We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
178
10
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool sri lanka house staff three properties spent wonderful days staff were extremely attentive beautiful sand trusted driver kids aged will return again and again prior to arrival tourist crowds will remember forever cook makes chef's food incredible setting food prepared
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 191 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Five years on and our love affair with Southpoint Abbey is as strong as ever! Yes, we've tried other places and, yes, the ever-increasing range of beautifully designed properties is jaw-dropping. But that's not what the Abbey is about. For us it's dependable and solid: from the thick coral and limestone walls, to its amazing beach location to the beautiful people who work at the Abbey and those who live in the local villages. It can be hard picking a place when you're not sure what you're signing up for, so here is a list that works for us and might help you:
- a comfortable old home built in the local architecture (was once a small convent)
- wide upstairs and downstairs decks with views of the ocean and the headland
- landscaped gardens, an immaculate infinity pool and the ocean/beach at the bottom of the garden
- a great stretch of clean sand for long walks
- yummy, yummy food
- easy access to Galle Fort (35 minutes away), tea factory, turtle project, local temples etc
- staff who really care and take pride in what they do and know when you feel like a chat and when you want alone time.
Guess what we like best is that we never feel like we're just visitors but that we're part of the community and that we belong.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4,066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We recently stayed at South Point Abbey which is situated on the beach next door to South Point Villa. The two level house is situated in a lovely tropical garden setting overlooking the sea with lovely verandahs upstairs and downstairs and an infinity pool. All our meals (which are optional from a menu and at an extra cost) were served to us on the downstairs verandah. The chef is fantastic and we found the food to be well worth the money spent. We have even come home with some delicious recipes which he kindly shared.

The property is approximately 15 - 18 kms from Galle itself so guests can either use the local "tuc tuc" transportation or the South Point driver and vehicle. We did find this transport to be somewhat expensive but still used it on a few occasions as we felt it to be a safer option. However the "tuc tuc" rides we did take were tremendous fun.

The house is fully staffed and we cannot speak more highly of them. Besides the glorious views and very comfortable accommodation, the excellent staff certainly helped to make our holiday so memorable. Their constant smiles and outstanding service were above and beyond what we had expected.

South Point Abbey does have a busy road running behind it but with the sound of the sea at night, we were not particularly disturbed by the noise.

All in all, we had a fantastic, relaxing stay and hope to visit again in the future. We would definitely recommend South Point Abbey.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mishnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed with children and grandchildren at South Point Villa (Abbey) for eleven nights during Christmas. The place is suitable for a family with small children, and with plenty of space, so that you can have privacy if needed. The staff was very friendly and professional at the same time, and they met every need we had during our stay. Also the food - especially the Sri Lankan dishes - was superb and there was plenty of it. Lots of things to do in the 'neighbourhood' and the staff are very helpful if you need any help with arrangements. Fantastic to be able to have a swim in the ocean before breakfast is served on the terrasse. Beware that although the beach is wonderful, the sea is rather rough and not suitable for smaller children, but then there is the swimmingpool. Also it might be worth noticing that there is some noise from the traffic on the main road behind the house, but we soon got used to it.
All in all a stay at South Point Abbey can be highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed for XMas 2013 8 days at this beautiful Villa. We have traveled in many places around the world including the obvious Four Seasons, Six Senses and other luxury places but this Villa has topped them all in terms of privacy, beach, rooms, food but especially the staff that have been amazing!
We will return and already looking forward to it.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed in South Point Villa a view times. This year we stayed in the Cottage, at the other side of the road. It was wonderfull, very complete and luxious. Every wish you have about your stay and your holiday will come true. The crew will do everything to make you feel special!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews