We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect surfing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lace Rock Beach Cabanas
Ranked #12 of 37 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect surfing vacation”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great time at the Lace rock beach hotel.

The rooms were beautiful and freshly painted.
Because of the sea just in front of the house, we enjoyed a nice sea breeze all day long.

Manu and Eva, together with the local guys, made our stay perfect with great food and on small wave days, trips to the nicest places.
We surfed the best surfspots guided by Manu, who is a great surfing teacher!

I would love to go back there!

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs are the most quiet, but the rooms upstairs have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacerock, Owner at Lace Rock Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Thank you very much for stay my hotel for your surfing vacation.
we always do our best to make your stay perfect.
hope you will come back again !!!!
thank you very much
kind regards,
Widushan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
iangoff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I agree with everything Ollie 555 says. I enjoyed it there but after a couple of days the awesome location was the only thing that kept us going? Widushan the owners son was excellent and after the location right on the break he was the best thing about the place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iangoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

THis place could be fabulous...
GOOD: Large rooms and the views.
BAD: Pidgeons nesting on our balcony, breakfast was one egg and toast, poorly maintained with broken paths, mouldy bath room, cracked toilet. THe manager kept taking the router away so there was no internet! INternet when the router was there was only in the eating area. HAd some laundry done which was hung on the fence...our undies were on display, my expensive bra was ruined the wires all bent out of shape. NOt much in walking distance but a restaurant with pub where the locals write themselves off! Weligama would have been a much better option for us. ASked for the Sri Lankan breakfast and told i could have it the next day.....and never got it. WE only really saw the manager when we arrived and the rest of the time one young guy ran the place and was also the breakfast cook and clearly had a problem delivering that! WHen I sat on the balcony the staff sat there just staring at me making me feel extremely uncomfortable. MUst not forget the traffic outside. THere is a bus stop right at the front and you are right on the main road, and yes the traffic noise is horrendous as a previous reviewer stated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The junior staff were exceptional but the manager didn't lift a finger. Paid all money on arrival and realised there were places nearby a fraction of the price. Our fault as we used booking.com and knew the price from the outset but still a bit of a regret.

Good location and use of a beach nearby.

Room not cleaned in 4 days we stayed.

Didn't try dinner but breakfast was decent.

OK option but not memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Widushan and family helped us to organise a fabulous Sinhalese wedding, in a setting that was both intimate and beautiful. The food was fantastic and the family were extremely obliging. The cost was great value. Dilli's Salon across the road provided the most amazing makeover. There is a good reef break right in front of the cabanas and other breaks a short tuk tuk ride away. Widushan guided us around attractions and arranged transport to Unawatuna for some awsome beach parties. All in all a perfect setting slightly outside of the tourist centres with rustic charm and loads of character but within easy access of the Unawatuna night life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallymcbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a marvellous time here thanks to the family members who run this business.Nothing was a problem.Widushan,the son,took us out to the major attractions which gave us such an unsight to the ordinary life of local inhabitants.Costs..excellent value.Hand to hand service day and night.They ensured we were never ripped off..lots of friendly advice. The location was outstanding,spectacular.Highly recommend this place and look forward to another visit..will try and learn a few Sinhalese phrases although most family members spoke good English.Cant praise this family enough!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank COLINQUINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Only planned to have 3 days here but we were having such a relaxing and chilled out time being looked after and in such an amazing location (and so cheap!) that we stayed an extra 2 nights. Th e food was so good - LOVED the egg hoppas with coconut sambal for breakfast - and we had great service, although we were there after peak season so we were the only people there most of the time. It's such a gem and you'll be well looked after by Windushun and his staff. Hard to find a view like that anywhere in the world for $20 a night. So good!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cohabitaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
0.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Garden
Paradise Garden
#11 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kahuna Hotel
Kahuna Hotel
#20 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nature Villa
Nature Villa
#4 of 126 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lace Rock Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lace Rock Beach Cabanas

Property: Lace Rock Beach Cabanas
Address: Goviyapana Junction, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a place where senses are delighted and desires indulged. A place of colours, sounds and unexpected pleasures. Located in Ahangama on Sri Lanka's south coast, the Lace Rock Beach is an outstanding boutique resort with all the facilities to make your stay unforgettable. Where the beach is one of the most beautiful beaches of this paradise island. The cabanas & rooms are nestled between luxuriant trees, colourful bushes & tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Lace Rock Beach Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing