We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOuth Point Villa and South Point Cottage”
Review of South Point Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahangama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Point Villa
Ranked #3 of 42 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SOuth Point Villa and South Point Cottage”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed in South Point Villa a view times. This year we stayed in the Cottage, at the other side of the road. It was wonderfull, very complete and luxious. Every wish you have about your stay and your holiday will come true. The crew will do everything to make you feel special!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
97
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed a week at South Point Abbey in August, as a group of 6 adults and 4 children. The house is lovely, with a beautiful and quiet beach and a nice pool. The kids loved the dogs and rabbits. We all slept well with the constant noise of the sea in the background. There are a few interesting sights nearby, and Galle isn't too far away. We took a nice trip up to Kahanda Kanda for lunch. Otherwise, the whole setup was conducive to doing very little!

Sonali was extremely helpful through the booking process. Gamini is a very pleasant and efficient manager, and Shantha cooked us all the Sri Lankan delicacies we could imagine! His home-made lamprais was fantastic, and the barbecue on the last night was a really nice treat. All the house staff were helpful and considerate. They were very professional and gave us space at first, but we enjoyed getting to know them better as they relaxed a little towards the end of our stay. As the person organising the bill, I appreciated going through the food costs with Gamini each day to avoid any surprises at the end - I would suggest a similar approach is taken with the villas transport costs as well.

This a beautiful part of Sri Lanka, and a great place for a relaxing holiday, and South Point Abbey must be one of the best beachside properties around here - and certainly the best value for this size group.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DushAndMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had chosen, unusually for us, to spend 9 days just lazing around and taking in the sun.

This was the perfect place - the staff were attentive but invisible, the chef was superb and the house and grounds kept beautifully. South Point Villa is well organised with ample sized bedrooms and lovely eating areas. The BBQ on our last night was beautifully staged and catered.

We were also taken on some local trips to tea plantations, lakes and Galle which were well organised and a driver was always available.

The dogs and rabbits were a welcome distraction for our kids, making it feel like much more than just a house rental.

My only slight warning is that this is not an isolated property. It has a busy road right behind it and the beach is limited and not somewhere we spent much time. The sea has a strong current, but the swimming pool counteracted this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neon1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southpoint, Owner at South Point Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time to write a review. We are happy everyone enjoyed their stay.

Due to the rains and strong winds experienced this Nov the sea would have been rough, then it is not advisable to swim. Sometimes when there is a disturbance in the atmosphere the beach is narrowed.

The new highway which was completed up to Galle has now been extended to Matara ( deep south) and will be open by Jan 2014, this would considerably reduce traffic on the scenic coast road on which south point villa is located.

South Point Villa is situated in the centre of the property closer to the beach, Our beach villas are secluded but not isolated. Only South Point Cottage which is a lake front property is Isolated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from one night at South Point Abbey. Our children loved the rabbits and the dogs, and spent the entire time playing happily in the spotlessly clean and superbly designed infinity pool, or running around on the private beach. The staff were absolutely amazing - we have not experienced this level of service in Sri Lanka recently - they were on top of every request - plus meals were ready on time, presented beautifully, and all done with a smile. The property is beautifully maintained - excellent hot showers and absolutely everything, including the wi-fi worked very well. The non-Sinhala speakers in the group were able to communicate well with the staff - the chef and his team were excellent and able to prepare a huge range of different foods in the 24 hours we were there and all the food was excellent value for money. We never once felt the need to seek a meal elsewhere! Congratulations to the entire team for a job very well done. We shall definitely come again!

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchkinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is our second visit to South Point we had previously stayed at the Cottage, two years ago. (The new motorway makes a big difference in travelling time!) We arrived at South Point and it was like coming home. The staff recognised us and we immediately relaxed due to the laid back atmosphere. The Chalet is a newly refurbished bungalow right next to the school that South Point manage.

We were lucky to have the same team we had last time - Garmin the general manager, Mahesh the housekeeper, and Shantha the chef.

Every day we had Garmin visit to ask our requirements for our day, including meals - breakfast and evening meal. We love Sri Lankan food so were happy to leave all food to Shantha. He is a brilliant cook and we left the evening menu to him as he never disappointed. The care and skill he used on every dish shone through. We also had a cooking lesson which was so much fun!

As this was our 4th trip to Sri Lanka, we did less tours, and did things on our own. Garmin was always present for advice - really helpful with average tuk tuk prices.(another tip - if you have the average price make sure you have the change as well)

Mahesh made sure that we had everything we needed, and we enjoyed our "guess what juice this is" game every breakfast.

During the holiday we celebrated a 50th birthday and we both enjoyed the surprises that were made. I don't want to write here to spoil the surprise for anyone else!

We asked for an elephant to come to the villa for the birthday,and although expensive, it was worth it, and I was happy that every care was taken to ensure the welfare of the elephant at all times which was my main concern. We were able to feed water and shower the elephant as well as ride her.

It was the kind of trip where you feel time goes slow.

We also appreciated the complimentary foot massage on our first day - most welcome and thoughtful. I also had massages at the villa throughout the holiday which helped the relaxation.

Thank you again to all the staff, because they make the holiday what it is. I cannot fault our two week break at all. The last night was memorable thanks to the fab team.

If anyone has any questions please email me via TA and I would be happy to respond.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southpoint, Owner at South Point Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time to write a review. The Chalet is a 2 bedroom property just a minute away from South Point beach villas, Ideal for families and friends who need extra rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missisauga,ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is My Second Trip to Sri Lanka after 6 Years.
This Time I Was Not Planning to Visit down south but ended up spending two weeks with friends in South Point Abbey.

I Would Say Nothing has changed all these years. We felt like home!!.
The Dutch house is Newly Renovated and Looked More stunning than the last time I visited.

Food is Absolute Sri lankan delicacy.
Atmosphere is wonderful.
We all had our own private time.
We went on hiking, bike rides down the coast, got ourselves a perfect ceylonese Ayurvedic massage, late nite BBQ's etc..

Everyone is Friendlier. Ask anything you'll be always served with friendly smile.

I would recommend anyone who wants to experience a perfect beach holiday in Sri Lanka. Stay at South point Villa.
A lovely place to spend your holiday with your friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were a family of 14, including 3 generations spanning 72 years. South point abbey was the perfect venue in every way, the beach is right in front of the house and the pool has breathtaking views of the ocean. The staff is excellent and catered to our every need, the food is out of this world, we ventured out only to appreciate shantha's cooking more.
The Food prices are reasonable too.
The staff set up a beach dinner,planning every ambiance detail to perfection. This is a perfect venue for a family get away,when in srilanka.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepaIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
1.4 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
399 reviews
7.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Villa

Property: South Point Villa
Address: Koggala, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Villa is a luxury villa on a soft golden sandy beach with spectacular views of the ocean. The beach is 15 metres from the deck. Ideal for romantic getaways and family holidays. 3 air conditioned bedrooms sleep 6 adults + 2 children sharing rooms with parents. Extra beds, cots and high chairs beach toys can be provided. Each room has satellite TV and a safe. 2 bedrooms have a spectacular view of the ocean and the 3rd bedroom overlooks a beautiful fish pond. The en suite bathrooms are large with his and her wash basins, rainfall showers, toiletries and fresh linen. The powder room is conveniently tucked away. Private pool for exclusive use. Beach beds and towels provided. Dine or sit on the verandah with breathtaking views of the ocean. All sitting areas have ceiling fans. Meals, fresh seafood in particular, can be enjoyed in the garden, beach or villa. Vegetarian and Halal meals served on request. Fully staffed including a chef and manager. The staff is friendly, courteous and discreet. Privacy assured. Services available around the clock. We provide a maid service for the Middle Eastern ladies on request. The sea is excellent for swimming and snorkelling within the reef. Surfing spots close by. Unawatuna and Mirissa breach cafes, bars 15 minutes away. At the villa 100% exclusivity guaranteed, and is cozy hideout surrounded by a beautifully laid garden. SAFETY MEASURE - we can fix a wooden fence within a few minutes to prevent toddlers from getting on to the deck. Transport we can arrange. We will keep a vehicle and driver/guide 24/7 to hire. WEDDINGS - We can arrange your wedding at our properties - just let us know what you want and we will organize the event. GROUPS - we have 3 beach villas next to each other. Ideal for families and friends who want to be together yet have the privacy of their own villa. Meals can be arranged at the villa of your choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Point Villa Hotel Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing