We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best holliday an services ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Insight Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Insight Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ahangama
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best holliday an services ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

i had an ammazing an great time in my holliday i would defo do it again.
i was advised by AMILA ALVIS hes a wonderfull n great person to deal with thanx for the help.
an i will defo do it again with my wife n kid.
the beach was sexy the food yumyum, i never tried srilankan food before n i accualy loved it an i will be training how to cook some :)

Room Tip: an more thing to be added in here guys the pictures of the rooms on the website is old so u will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohamad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    24
    19
    18
See reviews for
44
54
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I am director of an international school travel company and we stayed at the insight - 28 students and 4 staff. It was very good for our needs and the food was above average, good variety and plenty of it. The location was excellent right on the beach and the manager and staff were always on hand to be very accommodating. Rooms were good, clean and safe. The students enjoyed their stay and apart from a few mod cons missing such as phones in rooms and decent TV it was good to get them away from these luxurious additions. A good few days stay and will definitely use again!!

Room Tip: Currently renovatin the block near the restaurant. The other main block all have rooms with sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amila A, General Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Insight Resort Ahangama. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our food, service and the location of our hotel. We appreciate your kind sentiments shared on TripAdvisor and look forward to indulge you once again, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

My family (wife and 3 young kids) and I had been booked here for 3 nights on our Exodus tour towards the end of a 2 week trip for some r&r after a fairly hectic itinerary - an itinerary that included some fairly basic hotels. Right on the beach, this was the only redeeming aspect of our experience at Insight. Otherwise:
• The rooms superficially clean but you couldn’t walk barefooted which made getting and out of bed or the shower interesting
• As there was obviously was no care or attention to detail, the hotel seemed to have more than its fair share of bugs
• Drink and food was expensive (and the only place on our tour to charge a service charge and VAT on top of the published prices)
• The drinks were weak and the food awful with the bread in our meal mouldy
• The hotel was devoid of any atmosphere with 3 other people there while we were there, the rooms were
• They actually put chlorine into the pool when we arrived (in the late afternoon) and we mentioned the kids would like a dip which would be totally ineffective
• No manager/owner to try and address the issues
It was so terrible that I looked for alternatives during our meal and were out the next morning. We checked into the Flower Garden in Unawatuna – near the beach and with numerous restaurants within the vicinity – I imagine the Insight is all about leaving the traveller ‘stranded’ so you ate there.
Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harryk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ahangama hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

The first room I was given stunk of petrol fumes (the a/c was on full blast to try and disguise this). The second room was damp and the a/c wasnt working. Some of my fellow travellers were also given smelly and/or damp rooms. One room completely flooded in the early evening. Another had a dead scorpion in the toilet bowl. One had waste water back up into the shower when the sink tap was turned on. The curtains and mosquito nets seemed pretty grubby in a number of rooms. One block of rooms only had cold water.
The location is good, right on the beach and within view of the stilt fishermen.
The menu for evening meals looked pretty good, but I didnt try the food out because I didnt stay there in the end.
So, it depends what you want really - we moved to a different hotel just up the road, which was more expensive but well worth it in my opinion - but if all you want is somewhere to lay your head and you aren't bothered about cold showers then you may find this place ok.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We were a group of 32 adults + 6 children, staying at Ahangama beach in the Hotel Insight. Excellent location and good beach, swimming pool. Food was OK, service rather requires improvement-probably no room service, no intercom or bell. AC not working in 2-3 rooms. but the authority tried to help as much as possible.

Helpful front desk and helpful chef.

Takes 15-20 minutes to Mirissa from where we went for Whale watching.

Looking at value for money, recommended to stay here, keeping in limitations in mind.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rukja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for four nights during a 10 day break in Sri lanka, which we arranged ourselves. The location is excellent, right on the beach.There were only a few other guests staying, which made for a quiet holiday, which was just what we wanted. There are two separate blocks of accommodation, we were initially accommodated in a room in the older block, the hot water failed, so we got moved after one night to the newer block, where the rooms were still being refurbished.The floor in our room had not yet been tiled, but this was not a problem. There is a pool, and sunloungers, these latter were dated and the covers were scruffy and unuseable. On the plus side, the breakfast was truly excellent, we also took our evening meals in the hotel ( order in advance ) and these were generally good. Dont expect too much for the price-- we paid £27 per night B&B for a double room, which was excellent value for money. Be aware, the village is small, with little to do, though there are a few places within reasonable travelling time by tuk-tuk, eg Galle, Koggalla etc. Unless you are a dedicated beach fan, you might be bored here after a few days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billymac1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2007

Hotel is on the beach, food and accommodation is fairly basic, the nightly buffet food is not kept hot, so recommend eating from the a la carte menu, which isn't too bad.

Hotel rooms could do with some investment as locks on doors, condition of bathroom fittings need replacing

Due to some problem, which wasn't communicated, no hot water at all for 3 days of the stay.

  • Disliked — Basic rooms with no hot water
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searsrp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
2.8 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 6 in Ahangama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
7.8 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Property: Insight Resort
Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing