We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Insight Resort
Nearby Hotels
South Lake Resort(Ahangama)(Great Value!)
$73
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garton's Cape(Ahangama)
$80
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kabalana(Ahangama)
$79
$68
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Oceanic(Ahangama)(Great Value!)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    Dew Surf Camp(Weligama)
    $18
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    $41
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    $160
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $171
    $165
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (260)
    Filter reviews
    260 results
    Traveler rating
    92
    93
    32
    21
    22
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    92
    93
    32
    21
    22
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsselling their warespersonal beachevening buffetkids poolcharming hotelsouthern expresswayenjoyed our staybeach viewgalle roadnew wingnice beachrelaxing stayfront office managerbed roomsmiling staffsecurity guardstayed for two nights
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    134 - 139 of 260 reviews
    Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

    I returned to this hotel by chance two years after having visited under different management. If you are after something simple, clean, right on the beach this is a great spot. Value isn't too bad even with the 50% rate hike after the change. I found most of the staff very friendly, tho the check in was a bit lacking. The rooms are clean and at least some if not all offer AC. The beach is excellent, but you may be approached by locals looking to sell you something. Everything considered, I'd stay here again, but I'd book early and ask for a third floor room facing the ocean.

    • Stayed: April 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank James H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

    We thank you for all your good comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.

    Whilst thanking you for your endorsement Sir, and responding to your comments there are only two locals who are allowed to sell clothes on the beach in front of the resort . Not many but just only two as we think it is an opportunity to help the locals. They are strictly warned not to worry and push for sales and I suppose they adhere to our request or else they will not be entertained to be there. Some of the plus points of these two vendors being there is that, when you go out to the beach they take care of your slippers and all not so expensive items, look after the towels where you keep them and for some of the guests who are going into the sea there for the first time caution them about the movement of the tide and explain about the reef in front and also they will display the beach wear they have for sale. No pushing of sales.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 11, 2013

    We ended up staying here 1 night impromptu due to our booking at Tangalle was reduced from 2 nights to 1. This place is right by the beach, nice ambiance and friendly staff.

    Wifi was a bit spotty and drinks pricey. However the food was good (no buffet) and it was fairly quiet. Not much out there in town, nice if you want to R&R for a while.

    Clean rooms with a view too.

    Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean or coconut plantation on the side should be OK, choose upper floors.
    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank albertsebastian
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

    Thank you Sir for advising us about the wi fi being spotty. We have looked into it.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 6, 2013

    It's hard to find places to stay in Galle area for a group of travelers, who need twin beds, so this hotel was rather a forced choice. Unfortunately, the choice, while not terrible, was not a good one either. The place is quite rundown, the staff is mostly very positive and trying to help, but is far from being efficient, the beach is wide, and with a slight of the famous stilt fishermen, but the sea here is quite dull, shallow and with remains of corals, making swimming here not the best experience. There is a swimming pool too, quite a good one seemingly. Food in the restaurant is no good, and basically, it hardly matters, what exactly would you choose from the menu, what they bring is the same, no matter what you ordered. Overall very very average place, on the verge of "poor"

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank pataphysicus
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

    We will have to accept the comments of it being run down to a large extent as the guest had stayed in March 2012. From May 2012 the hotel was closed for 4 months and the new thinking of the management was to pump in US$ 230,000 to improve just 33 rooms and the public areas. This large scale improvement was completed in 4 months. Thereafter the Insight Resort has turned out to be a totally different product from what it was. Even the staff are totally different now with much more energy

    Sorry you stayed before the refurbishment and I am sure if you come again you will think differently.
    If you are coming again do write to the Managing Director as we are sure he will want to throw in something special for you to say sorry.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 3, 2013

    The hotel is well situated . The whale watching in mirrissa , turtle hatchery and birds island "madol duwa" a short distance away. The beach in front of the hotel is beautifull and excellent for a breathtaking sunrise and sunset. This is a good place to watch the famous stilt fisherman.

    Service is average but the buffet dinner and breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and spacious and most have a good view. Value for money and will definitely visit again.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Nigel R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

    We thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 10, 2013

    The hotel was clean and nice with helpful staffs. My children has a wonderful time at the swimming pool and fantastic beach. The beach was clean and nice. The rooms were very big and clean. Only one problem no TV in the room, anyway we came to enjoy the nature of untouched Sri Lanka. The view from my room was the beach side. The food was good, really enjoyed the food. Will come again to this hotel, when come back to Galle.

    Room Tip: Ask for beach view room.
    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Selina23
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews