We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea plantation”

Handunugoda Tea Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Private Day Trip: The Old Town of Galle Tour from Colombo
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ahangama
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea plantation”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This plantation is completely free to visit, we had a very interesting tour of the plantation, working factory and museum. Beautiful tea and cake in the picturesque surroundings up at the plantation bungalow which was free whilst we learned the benefits of various teas. we brought lots of tea to bring home but it was one of the few places that we visited where there really was no pressure to buy anything. Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank leannedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    78
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A fun visit - well explained and fun. Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I've been to many tea estates but to date this has been the pick especially with Herman Gunaratne as an enthusiastic & entertaining raconteur. The estate is scenically positioned in the low country & the process well explained including a short break for tea before visiting the factory, a tea tasting and opportunity to purchase not just tea but one of Herman's entertaining books. The whole visit is very well done & is great fun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see if you like Tea”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have really enjoyed our visit at Handunugoda Tea Estate. These people really do what's their passion, they make excellent tea and take good care of the visitors. It's interesting to see how the tea is grown and processed. The cake & tasting was a nice surprise...I'm enjoying the teas from this tea estate now back in the office :) I would say for us this was the most enjoyable attraction in Sri Lanka.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank j4npr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must see in southern Sri Lanka”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a great visit to the tea factory & plantation, much thanks to our great guide. Good place to learn more about tea and its history. Take money with you so you can buy the excellent teas from their teashop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank snttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Fantastic place! It was a great experience to be able to see a tea plantation. Fantastic photography opportunity as well. People as typical for Srilanka very friendly. There also are couple of cinnamon peelers over there to give you an idea how cinnamon is harvested. Beautiful experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handunugoda Tea Estate also viewed

 

Been to Handunugoda Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing