We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to avoid”
Review of Insight Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Insight Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ahangama
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights and was thoroughly disappointed. The hotel was totally devoid of any atmosphere whatsoever and is isolated on the main Galle road with nothing but other large hotels nearby. It appears to cater for tour groups or package deals. As the place was so grim I went into Unawatuna (a very long journey in a tuk tuk) for dinner. When I returned (approximately 11.30) the front gate was closed and padlocked. After knocking loudly for about ten minutes nobody came to the gate. In the end I had to climb over the nine foot wall of the hotel. Once on the other side there were no staff or security at reception to give me my key so I had to find my own room key (just left on the counter as it turns out).
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you like having to climb a perimeter wall before bed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevelvetcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Very sorry to hear this story about the gate been locked and having to jump over the wall. As we have two security guards at night. Complied is on investigation we will further report after the inquiry.

Appreciates if we can know whether you complain this to the hotel next day morning and to whom. Would also like to know the date?

Normal practice of the hotel is to leave the room keys of late arriving guest, at the reception counter and to the security to hand it over to late arrival guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 214 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on a beautiful beach. Sadly we were served possibly the worst seafood meal I have ever tasted. Each of the three fish dishes was over cooked and then cooked some more. Rubbery, calamari, dried seer fish and prawns with the texture of cardboard. We returned the lot.

I was here on an organised tour. I'd never choose to come back as the food for both dinner and breakfast was just awful. The rooms are just OK.



Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank NicWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Managing Director at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We could see the disappointment of Mr. Nicolas Williams, due to the sea food platter provided not being to his taste... Unfortunately the Resident Manager has failed in his duty to organize a BBQ for the group of 12 pax where Mr Williams was in, as the hotel policy when organizing a private BBQ is that there must be a minimum of 15 pax. Nevertheless the decision of the Resident Manager is regretted as we believe that rules and policies are there to guide the management, and in this instance he could easily have stretched a point considering that there were 12 pax in the group. I am sure this would have resulted in a disappointment for the group, particularly since the tour leader had already raised their hopes indicating that a BBQ was being organized.

However, the Resident Manager had compromised by offering seafood platters for all but sorry Mr Williams was unhappy with the texture.

We have looked in to the matter and advised RM about using his discretion particularly when the group was looking forward to a BBQ.

Appreciate Mr Williams’s comment which gave us an opportunity to correct the Resident Manager.

Mr Williams says rooms are just ok. But most who stay at Insight comment that though we charge a 3 star price, the quality of rooms are upper end 3 star.

Thanks Mr Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka. The intention was to allow us to relax after a fairly hectic tour, and the hotel and setting allowed us to do just that. There were games of cricket, pool volleyball, beach walks, and a relaxing atmosphere. We took a boat trip on a nearby lagoon which was lovely. The food was fine, we had the evening buffet. I went down to reception to request an adaptor and it had been delivered to the room before I got back. The location is handy for the stilt fisherman, although they weren't fishing when we were there, just posing for photographs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

"Dear Readers

We responded with quick action to a complaint from a guest who had got his foot injured in the pool at our resort. We promised to do a complete overhaul in the month of October to ensure that there are no further mishaps or accidents. The attached pictures will tell you how true we are to our promises – the pool has now been fully repaired and is in good condition.”

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhanushka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent for those who love to walk around the beach at any odd hour of the day or night. One can enjoy the waves from the windows of the room or may look at the blue water while having breakfast. We stayed for one night only but might have stayed for another night if not in a time constrain. Food in the dinner was good and I must appreciate some innovative and experimental ideas with Sri Lankan cuisine. The singing group sang a special 'love song' for us. In the breakfast choice was rather limited but we liked it. The raw passion in breakfast fruit juice was very tasty. The room and bathrooms are big enough for easy movement. The staffs of the hotel are friendly but service is slow. Possibly they maintain the pace of the calm and quite environment of the whole area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the extended building are with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your great comments and endorsing the Insight Resort. Further at a time when just one in isolation has condemned our food quality as bad, you are praising it. Appreciate your comments about the limited breakfast choice – we shall look into that to further improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

i stayed with my wife on FB basis in October 2013. the place is obviously under-utilized for it's advantages. meals were a disappointment. set menu dinner to start with absolutely no choice except for the question of fish or chicken. lucky to have a buffet for b'fast but then lunch was a disaster with just rice and curry without no choice again except for fish/chicken matter. no choice over dessert. it was no better than a meal served at a budget eatery except for the dish of fried fish. being a critique at food, one had to admit that the hotel was almost empty. point is that the few guests who stayed over deserved at least a few more choices on the set menu.

TIP - stay B&B or H/B and eat at the indian restaurant near the southern expressway exit (15KM from the hotel though). another option is Catalina grill right infront of Koggala airport with eating facility inside an used aircraft.

great location, great beach front, friendly, attentive and very pleasant staff. above average rooms in the new wing passable for 3.5 star only if it had a TV and coffee making accessories.

Room Tip: ask for a sea front room on the new wing ex. 406, 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieceOfPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

First of all we are not in the habit of responding to comments under fictitious names as we are unable to trace his or her registration if this client has stayed in the hotel to begin with. As in today’s context many things can happen for business rivalry. Although we don’t practice such malicious things there are many others who do it.

However, I am reluctant to accept this comment as so serious since at the same time ‘Farid 94’ has commented that the food is good. Yet, if this client has definitely stayed at the Insight Resort, regret and sorry if you did not like our food.

The hotel is running at an average of 30-35% occupancy during the summer, which in my view is a good occupancy. We are already booked up for the winter 2013 at an average of 72%. For sure in the summer there are some days where only a few rooms are occupied, but as per this comment the hotel has operated a buffet breakfast. Being a 33 room hotel we do not operate a buffet unless there are more than 10 rooms occupied. On this basis as the guest says the hotel was empty I am a bit confused.

When a set menu dinner is offered, we do not offer a wide spread. Yes on a set menu we offer a choice of fish, chicken or vegetable on some days and on other days its fish, red meat or vegetable, as anyone would know this is how a set menu is operated but the quality is assured. Perhaps the client was disappointed that there was no buffet. We do not offer a choice of desserts for a set menu, yet if the clients do not like what is available and express so, we would easily offer the clients a choice of fruits. It is quite unfair to compare our kitchen to a budget eatery – this merely is an exaggeration. If you look at our past records the only flaw we have had in the past is the slow meal service which we accept and are in the process of correcting. I am sorry if the client has expected a choice of food more than a 3* property. Appreciate rating the hotel as a 3.5*, but we commit ourselves as a 3*. I am happy to note from the client concerned the good words about the staff and service level which in my view endorses that we are reaching towards an improvement in our service levels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have recently stayed 1 night at Insight. The beach in front of the hotel is clean. There were a few fishing sticks set up but we never saw anyone fishing.

The room was spacious with a nice view of the ocean. Bathroom was spacious. Rain shower was good. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was okay. You can ask for cooked breakfast. Service was slow even though the place was quite empty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
0.9 mi away
New Hotel Kabalana
New Hotel Kabalana
#6 of 6 in Ahangama
49 reviews
2.6 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
South Lake Resort
South Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Ahangama
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
436 reviews
8.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.6 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 6 in Ahangama
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ahangama
Price Range: $15 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Insight Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing