We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort By The Beach”
Review of South Point Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Point Villa
Ranked #4 of 46 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed at South Point Villa during the second week on Nov 2009. Had a wonderful experience. The staff were incredible. It was a wonderful place to relax and unwind. We had complete privacy. This is definetly a hidden treasure. Would love to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanil_fernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 156 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2010

We had a fantastic holiday at South Point over Xmas / New Year - we were looking for sunshine, sea and sand in a beautiful location and we got it!
there are two villas - each individually charming and we actually stayed in both. Although they are next door they are very private from each other. They are fully staffed and we were very well attended to during our stay.
The setting is delightful and literally right on the beach. there is a wonderful stretch of beach approx 800m long with fine white sand and a gentle surf which was great fun and felt very safe.
There is a chef at the villa for meals and we also ate out in Galle and at some of surrounding beaches such as Mirrisa and Unawatuna which have great casual restaurants right on the beach.
Sonali who owns the villas was extremely helpful, reliable and easy to deal with on line.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nik004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This is our return visit to South Point after 2 years. This time we stayed at the Villa, which is the property adjoining the Abbey. The villa is spacious and upmarket with great bathroooms ,bedrooms and furnishings. We spent most of our time on the verandah which faces the sea. Its the perfect place to take breakfast , sip an afternoon drink and eat dinner by candlelight. As we found previously, the staff wil lmeet youir every need, even anticipating your needs. Prema is the gorgeous housekeeper who unbeknown to you will have your wet beach towels and costumes drying before you know it. Janaka is the chef. He is not only a great cook, but a very gentle man with a great smile. Who would stay in a hotel when you can get the best service in a grand location !

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I stayed at South Point Villa for 2 days with my family and extended family. By far, it is one of the best holiday villas I have stayed in. The service, food and overall atmosphere was amazing!

The view is what really caught me off guard. I wasn't expecting to see such a beautiful sight, right in the backyard, but I did. At night, you can see the lights from the ships at sea, and hundreds of stars overhead! At sunrise...words can't even explain the beauty!!

I would, without doubt, recommend South Point Villa to anyone wanting to get away from the rush of everyday life, or to those just wanting a vacation : )

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellyCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We'd only been at the Abbey a day before we were plotting our return. A hotel holiday wouldn't compare after having experienced a beach house, with tropical landscaped gardens and infinity pool at our disposal, and with the sea mere metres away. We thought we'd find having several staff, including two chefs, intrusive but Dinesh, Janaka and the gang helped make our holiday something special. Everyday the chefs served up fantastic meals with local seafood sourced from the Indian Ocean outside our door. For us, the traditional architecture of the 3-bedroom Abbey lent an exotic air. Bedrooms were quite big, each with its own sizeable ensuite and they all seemed relatively new. The combination off all these factors plus the location (about 30 minutes drive to Galle) and sea views give the Abbey two big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4,066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We had a family trip (children aged 11, 8 and 7) to Sri Lanka and spent our final days at South Point Villa. On our arrival there, we immediately felt at home. The staff were fabulous anticipating our every whim , the chef provided us with the best food that we had eaten in the whole of Sri Lanka and and everything was done effortlessly (or so it seemed to us!). The rooms were spotless and bathrooms enormous with a good supply of hot water (not something we found elsewhere on our trip). The living area is also great, although most of our time was spent on the terrace, in the pool or on the beach. My kids loved playing with Lisa (the dog which does not have to be part of the house if you are not dog-friendly) and the rabbits which roamed freely in the garden, whilst my husband and I relaxed without a care in the world.
There is nothing to do in the area immediately round the villa - apart from stroll on the beach and watch the fishermen at work - but Galle is a 20 min drive away. That said, once we were at the villa, we were more than happy to stay put (and would have stayed longer had it not been for our flights home!)
South Point provides pure luxury in a wonderful environment. It is the perfect place to unwind, forget about the outside world and be rejuvenated.
We will be going back to South Point for another trip soon and Iwould recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I would recommend this to anyone as it would suit all age groups.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
1.4 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Lake Resort
South Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Ahangama
68 reviews
7.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mosvold Villa
Mosvold Villa
#1 of 46 in Ahangama
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timeless Villa
Timeless Villa
#8 of 46 in Ahangama
21 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Whale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Villa

Address: Koggala, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range: $200 - $1,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Villa is a luxury villa on a soft golden sandy beach with spectacular views of the ocean. The beach is 15 metres from the deck. Ideal for romantic getaways and family holidays. 3 air conditioned bedrooms sleep 6 adults + 2 children sharing rooms with parents. Extra beds, cots and high chairs beach toys can be provided. Each room has satellite TV and a safe. 2 bedrooms have a spectacular view of the ocean and the 3rd bedroom overlooks a beautiful fish pond. The en suite bathrooms are large with his and her wash basins, rainfall showers, toiletries and fresh linen. The powder room is conveniently tucked away. Private pool for exclusive use. Beach beds and towels provided. Dine or sit on the verandah with breathtaking views of the ocean. All sitting areas have ceiling fans. Meals, fresh seafood in particular, can be enjoyed in the garden, beach or villa. Vegetarian and Halal meals served on request. Fully staffed including a chef and manager. The staff is friendly, courteous and discreet. Privacy assured. Services available around the clock. We provide a maid service for the Middle Eastern ladies on request. The sea is excellent for swimming and snorkelling within the reef. Surfing spots close by. Unawatuna and Mirissa breach cafes, bars 15 minutes away. At the villa 100% exclusivity guaranteed, and is cozy hideout surrounded by a beautifully laid garden. SAFETY MEASURE - we can fix a wooden fence within a few minutes to prevent toddlers from getting on to the deck. Transport we can arrange. We will keep a vehicle and driver/guide 24/7 to hire. WEDDINGS - We can arrange your wedding at our properties - just let us know what you want and we will organize the event. GROUPS - we have 3 beach villas next to each other. Ideal for families and friends who want to be together yet have the privacy of their own villa. Meals can be arranged at the villa of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your South Point Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Villa Hotel Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing