We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
106
4
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal familysurf and yogaplay poolother guestsgood vibesplaying cardsbooks and gamessri lankagreat knowledgegreat musiclittle piece of paradisethese guyslast stopsurrounded by palm treessuper friendlybreakfast and dinnertuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 112 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Camp Poe is a little piece of paradise amongst the palm trees of Ahangama. I couldn't have asked for a better place to spend my time in Sri Lanka - yoga every morning, surf within walking distance, great food (the Sri Lankan breakfast is A+++) and not to mention the friendliest staff around. Camp hosts, Ben and Till are absolute legends and make you feel right at home. They're also full of local knowledge and are more than happy to tell you where the best surf breaks/rotis/cocktails/rainforests are (they might even join you).
Would go back to Camp Poe in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stefanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Thank you Stef for those kind words and your visit :)
We hope you guys are enjoying heaps of coffee and meat pies back home!
We're looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
All the love from the family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016

If you are looking for a place to leave your mind flying, whether surfing, yoging or just chilling and  reading a book next to the swimming pool... Camp Poe is your place.
It was love at the first sight for me. Camp Poe is very respectful with the environment so you have the feeling to be in the natural world. It is not just a place to stay, it means being in contact with Sri Lanka people. Mamma and her family who live close to Camp Poe are lovely people, always with interesting histories about their lifes and don´t forget about her rice and curry!!! very yummy!!

Ben and Till are excellent host! they are always aware to help you with a smile. Their yoga and surf lessons are awesome and you improve a lot learning from them. They always choose the best spot for you in the surf lessons  with all the material that you need.

The breakfast and dinner are incredible! and during the nights there are lot of funny activities to spend the time, it´s your choice to choose the want that you prefer!! So many things I could tell about Camp Poe, but I recommend  you to come and check by yourself!! You don´t regret it!! it doesn´t matter if  you come alone, with friends or with family... you will never feel alone, a big family will wait for you!!!

Looking forward to come back one day!!!!!

Ana Barcelona

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Ani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Muchas gracias Ana! It was so amazing having you here with us and sharing many laughs. So nice to see how much you improved your surfing and pool skills ;)
we wish you all the best in barcelona and can't wait to have some tapas with you when we'll come for a visit.
Lots of love from the family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016

The perfect get away from city life, cannot recommend it enough! Great people and a great atmosphere - both if you want to socialise or have some down time. I'll definitely be back for another visit! :)

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Thank you Gill! Hope you are not working too hard and are well ;)
Hopefully we can welcome you again soon for more breakdance lessons. We're still the ones with the best moves on the dance floor;)
All the best from the family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Such a lovely little chillout spot surrounded by beautiful palm trees.
The location couldn't be any better. It's within walking distance from the nearest surf break, and the area is not crowded by other tourists. The staff is frendly and helpful, and provides good vibes and big smiles. Other than that the camp is clean and the food is fresh and tasty. Will definitely come back to this place next time I'm visiting Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Thank you so much for your visit and your review Caroline :)
It's been a while but it was more than a pleasure having you with us earlier this year. We hope to see you again!
All the best for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

I've been traveling for over 15 years, mostly for surfing, nature and culture. Out of the dozens of surf/ yoga retreats I've stayed (at all price ranges), Camp Poe has managed to prioritize the best of the best. Ben and Til have created an energy you can't help but notice from the moment you arrive. You're family by the end of your first day.
The staff and local families that help run Camp Poe make your experience more similar to a homestay. They'll take you in as one of their own. But where most homestays come up short on some of the more western luxuries, Camp Poe has nearly perfected that balance. The accommodations, food, equipment, hospitality and overall mindfulness competes with some of the best retreats in the world.
You won't leave. 10+ breaks within 15 minutes. One right out front. Sanju and Mamma's cooking. Yoga in the morning. Maybe a little art therapy. The diversity of wildlife that passes through the property. The pool. But mostly the people.
Can't say enough good things. I will be back soon.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank jbbrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poefamily, Owner at Camp Poe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Thanks so much for this amazing review brother! It was absolute terrific surfing, chilling and partying with you. We're already missing the painting sessions with you, thank you for the beautiful peace of art you left us on the wall.
All the best for you and come again for some more pool games :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews