We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, beautiful villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection
Ranked #5 of 46 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We recently spent three nights at Villa Mayurana and it was a fantastic experience from start to finish. Thomas, the owner, could not have been more helpful or accommodating - from arranging for us to be picked up in Colombo and driven to the villa, to arranging our days out while we were there and our onward journey to our next hotel.

We stayed in the Red Suite - very nice, spacious, with its own private terrace and a shared sitting room. The big rainforest shower was lovely, as was the big four-poster bed, turned down for us every night by one of Thomas' very friendly and helpful staff. The villa has a lovely pool and a good gym, as well as offering massages, so we had plenty to occupy ourselves. The food was lovely - cooked to order at every meal - accompanied by a lovely selection of wine.

The view from the villa is simply stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 89 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently stayed at Villa Mayurana for our honeymoon and we could not have been happier with our decision. The owner, Thomas, made sure we were well cared for, from the time we landed to the time we departed. Upon landing at CMB, we were met by our driver who took us in a new Prius the roughly three hours to the property. The property is at the top of a hill in the middle of a working cinnamon plantation overlooking a beautiful valley. It is about 20 minutes rickshaw/tuktuk ride from the nearest beach, so this property isn't for you if you want to wake up to waves every morning. But it makes up for a beach with seemingly endless views over expanses of green cinnamon trees. It is quiet (except for the mayurs from the peacocks and other nature sounds) and a great place to unwind.

There are only three rooms on the property - red suite, yellow suite, and master suite. They are each artfully decorated with a careful eye towards detail. In fact, we found that the eye for detail extended throughout the property. Each glass, each art piece, each furniture seemed to be the product of thoughtful consideration. The rooms are in a classic Sri Lankan polished concrete style. Our room had a shower and bath, though we were asked not to use the bath due to environmental concerns with the water usage. Out back was a negative edge pool overlooking the back side of the valley. On the side was a bura and a spa room for massages and other spa treatments. Everything was spotless and well manicured.

There is a dining room, but we only ate there twice and instead opted to either dine on the terrace or in the garden. There are two private chefs on property who will basically make whatever you want. We were there seven days, so we ran the gamut of styles from Sri Lankan to Indian to French to Thai to Malaysian and so on. We even had choices at breakfast, including continental, Indian, and Sri Lankan. Most of the food made liberal use of the cinnamon. They did a few special meals for us, including a romantic meal with tiki torches out in the garden.

The area around the Villa is very local. You are really in the middle of a village community, so there are few tourist amenities and no stores. Fortunately, they do put a lot of effort into providing good facilities and food because there aren't many practical alternatives. But the locals are very kind an curious and seemed genuinely happy to see us as we went on our daily walk. Thomas has an arrangement with two local hotels to let visitors use their properties to access the beach. The beach is not walking distance. A local tuktuk driver is basically on call to go to the 20 minutes to the beach or the 40 minutes into Galle. He was always reliable and friendly.

The long and the short is that the stay was exactly what we wanted - a peaceful and relaxing way to spend time together without having to worry about things because we could rely on Thomas and his staff to ensure everything was perfect. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent a week at Villa Mayurana and can only describe it as a perfect vacation. We arrived at 5am and were welcomed warmly by our host. We were stunned at the beauty of the villa and mesmerized by the sunrise the greeted us.

Everything about our stay was perfect. We had a chef who made exactly what we wanted, every single meal. The staff were amazing, they were so warm, attentive, caring and honest. Our host was very cheerful, organized and planned each day for us meticulously. We traveled with our 2 year old son who had a wonderful time at the villa. There was so much space for him to run around and the staff were so kind that they would play with him and entertain him. Anything we needed we only had to ask and everyone was more than happy to oblige.

The villa is luxurious and we felt like we were being spoiled. The pool, the surrounding gardens, the cinnamon plantation created a beautiful setting and we felt like we were in paradise. Of course it helped that there was a relaxing 5-star spa and a well equipped gym if you have an afternoon with time to spare.

We would recommend this villa to anyone and were already planning our 2nd visit before we even left. It is so difficult to find the right place with the right people but the staff here really made us feel welcomed. We can't wait to return to Villa Mayurana and enjoy Sri Lanka all over again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red suite and yellow suite. The yellow suite although smaller was just as beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanineKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

While we only stayed for lunch, we were able to appreciate the beautiful property and amazing service provided at the Villa Mayurana. The chef beautifully incorporated cinnamon into each dish for one of the best meals of our trip. Such a secluded, serene, resort run by management clearly dedicated to providing a unique, perfect experience. Would love to return instead as guests for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Villa Mayurana is a beautiful and peaceful oasis. We spent 4 nights out of our 10 night stay in Sri Lanka, and they were without doubt the most special and memorable.

Set in a sleepy village atop of a cinnamon plantation, the Villa is exquisite and decorated to the very highest standards. The attention to detail and personal service by far exceeds anything received at a hotel residence.

The staff are friendly and accommodating whilst discreet.
The food is exceptionally good and cooked to your requirements, however be prepared to plan your meals ahead, as it really is down to you, unless you wish to give the chef free reign.
Facilities include a beautiful infinity pool, a gym, hot tub and spa.
What really makes Villa Mayurana is the wonderfully warm host, and proprietor, Mr.Thomas.

Nothing is too much hassle and he really makes you feel welcome in his home.
We choose the full board option, which we thoroughly recommend, however we strongly advise you confirm what is included so you can keep track of your spending.

There is transportation to and from a lovely secluded beach, which is well worth a visit, whilst not free can be arranged very easily and at a reasonable price.

Overall we highly recommend Villa Mayurana and the full cinnamon experience, you will be very hard pushed to find somewhere as special as this.

If I were to go back I would certainly consider hiring all 3 rooms and having the villa to ourselves.

Alex & Nicoletta

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the villa for 1 week, and it was by far one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and one of our favourite holidays so far. The entire property is absolutely stunning, with its breathtaking views and beautiful gardens. Our room was simultaneously luxurious and comfortable, with all the comforts you expect from a hotel but the feel of a luxury home.
The pool, with its breathtaking views, was the perfect spot for relaxing and enjoying the sun.

One of our favourites things about Villa Mayurana was the food! We absolutely loved the Sri Lankan curries, the vegetable dishes, and fabulous fish; we really couldn't get enough. For a few meals we fancied less traditional, and those were delicious as well. They were very accommodating :)

The entire staff were incredibly helpful and kind - We can't thank the entire staff enough for making our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I extremely enjoyed my stay at Villa Mayurana. The guest rooms are surrounded by an unforgettable garden, which I compared to what I imagined to be paradise.
The staff people were professional, helpful and polite, so were also the chef and his assistance who learned right away what kind of dishes would please them , and responded to any wish of them. The food was gorgeous.
When thinking of my stay in Villa Mayurana, I would have rated it as my best vacation ever.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
0.9 mi away
Kahanda Kanda
Kahanda Kanda
#1 of 1 in Angulugaha
493 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
416 reviews
2.9 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#13 of 33 in Unawatuna
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#2 of 6 in Ahangama
214 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection

Address: Pelassa Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range: $245 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mayurana is a piece of paradise overlooking the pristine Sri Lankan South Coast near Ahangama / Koggala. Experience the exuberant and amazing nature of Sri Lanka in the middle of a cinnamon plantation and landscaped tropical gardens. The Villa has been designed to enjoy luxury without limitations, providing absolute privacy, relaxation and peace of mind. One of our cinnamon cultivations offers a practical presentation on how cinnamon is harvested. Indulge yourself in a 4-course cinnamon infused meal, especially created for this experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing