We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
30
9
3
8
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
9
3
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egyptian theme restaurant staff location is great amazing surf rooms are big sri lanka statues sea surfing
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 67 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2017

We have now stayed 3 times at the Kabalana hotel, we always stay in the same room, in the older part of the hotel and absolutely love it. The staff are super, super lovely, and the food and curries were the best in the area. Our rooms were beautiful and always clean. The hotel also has a great pool, and lovely garden where you can hear the beautiful birds sing throughout the day.

Room Tip: go for sea view rooms as the street side is busier.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cordelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2017

Dear Madam / Sir,
It is our pleasure to note this review and very much appreciated. Further, we are happy that you could spend a memorable holiday with us. In fact, we trust and attempt all the times to perform our best service and condition for our mutual guests. Our staff and the management team are looking forward to welcome you and your family once again in the near future. Thank you very much in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

A very new hotel in Egyptian style. As a big family we had to stay in two rooms so we had one room in the old part of the hotel and one in the new part of it. The rooms are clean and have a great size. The staff still have a lot to learn and they don't really know how to handle the guests yet. The location is perfect - right on the beach and the hotel has a beautiful garden and a great pool, so nothing negative to say about that. The food wasn't that great and it seemed like making food for six people was too much for the kitchen to handle at one time. Furthermore the fruit at breakfast wasn't even fresh but otherwise the breakfast is just like anywhere else in Sri Lanka.
We were very disappointed at the quality of the service at the hotel and there were so many small things wrong that it at last just got too much.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank SofieHagesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for choosing Kabalana Boutique Hotel. As negotiated and request, we could accommodate with a reasonable discounted price at the time of check-in so as visited without any pre-booking. We have well acknowledged and provide necessary training for the staff and also maintain quality of the foods. The review is very important to us and moves forward while correcting all neglects. We do apologize of your disappoint and hope to welcome once again another occasion in the near future. Thank you very much in advance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

New Hotel opened prematurely before making sure it was fit for guests. Recently stayed with a largish party and we all suffered with our rooms having numerous niggles and teething/snagging problems.
Toilet leaks at the base, only operates manually and not by the fancy electrical gizmo settings. Wash hand basin leaks all over the floor. Televisions are not operational and only for show. There are no curtains or shutters to the rear road facing bedrooms which are subsequently very noisy from the road and obviously let the light in.
Adjacent bathrooms between other rooms do not have completed floor to ceiling partitions so you can hear everything that goes on.
There are no toiletries or tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
However, if you can accept the problems and negotiate a good discount before booking it is worth the stay just to experience the quirky Egyptian theme of statues and carvings everywhere.
It is like walking into a Las Vegas themed hotel where no expense has been spared on the finish and materials used. The naff French style furniture is so out of character and is placed randomly without thought, covering light switches, plug sockets etc; It is such a bizarre decadent monstrosity to find amongst the local village life surrounding it.
The staff try very hard amongst the chaos to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The buffet style food for our evening meals and breakfasts was more than adequate though was served cold with no burners underneath the containers to keep the food hot. After three days stay the variety became a bit 'samey' however. Alcoholic drinks are expensive.
There doesn't appear to be an indoor dining area yet so all meals are taken outside in the extensive gardens by a gorgeous pool overlooking the sea and surfers.
Wifi is a bit hit and miss at times but available in rooms.
There is one real concern however when it comes to safety. There appears to be only one residential floor (1st) connected to a fire escape with no sign of the others likely to be connected in the near future. At the time of our stay, fire extinguishers had only just been delivered and there was no signage for escape routes or assembly areas.
This hotel really needs to sort itself out before taking anymore paying guests.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

I was interested in this hotel, especially since I came to the area for a surfing vacation.
There are many surfing location nearby (up to 40 minutes by tuktuk).
The hotel is located exactly in front of the surfing point of Kabalana ,which mostly had the best waves during my stay. You can just see the point and surfers from the room's balcony.
Before I checked-in to the hotel I read some bad reviews so I hesitated a bit, eventually the location won and I got a promise from the hotel managers that all the facilities will be ok.
I had some issues at the beginning, but the hotel staff was very nice and did everything to solve them. To be on the safe side, I recommend to check the room before the check in, to make sure it meet your needs.
The food in the restaurant is good.
I think this hotel has a very big potential due to its great location and not just for surfers. it can also be good for couples and families.

Room Tip: Check the room before check in
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Komemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 16, 2017

Dear Sir, It is our sincere thank and gratitude for the review. We will make sure to keep our on going good service and make our mutual guests happy. This is a very important message for us and we are looking forward to welcoming once again in the near future. Thank you very much in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Beautiful surroundings, Udaya and his staff could not do enough for us and made some competitively priced trips for us.
Lovely room, cleaned daily with Incredible views & steps to the beach. First class accommodation- book it now !

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captm0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 16, 2017

Dear Sir, Thank you very much indeed for the review and feedback. We always do our best attention and attempt to serve better and keep our mutual guests happy during the stay with us. Thank you once again in advance. See you and your family once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews