We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Jubbly”
Review of W15 Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W15 Escape
Ranked #6 of 37 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Jubbly”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Design and small details are paid close attention to at this hotel. The surroundings are predominantly white and scandinavian. A refreshing change to the usual balinese resort feel that most villas on the coast in Sri Lanka so ambitiously aspire to. We stayed in a Garden Suite and was pleasantly surprised by our short and fleeting visit. The hotel and rooms are well maintained especially considering its white-ness! The pool has a lovely chill-out area and sun beds are comfy.

Cons - We had really big mosquitoes in our rooms and the bathrooms could be better maintained as they are open air. No television (you really dont miss it though). Towels and sheets could do with an industrial bleach.

Pros - the owners of the hotel are absolutely lovely!, very attentive to their guests and hands on with the whole operation. They are very polite, service oriented and have a very good eye for beautiful things. Their dogs just as lovable and very unintrusive of guests. Delicious food!

I'll be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    34
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
90
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed with a friend here, and I must say it was a wonderful experience.. It is a great place with a bunch of friendly staff. Everything was perfect & I loved every bit of it. The luxurious white villas are spacious with unique accessories that have been made by the owners. From the time of arrival until our checkout I was amazed by their hospitality... I highly recommend this place and I will be back soon too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samanthi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended this hotel by a friend and was totally amazed and blown away on arrival. The hotel is pristine, immaculate, individual in design and thoroughly beautiful. The rooms are spacious but intimate, the gardens and pool are like Eden and the sea in the background gives the sense of tranquility. This is a haven hidden away in a lush landscape with every luxury at hand. The cuisine is varied from traditional Sri Lankan to modern European. The hospitality is warm and homely and one is made to feel very special. It's this attention to every detail that makes this boutique hotel stand we'll above the rest and definitely a place I will return to and most certainly recommend to everyone. Simply stunning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for new years 2012/2013 for a period of 6 nights.

Having read all the reviews we were already looking forward to this lil secret get away. Upon our arrival all expectation where exceeded by FAR!

Everything in this hotel is chosen to match, from the 6 white bungalow to the exotic garden all the way to been given complemetary fresh fruits and exotic drinks at the white sun beds at the pool to ordering breakfast instead of a buffet under the roof of a lil patio ( only seating 12 people at a time)

The 3 owners definitely did an amazing job on ambiance and service. If you are looking for an extraordinary holiday in a oasis of elegance this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sellen_and_Axel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful boutique hotel over a weekend, after some great recommendations from friends, and we were not disappointed.

From the booking of the room, to check-in, stay all the way up to check-out, the owners and staff were extremely hospitable and accommodating. The location would have been rather average, but the hotel has been designed in such a way that it enhances the property. The all-white design gives a feeling of 'heaven', and creates an ideal setting for some R&R.

Afternoon tea in the cozy poolside hut and pre-dinner cocktails make a wonderful prelude to a calm yet impressive dinner.

The hotel is located between the popular Mirissa and Unawatuna beaches, which are a short drive away. Parking can be a bit cramped up, and if you do not go with a driver, you may have to move your car so that other cars can be moved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have had the priviledge of staying at The Three on 2 occasions. Each of these breaks have been more than perfect thanks to the beauty of The Three. It is so very different to everything you experience in Sri Lanka - the styling, the rooms and very definitely the bathrooms and even the menu, service and all the little extras. My extended weekend breaks have re-energized me and made me feel new again. The food too has been outstanding - on top of my list is their pasta with mushrooms and bacon and the to die for chocolate cake ! The manner in which the hotel is set out, the view of the sunset from the pavilion, the pool at night with the floating glass balls - them all, it contribute to the magic. But what actually makes the experience real magic is the "three" Themselves. Thomas, Patrick and Vadim are not hoteliers but are genuinely caring human beings who want to ensure you have a great holiday. I'd say you must go to The Three by TPV before you die !!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ranil0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

If its style and relaxation you are after book this hotel. The rooms are chic and spacious with a simple white decor with quirky furniture. In the reception area you will find unique sculptors and pieces of art work which are available to buy. We bought some of these unique pieces for our flat.

we were greeted with a refreshing drink upon arrival and a tour of the grounds by the owner Patrick. The food is reasonable priced but higher then the average price of food in Sri Lanka. The hotel is in a remote area so you are restricted to eat in the hotel,it would be nice to see more variation on the menu with lower priced food for breakfast and lunch. Also, a nice idea would be to have happy hour or a BBQ every other day as it can be a bit too quiet. The staff are very friendly and during the day the circulate the grounds with cold water and fruit which is such since touch.

The hotel is about 20 minutes from a decent beach which is Unawatuna but the staff will happily order you a tuk tuk or taxi which will cost you around 1000 rupees each way.

The hotel is beautiful and I would recommend booking it especially if you are looking for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Book room 7 if you are a couple looking for romance :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loupea-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
4.7 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 6 in Ahangama
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W15 Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W15 Escape

Property: W15 Escape
Address: Mahavihara Road | Ahangama Kanda, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — W15 Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W15 Escape is what happens when Asian design, modern thinking and western standard come together in perfect harmony. This boutique hotel offers all guests a piece of tranquility and luxury living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your W15 Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing