yo for your visit and the nice words Mr. John, it was an absolute pleasure having you with us :) We guess you had a nice time after the Poe time!
Hopefully we will see you again soon for some surfing and yoga! All the best from the Poe family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Stayed for 3 nights to squeeze some surfing in before a wedding in Bentota.
Looked at a few places in Ahangama and Mirissa and opted for Camp Poe based on their reviews, the excellent looking website and their quick replies via email answering all my queries.

Transport from the airport was competitively priced and very convenient when arriving late at night. I took the train to Bentota at the end of my stay and that was really easy if you are travelling during the day.

There's a fantastic mix of guests from all over the world with varying experience of surfing, plenty of beginners. Compared to other surf camps, there's definitely more of a yoga vibe here which is a positive (more girls than guys, which is unusual for a surf camp).

The camp is a great set-up, Till and Ben are on to a winner here with the amazing pool and chill out areas. There are a surprising number of guests but it never seems crowded because of the way they've laid out the accommodation.

I stayed in a private tent which on the face of it might seem expensive for 60 euros, but they're incredibly comfortable - definitely glamping with a light and fan and comfortable bed. Massive unlimited breakfast and dinner included too. I eat ridiculous amounts of food and they always had plenty. So in that respect, great value for money.

Surfing: lessons from Till in the intermediate group had a good ratio of instructor to students. Till always found us good waves and managed to steer us clear of the crowded line-ups.

Yoga: not much of a Yogi but enjoyed Ben's sunset beach session despite not being able to touch my toes.

Overall, can't fault this place at all, met some awesome people and just wish I had been able to stay longer so I could have improved my surfing. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank yo for your visit and the nice words, it was an absolute pleasure having you with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon for some surfing and yoga! All the best from the Poe family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

Camp Poe is the place to lose or find yourself. The venue has amazing vibes with relaxed accommodating staff and a constant flow of like minded guests. The food was excellent and our bungalow served as a comfortable place to rest between adventures. The surf was fun with endless options, unfortunately I ran out of time to try them all! We will definitely return!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank yo for your visit and the nice words, it was an absolute pleasure having you with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon for some surfing and yoga! All the best from the Poe family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews