We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay, delicious curries, extremely...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ahangama, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
keentrave...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, delicious curries, extremely memorable!”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our whole family brought in the new year (2018) at this beautiful villa, which is about a five minute walk from the nearest beach and very close to Ahangama Town. From start to finish, we had an extremely memorable stay. The villa staff, especially Kumudu, did everything they could to ensure we were happy and very well fed. Kumudu was more than happy to cook any Sri Lanka dish for us, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Her food was delicious (especially the prawn curry and coconut sambol!) and we often joined her on her trips to the fish market, to chose that evening's meal. The villa also has a BBQ area, which you can use - the gardener is more than happy to help set it up and clean it out the following day.

The pool and surrounding gardens are beautiful and very well kept. Monkeys swing from the palm trees in the morning and evenings, which is always lovely to watch. We also spotted iguanas and mongoose in the garden, along with amazing butterflies.

The rooms are lovely - three have wonderful outdoor bathrooms and one has a perfectly nice indoor bathroom. The communal areas are great and have lots of games, a TV and three very comfy sofas!

The villa is a short tuk tuk ride to many beautiful beaches; Weligama, Kabalana, Mirissa and Unawatuna. It is also only a 30-40 minute tuk tuk ride to Galle Fort, which is great for an afternoon walking around the historical fort.

Overall, we can't really fault our stay at Coconut Grove - it was the perfect place for a family holiday and one we will never forget.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind and informative review. I am sure it will be very helpful to anyone considering Coconut Grove for a holiday. Thank you.
I am so glad that Kumudu was able to cook up some curries for you - they are indeed delicious.
It was a joy having you to stay so please do come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2014
Dear Samer,

Thank you very much for taking time to write the review.
We are glad to hear such comments from you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coconut Grove.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eggiesabr...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful chill-out base for Sri Lanka trip”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Coconut Grove more than lived up to our expectations. It's a wonderful property, a great base for a holiday in south Sri Lanka.

The house is perfect for a large family. The bedrooms are all good sizes, with part outside bathrooms for three of them. The living area is good in the evenings and the dining areas, inside and out, are lovely.

Kumudu, the housekeeper, cooks amazing meals for you - definitely choose the Sri Lankan food options. All you pay for us the ingredients (which Kumudu shops for). On the first day, this will seem like a lot but this is only because she is buying all the basics for the week. For the whole week, for seven people, I think it cost us around £170 for the food (all breakfasts, most lunches and most dinners). Note that you need to sort your own alcohol - this is easy as there are wine shops in Galle as well as beer / spirits places nearby but it is worth filling up at duty free.

Kumudu will also do all your laundry whilst you are there so you don't need to pack for the whole time.

The pool is fantastic - easy to spend the whole day there, swimming and relaxing.

The immediate neighbourhood is quiet. There is a beach only five minutes walk away which is pretty, but the water clearly has strong currents so would take care with children.

It is not far from Fort Galle, Unawatuna etc. We also did the tour to the tea plantation, around 30 minutes away. For all of these, we hired a minibus (Eden Villas gave us a contact number) which was reasonably priced.

Eden Villas seemed good and responsive. We had one small issue soon after we arrived and they reacted quickly and professionally. My only small frustration with them (as with other villas in Sri Lanka) is they don't accept credit card payments which seems short-sighted to me.

Overall, a fantastic experience - really wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Kumudu's food!
Liked least: Annoyingly slow wi-fi on the last two days - but this was fine earlier so seems like it was the telco rather than the villa
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2013
Dear Ray,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and useful review. We are looking onto the credit card facility. Hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing