We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple beachfront hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Insight Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Insight Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ahangama
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Simple beachfront hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have recently stayed 1 night at Insight. The beach in front of the hotel is clean. There were a few fishing sticks set up but we never saw anyone fishing.

The room was spacious with a nice view of the ocean. Bathroom was spacious. Rain shower was good. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was okay. You can ask for cooked breakfast. Service was slow even though the place was quite empty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    24
    18
    15
See reviews for
42
50
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Real shame as a great setting, nice rooms. However the service was poor. Food took 40 mins to arrive, and tour parties given precedence. Meal times are already v late for families, so don't expect to eat at a decent time. The pool is also a shame as a lovely pool yet appears hazardous - lots of injuries and cuts from the pool tiling. All complaints are met with little action. A real shame- could be a gem on the coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Appreciate your comments and thanks for endorsing it as a great setting. We accept the delays we have had in the restaurant service in the month of August 2013 due to an unexpected shortage of staff in the restaurant.

Sorry, but tour groups are not given preferences over others. It is just that the tour leaders talk to the group and take the orders well in advance so that as they come to the table the meals are ready to be served.

Our meal times are :
Breakfast 7:30 am – 10:00 am
Lunch 12:30 pm – 2:30 pm
Dinner 7:30 pm – 9:30 pm

We have now upgraded with more staff for the restaurant services and the Asst Resident Manager regularly supervises the staff with refresher training to increase the service levels and the food quality. In order to support, the kitchen has also been re organized to manage the fast movement of food. Thanks for commenting that it’s a lovely pool. After your comments a quick inspection was done and already the tiled ledges have been repaired. However we also found a few tiles broken inside the pool and thanks for bringing it to our notice. Arrangements have now been made to shut the pool for one week in the month of October to empty the pool, attend to the re-grouting and replacement of the damaged tiles. When the work is going on we will have some pictures uploaded onto our site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ahangama hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

A quality Beach resort located in a quiet & calm location on the golden sandy beach in Ahangama , The natural corral reef breaks the strong waive & makes the ocean in to a safe place for a sea bath. The sound & the freshness of the sea breeze coupled with the lushes green surrounding relaxes your mind & body which makes your stay an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanushka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We Thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I returned to this hotel by chance two years after having visited under different management. If you are after something simple, clean, right on the beach this is a great spot. Value isn't too bad even with the 50% rate hike after the change. I found most of the staff very friendly, tho the check in was a bit lacking. The rooms are clean and at least some if not all offer AC. The beach is excellent, but you may be approached by locals looking to sell you something. Everything considered, I'd stay here again, but I'd book early and ask for a third floor room facing the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We thank you for all your good comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.

Whilst thanking you for your endorsement Sir, and responding to your comments there are only two locals who are allowed to sell clothes on the beach in front of the resort . Not many but just only two as we think it is an opportunity to help the locals. They are strictly warned not to worry and push for sales and I suppose they adhere to our request or else they will not be entertained to be there. Some of the plus points of these two vendors being there is that, when you go out to the beach they take care of your slippers and all not so expensive items, look after the towels where you keep them and for some of the guests who are going into the sea there for the first time caution them about the movement of the tide and explain about the reef in front and also they will display the beach wear they have for sale. No pushing of sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We ended up staying here 1 night impromptu due to our booking at Tangalle was reduced from 2 nights to 1. This place is right by the beach, nice ambiance and friendly staff.

Wifi was a bit spotty and drinks pricey. However the food was good (no buffet) and it was fairly quiet. Not much out there in town, nice if you want to R&R for a while.

Clean rooms with a view too.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean or coconut plantation on the side should be OK, choose upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Sir for advising us about the wi fi being spotty. We have looked into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's hard to find places to stay in Galle area for a group of travelers, who need twin beds, so this hotel was rather a forced choice. Unfortunately, the choice, while not terrible, was not a good one either. The place is quite rundown, the staff is mostly very positive and trying to help, but is far from being efficient, the beach is wide, and with a slight of the famous stilt fishermen, but the sea here is quite dull, shallow and with remains of corals, making swimming here not the best experience. There is a swimming pool too, quite a good one seemingly. Food in the restaurant is no good, and basically, it hardly matters, what exactly would you choose from the menu, what they bring is the same, no matter what you ordered. Overall very very average place, on the verge of "poor"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pataphysicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We will have to accept the comments of it being run down to a large extent as the guest had stayed in March 2012. From May 2012 the hotel was closed for 4 months and the new thinking of the management was to pump in US$ 230,000 to improve just 33 rooms and the public areas. This large scale improvement was completed in 4 months. Thereafter the Insight Resort has turned out to be a totally different product from what it was. Even the staff are totally different now with much more energy

Sorry you stayed before the refurbishment and I am sure if you come again you will think differently.
If you are coming again do write to the Managing Director as we are sure he will want to throw in something special for you to say sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is well situated . The whale watching in mirrissa , turtle hatchery and birds island "madol duwa" a short distance away. The beach in front of the hotel is beautifull and excellent for a breathtaking sunrise and sunset. This is a good place to watch the famous stilt fisherman.

Service is average but the buffet dinner and breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and spacious and most have a good view. Value for money and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
2.8 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 5 in Ahangama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Property: Insight Resort
Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing