We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem . . .”

Handunugoda Tea Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.75*
and up
Private Day Trip: The Old Town of Galle Tour from Colombo
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ahangama
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place by chance after reading a tiny note about it in a guide book. We have visited the the plantations of the highlands and although the views and quantity of tea here are not as jaw dropping, the actual tour itself puts Hapatules tea factory to shame. This place is what I was hoping for in the highlands.

When we got there a guide greeted us and showed us around this beautiful Estate, showing us various cash crops ( rubber, pepper to name a few) and the tea, from how it's grown to how it's processed in the factory to make the finished product as we know it. Near the beginning, we sat and enjoyed a pot of tea and a small but tasty slice of chocolate cake. At the end of the tour you are treated to sample around 20 variations of tea including the Virgin White - the most expensive and exclusive tea in the world. Although this is a free tour and there is absolutely no pressure to buy anything, you still feel as though you should as the tea costs from 750rs up its still a pretty decent price for what you get in the way of the tour/ tea/ cake, let alone the product you purchase.
Also leave a small tip AT THE END OF THE TOUR, not half way in like your guide might suggest.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JJno41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    73
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fantastic & unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This tour was one if the highlights of my trio to Sri Lanka. I loved the beauty of the plantation, and learning about 'virgin white tea' was also really cool. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and shared lots of stories and information, not just about tea, but also about the many other plants on the site. These included coffee, pepper and rubber plants. It was lively sitting up at the house amongst the flowers and being served some yummy cake while getting to try several different brews. I also loved the quick trip through the factory, giving an insight into the full production of tea. There is an opportunity at the end to try all brews, and purchase any you like. Beware the virgin white tea is extremely expensive! Highly recommend this tour to young and old!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank courtneyandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really lovely trip tied in with a Galle visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A really great little tea tour and I’d recommend this to anyone. The guides give you a lovely tour and explain a variety of plants, not just the process in making virgin white tea. You sit down with some lovely brews and cake, take a tour of the factory and then sample about 20 different teas. It’s impossible not to buy a few bags of tea to take home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SLTravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to spend an afternoon...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent the afternoon at the Handunugoda Tea Estate on the 21st March and would recommend for anyone to visit here even if you aren't a fan of tea.
Our host David really looked after us and was highly knowledgeable on tea, the tea making process and the flora and fauna found on the estate.
Not only did we see and taste some fantastic tea (and also had some lovely chocolate cake) we also saw plenty of wildlife...black faced monkeys, parrots, peacock and black robins to name a few. The story behind the estate is also fascinating, read the Suicide Club book if you get a chance. A real life working museum and all of this for free.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much fun, even for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited the Handunugoda Tea Plantation and Factory on March 31, 2013. Our children are 13, 11 and 8 and we all enjoyed our time so much. We emailed the contact on their website as the info on tripadvisor was not helpful for finding the plantation, and the location on google was incorrect. The owner responded within a few hours and we set up transport from our hotel to the plantation and back. The driver was on time and very nice, and the SUV was also very nice. Upon arriving, we met the owner and learned about his family's ownership of the plantation and how they came to grow the virgin white tea. Herman is a really interesting guy and so open to visitors. We were then shown part of the grounds and the process of tea, rubber, cinnamon and pepper was explained along with a lot of other details about Sri Lanka and the grounds and plants there. We stopped for tea and cake at the house, and were able to sit and cool off for a bit. Then we went on to the factory and were taught the process of drying and packaging the tea. The museum was next, and was so much fun as we were able to taste all the teas that they produce and watch a short video about the process. Herman is also a best-selling author and his books are available in the museum shop. He even took the time to stop back and sign his books for us... he made us feel very welcome. The whole tour took about 2.5 hours door to door from our hotel. It is the perfect amout of time for a family with children and a perfect trip to get a 'taste' of Sri Lanka! The only thing we were charged for was the transport and we felt it was very reasonable, and of course our purchases in the shop. The tour and museum are free of charge!! Also, the bathroom facilities were very nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5India-na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handunugoda Tea Estate also viewed

 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Handunugoda Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing