We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, stylish and very friendly”
Review of W15 Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W15 Escape
Ranked #6 of 43 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and loved it there, but accept it will not suit all. Most of the time we were one of two guests so large parts it felt like a private villa. There are only 6 rooms in total so even when the hotel is full it still feels exceptionally personal.

My highlights:
- Very friendly staff - all of them are very keen to help and always full of smiles.
- Lovely pool and beautifully kept communal area with comfortable beds, good shade and very clean pool. This area also gets nice sea views and benefits from a nice breeze by being a little elevated.
- Food was consistently excellent - breakfast was particularly recommended.
- Wildlife is abundant. we had monkeys, squirrels, lizards, beautiful bird life and tree frogs. To be fair the tree frog was in the outside bathroom, but it's normal in the tropics.
- Airport transfers were well organised.
- Check in/out was quick and efficient.
- Free wifi throughout the property. It's not fast, but it worked.

To be aware of:
- It's a short walk to the local beach and it's not developed for tourists or good for swimming. Our tuk-tuk driver walked us to his local beach another 3-4 minutes walk away : completely undeveloped, but safe for swimming and very peaceful.
- THe hotel is in Angama. It's about 25 minutes in a tuk-tuk to Unawatuna. THere's a partly developed beach near Unawatuna that is as beatiful as any I've seen in the world.
- All the bathroom facilities are very private, but outside. No problem but it means the mozzies are a problem. Personally I would live with this to keep the local wildlife (or move the bathroom inside!!).
- There are no TVs. THere is one in the reception area and we watched the cricket there. Personally I did not miss the TV.

Room Tip: If you want alcohol bring your own or buy local Arak!! Hotel can keep it cool in their fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at The Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, while enjoying sumptuous cuisine offered.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and it is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests who have understood the concept of this little haven.

However, we regret if any inconvenience caused. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDAGAMA
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 170 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hideaway villa, small chalet type bungalows situated in a beautiful garden. The rooms were basic with outdoor shower/ toilet etc my own preferences are definitely indoor. The mosquito problem was annoying.
Unfortunately no tv but wifi is available.
This villa is charming with a lovely pool
and sunbeds with canopies and towels.
The staff were very attentive and polite service very good. The food was good and enjoyable. Just a few tweaks here and there to be done but on the whole very pleasant. This place is ideal for people who want alot of peace and quiet nothing
much going on.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your descriptive review on the Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us.

The concept of this small haven, based on peace and tranquility is adored by Guests who wish to have nothing better than a relaxed holiday, hassle-free from the busy schedules. This being the reason we have very minimal entertainment facilities within the premises. Nevertheless, we are happy to know you had enjoyed ourwi-fi facility.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities we make this an opportunity to welcome you again for yet another memorable stay with us.

We will be more than happy to serve you.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDIGAMA
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and stayed at Three by TVP/Jetwing, expecting a very high end luxury hotel, unfortunately when we arrived the first thing we noticed was that the beach was not a tourist beach and in between the hotel and the beach was a main road with constant beeping or horns. You have to take a tuktuk to access the tourist style beaches which takes around 20mins.

Having had quite a tiring trip around Sri Lanka without much luxury we decided to order some cocktails, soon to be told that the hotel no longer held a liquor licence since been taken over by Jetwing (something we were not warned of in advance). With no other bars or hotels nearby we were forced to make do and managed to buy a very expensive bottle of wine.
Our first two nights were not the tranquil restful nights we'd hoped for as unfortunately we had very noisy thoughtless neighbours who banged the door to the outside bathroom and talked at the top of their voices until 2am. The design of the rooms meant the noise travelled across the structure. The manager who was standing in, did offer to move us, but it turned out the other room was booked and as our neighbours were departing we hoped for quieter people, luckily this was the case for our last three nights.
The grounds of the hotel were lovely and after getting used to the road noise, we managed to relax by the pool and I spent a happy afternoon watching the monkeys swinging through the trees and run along the roofs of the rooms.
The staff were friendly, warm and helpful especially the waiters and young manager who was thrown in at the last minute in what was obviously the change over period from TVP to Jetwing.
The room cleaning and towel replacement was not consistent throughout the stay, but we were gifted with a lovely Sri Lankan artwork on New Year's Eve and I enjoyed ginger tea most mornings in bed. We were not provided with bathrobes or slippers as originally advertised through our booking operator and the outside shower was let down by the poorly designed wooden floor with rusting nails showing through the paintwork. The bathroom area was generally poorly maintained and to echo this the sun-loungers around the pool were also in desperate need of maintenance.
The food was very good and I really missed the lovely spread of fresh fruit and English style eggs and toast on return home and smiley waiters in the mornings. Some evenings the choice for vegetarians was quite limited though.
During our stay we booked a lovely massage through the hotel, which was a highlight of that part of the trip. We felt other options and tourist attractions were poorly advertised and the staff seemed unclear about destinations or how to access things and the trip we did book was disappointing as we didn't get to see any wildlife.

Style over substance would be our summary of this hotel and a dream honeymoon destination it was not, but we did try to make the most of the good points, which could be built upon in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Roxy-Duffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all allow me to thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. Going through your comments I trust you will allow us to extend our apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us, whilst assuring you that your feedback has our full attention.

The few mishaps when it comes to the service will be immediately looked in to. As a Villa property of the Jetwing Group of Hotels, we maintain a unique level of hospitality, which we have slightly failed to extend to you and your husband during your stay with us. Please accept our humble apologies once again.

Nevertheless, we very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and we hope you will visit us again in future someday soon, giving us yet another opportunity to greet you and treat you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDIGAMA
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Upon finding this resort (which is tucked away off the main road)- ask locals around ahangama for directions- google maps fails- found out managed by JetWing

Room was lovely, pool was lovely and the bed was comfortable. No tv in the room but time is best spent here either eating or by the pool. Ahangama beach is about a ten min walk (the three is across road on a hill)

Food was good- let down only by new years meal which we opted in for, cost 50 but lacked variety. Was pork, fish or cheese cauliflowers.

Staff were friendly and attentive

Would say the hotel needs a spray in bathroom areas as the mosquitoes get ya

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JoeyD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited the TPV for lunch. Nice setting but unfortunately we were disappointed. Mixed fruit juice tasted bad. All others we had in Sri Lanka been soo good. Ordered chicken, feta, avocadosalad and the portion was enough to be a starter. No bred, no dressing, just a bland salad, OK taste and fresh though. Went straight to another lunchplace after for 2nd lunch! And on top of this it was our most expensive lunch during our two weeks in Sri Lanka. Not recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OnedgeXiphiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, allow me to thank you for taking time to bring to our attention your experience at the Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We assure you that your comments have our full attention.

It is very unfortunate you had to face such a situation at the Three. We most humbly extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I will personally see to this matter and make sure necessary actions are taken to make sure such situations do not repeat in future.

I hope you will not allow your previous experience be your last with us. We hope you will visit us again, the next time you come to Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDIGAMA
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were looking forward to meet T.P.V. but we realised it' sbeen taken over by Jet wing. So we got tensed that how will the hotel be. But the manger of jetwing was very nice and helpful gentleman. Food menu was very limited but everything was great. Limited chioce for vegetarian. but Manager kept it open to make anything we like. superb looking swimming pool with spectacular view. very nice walk across the road on beach... Had it been great if this property was on beach nonetheless it was nice. The concept of 6 rooms with everthing white is great concept. Loved the peace and total relaxation but no spa though is real bad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Three by TPV is a nice, private boutique (it's not a hotel, there's a sign on a front door saying that it's a private property etc, probably because of tax/license/law reasons? I don't really know). Just after getting to the place we were checked in by the owner of the facility, Swedish guy probably named Filip but I'm not sure. The hotel is rather small but really modern and quite well organized. There is no beach around, but it isn't a surprise in Sri Lanka. The pool side was nice, food was really good, same with drinks/cocktails. Everything is a little pricey comparing to other hotels on the island. The only concerns we had was the temperature and pressure of the water in our shower, and fact that our bathroom had no door at all (there was only some kind of curtain). We also had couple of geckos in the room, they run all over the walls and ceilings and eat bugs - nice experience. You also shouldn't expect any shops, restaurants or anything like this around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
4.7 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
273 reviews
9.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 6 in Ahangama
157 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W15 Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W15 Escape

Address: Mahavihara Road | Ahangama Kanda, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range: $58 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — W15 Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W15 Escape is what happens when Asian design, modern thinking and western standard come together in perfect harmony. This boutique hotel offers all guests a piece of tranquility and luxury living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your W15 Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing