We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable dream vacation at Villa Mayurana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection
Ranked #4 of 36 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable dream vacation at Villa Mayurana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I extremely enjoyed my stay at Villa Mayurana. The guest rooms are surrounded by an unforgettable garden, which I compared to what I imagined to be paradise.
The staff people were professional, helpful and polite, so were also the chef and his assistance who learned right away what kind of dishes would please them , and responded to any wish of them. The food was gorgeous.
When thinking of my stay in Villa Mayurana, I would have rated it as my best vacation ever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    2
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from 14 wonderful days and nights at Villa Mayurana. As other reviewers have commented, the place is truly exceptional - a wonderful tranquil location, first rate facilities, (the pool was the best we have ever seen at a private villa), extremely well equipped gym, wonderful masseuse for my wife. And the staff made us feel like pampered family, not just guests. We keep a strictly kosher diet and Thomas and his team went out of their way to help, buying new pots and pans and then cooking gourmet meals to meet our dietary requirements. We look forward to returning soon.
Peter S (London)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We loved everything about our 6 night stay at Villa Mayurana. The villa is beautifully designed, furnished and located. But the best thing about our stay was the magnificent staff who looked after us and made our stay absolutely remarkable. They met every need and exceeded all expectations. The meals were one of many highlights prepared by the villa's own chef. Daniel, who managed the Villa, was a magnificent host and advisor and set up a magnificent itinerary for the rest of our stay in Sri Lanka. His recommendations were outstanding. His care and consideration did not stop after our departure. He phoned us every night for the rest of our stay in Sri Lanka after we had left the villa. We did not want to leave . . . ever!

Room Tip: Stay for as long as you can. Take the entire villa is possible and spend lots of time at the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afsaneh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed three nights at this gorgeous villa, hoping for a quiet, relaxing and peaceful time, which is exactly what got. The villa is set high on a hill surrounded by a beautiful garden and cinnamon plantation. We were welcomed by the staff who took fantastic care of us during our stay and were always friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and looked out over the pool. The pool was fantastic with views looking out over the landscape to the lake and ocean. They also have a very well equipped gym. The only downside of the room was that there was a beautiful big marble bath but as they only have solar hot water, they ask you to ask them before you use it - so we didn't end up bothering.

The villa is inland and states approximately 5km from the main road/beach. Although the road is slow going so probably 15-20min drive. So if you're looking for quite and seclusion, you'll get it here.

Each day the chef would ask us what we wanted for lunch and dinner. Other reviewers mention a menu but that they could order anything they wanted. We never saw a menu which made it a little more challenging to come up with what we wanted each day however every meal amazed us at how it could be better than the last. The food was simply superb! The chef is fantastic and certainly knows how to cook. Certainly a highlight was how great our meals were with personalised service every day.

Unfortunately they don't have facilities for drivers but came up with a solution for ours, although at what we thought was a pretty high price of R2,750 per day. We also had a small load of washing done which at R3,000 seemed excessively high. Probably better to ask prices in advance.

However being secluded comes with a price and similarly drinks etc are at a higher price than you would pay elsewhere in Sri Lanka. With the exception of the massages which are reasonably priced.

They are very much a guest house rather than a hotel, and you are certainly treated as a guest by the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

After having stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout the world, from 6 star statements of oppulence in the Middle East to the cosy B&B's of the Welsh countryside and everything in between, our stay at Villa Mayurana has shown us the difference between being a customer and a truly welcome guest.

The property itself, set amist a hilltop is serene, beautifuly landscaped gardens offering a 360 degree view of the lush greenery around and the Indian ocean in the distance. Inside the villa, we found pristinely cleaned and kept rooms faithful to the colonial style of yesteryear, luxurious bathrooms and the attention to detail and quality throughout is quite remarkable. The owner has a thing for quality - you can see it from the netting of the curtains and wood furnishings to even the type of security safe provided to guests.

The food at Villa Mayurana was simply delicious. Although we were presented with a menu every day to choose what Chef Nirodha would make for us at dinner, we always asked for something off menu, inspired by our love for Sri Lankan cuisine. The resulting incarnation at dinner time was what we asked for, beautifully prepared and presented, served with a professionalism and courteousness that would teach a thing or two to the Michelin star restaurants of the world. Breakfast was equally appealling, the freshest fruit followed by eggs, sausages and bread.

But what really made this stay special and different to anything else that we have experienced before, was the way the staff made us feel. Right from the moment we arrived, we were made to feel extremely welcome and immedietly felt at home. It was like staying with a very wealthy long lost uncle who had gone away on a trip, and left his faithful staff with instructions to look after us with the utmost care. And this is exactly what they did. This wasn't something that was scripted; we really got the sense that it was personally important to the staff that we were happy with every aspect of our stay, never saying no to any request that we made.

We were welcomed by Deshara and Udara who showed us to our rooms whilst Ajith brought us some tea to cool off after our long ride from Negombo, along with a cold towel. In fact, a cold towel was on hand every time we returned from an outing. Deshara was there all of the time, to help us see and do the things we wanted, arranging transport for us, and even accompanying us through Galle to see the sights and to keep a watchful but unintruding eye on our activities.

Ajith and Nondana served us our meals, brought us tea and coffe and kept our rooms impeccably clean. We were really impressed by the way the rooms were tended to - cleanliness of the highest standard.

We only stayed two days at Villa Mayurana and like everyone else reviewing this hotel, we wish it had been longer. Towards the end of the stay, Deshara enquired how we had felt about our stay. But not in the language we had become accustommed to from all the hotel chains we'd stayed in where they ask you to fill in a card to 'express your level of satisfaction' or make remarks about whether the 'service had met your expectations'.. Rather, Deshara simply quietly asked us, 'Are you Happy?'

To which we could only answer 'Yes, very much so....'

Thank you to the entire team at Villa Mayurana for making this one of the most memorable stays we have ever had and we look forward to staying with you again soon!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, the red room has a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hizar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Hizar,
my name is Thomas. I work here as the manager. Unfortunately I have not been here at the time you stayed at Villa Mayurana. All of us are very happy to learn, that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for publishing that.
We hope, that you will select our Villa Mayurana for another stay again. We would be very honored to host you again, may be next time a little longer....
Best regards,
Thomas in the name of all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Oman
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We planned to spend only 4 days at the villa before continuing to travel around the island. We in fact enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to stay another 4 days (8 days altogether) to enjoy the peaceful relaxing environment, service and wander the surrounding countryside.

The villa covers the top of a hill surrounded by a cinnamon plantation and has beautiful 360 degree views over the surrounding countryside and Koggala to the south. The villa has 2 suites, we were the only guests, and the service provided by the staff, and for only 2 guests! was exceptional.

The 2 suites are in the main building separated by a large lounge with a huge outside terrace. The facilities included a 25m infinity swimming pool, jacuzzi on the side of the hill with views, gym and massage pavillion. There is also a separate dining room and another pavillion for just relaxing. Breakfast and/or lunch can be served under an old tree, on the lawn, dining room or terrace . There are 360 degree views.

The bird life is wonderful and there were wild Peacocks flying in and out of the garden daily or sitting on one of the many rooves. We walked most late afternoons around the local houses and villages in the vicinity, everyone was friendly and all (young and old) wanted to say "hello" and several gave us flowers. The roads/ tracks in the area are in the valley and one can walk alongside paddy fields and plantations or down to the lake.

The service is 5 star silver service. The food excellent, freshly made and high quality. The owner, who lives in the villa in a separate building, made our stay perfect.

We arrived and left by taxi and used tuktuks for local transport to Galle. The owner helped with arranging taxis and tuktuks and ideas on places to visit.

The majority of tourists head for the hotels on the beach which are busy and also usually noisy due to proximity to the road, but the villa is slightly inland location (5 km) and showed us another side of Sri Lanka which were enjoyed immensely, due to its peace and serenity. We would recommend anybody to stay at the villa and sample another side of Sri Lankan life.

Room Tip: Both rooms are almost identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinMuscatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Many thanks for your friendly comment also in the name of our staff. We remember you very well and hope to see you again. We try to give our guests the best service and guarantee for relaxed and peaceful holidays at our Villa Mayurana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentota, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a stay for 2 days because we wanted to do something special and give ourselves a nice treat. To our opinion and experience it is the most beautiful place to stay in Sri Lanka.
The villa is located on a hill with an unbelievable 360 degree view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are magnificent, clean and spacy. Also the food was as you can expect in a five star restaurant. The pool and spa and gym were very well equiped and very nice located on the property.
Conclusion? Exceeded our expectation, value for money and felt very welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
2.2 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kahanda Kanda
Kahanda Kanda
#1 of 1 in Angulugaha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#2 of 6 in Ahangama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
11.6 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.1 mi away
Mosvold Villa
Mosvold Villa
#1 of 36 in Ahangama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection

Property: Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection
Address: Pelassa Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mayurana is a piece of paradise overlooking the pristine Sri Lankan South Coast near Ahangama / Koggala. Experience the exuberant and amazing nature of Sri Lanka in the middle of a cinnamon plantation and landscaped tropical gardens. The Villa has been designed to enjoy luxury without limitations, providing absolute privacy, relaxation and peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mayurana by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing