We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet little resort in the jungle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalu's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalu's Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Burwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet little resort in the jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Proper sri lanka, with wildlife in abundance - and thats just in the hotel! lizzards and insects galore, but this justs added to the charm as the hotel has the feel of a jungle lodge. it was quiet when we stayed so the staff were only too pleased to assist. Food was very good and not buffet style. well worth a stop over and i would have liked to have been here longer than 1 day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_storey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    176
    86
    30
    16
See reviews for
136
288
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place is like Eden! They grow their own fruit and veg, the view from our room was over looking the infinity pool which was clean and had a jacuzzi in it and the gorgeous peacocks hanging around the river.there Is a double chez longe on the balcony for star gazing although we couldn't because we were attacked and tortured by relentless pesky mozzies.

It was so peaceful, calm and simply perfect. The Sri Lankan food was sensational and really I tried my hardest to eat the seven curries they gave me but boy.....I just couldn't....the western food was pretty poor bit like a kids meal chicken nuggets type thing when asked for a breaded chicken breast but hey it seems it's a small price to pay for the bliss we encountered!

I was kicking back in the pool reading when a snake slithered by...about a meter long...unfortunately for me I am phobic so I nearly drowned but to the amusement of my better half it was another thing about this place that made his stay magical. There are turtles, frogs and birds. The spa looked lovely although i didn't use it.

There was only one other couple here and we didn't see them so we actually had the resort to ourselves....wow!

The staff here are so sweet, they work so hard and are constantly smiling, they rememebered everything we liked...ie I like my diet coke without a glass so from the first time I ordered one and said casually "ah don't worry about the glass" they remembered and never brought me another one....I just love this place and the staff here! Thank you so much for everything guys.

The jeep costs $45, which we added to the bill, entrance fee off the top of my head was about 6000rupees. Takes about 10 mins to drive there. The hotel will tell you the tracker is included in the price of the jeep but when it came to saying goodbye and thank you there was that uncomfortable moment where his little hand opened and said he was a volunteer and was due a donation.....awkward! we only has 300rupees, he seemed disappointed and we were pissed off.

The actual safari was nice. We were expecting herds of elephants but only saw a couple. Lovely park, yala is better with regards to variety of animals but we went to yala 2 days after it reopened and already there were too many jeeps, I dread to think what it is like in December! So for that reason I really enjoyed uda walawe, a lot quieter and the animals were not bothered so much.

The only thing that could have need better was our room was never cleaned but we weren't there for long so it was not a big deal but when you are having a cup of coffee in the morning in your room and the cup not removed it obviously attracts all sorts so they could pull in the reigns there but all good though no drama for us.

All in all we would highly reccomend kalus. We head the most amazing time there and if we had the time and the means we would have stayed longer.

Thank you for a wonderful trip xxxx kate and Darren (London) xxxxxx

Room Tip: Get room 111 or 110 great views of the river and pool not facing the back...enjoy xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate261155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great two nights stay at Kalu's with our two kids aged 10 and 8. The staff were exceptional and toured the kids through all the fruit and vege gardens. The spa was also fantastic and we all enjoyed a treatment. The chef is to be commended with great food and choices. Very close to the national park and a great fun trip in the open air jeep through the park. All in all great spot for a night or two and you will not forget the very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psjsfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room was immaculate, and beautiful. The hotel has a very nice open feel to it. I also loved their lovely garden, with amazing vegetables. They had a number of 'green' elements, they seem to recycle water and they also have solar water heaters!

Room Tip: There was the sound of running water near my room which was a little annoying. Try for a 2nd floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We travelled as a family, Mum & Dad, 2 boys aged 11 and 12 and only spent 1 night here. Rooms were OK. Food was OK, although not as varied as other hotels - but this was smaller. Location was very good. Getting close to the jungle here, so nicely exciting. Bars on the balcony windows in case the animals get too close. Little geckos everywhere! Quite cute once you get over the fright. Bugs were a problem - very close to the jungle and no mosquito nets - as we had in other hotels. Got my first bite here - right on the bum.
The only real disappointment were the staff, who generally did not seem as happy (and therefore enthusiastic and helpful) as the other hotels we visited - but no real complaint here.
Other than that it was quite nice. See my review of Cinnamon Wild, which was similar, but so much better.
Overall this was better than "average", but not enough for me to score "very good". I would have scored "good" if it were an option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

On our trip to Uda Walawa we researched prior to arriving, and upon learning that Kalus Hideaway was owned by Sri Lankan World Cup hero Romesh Kaluwitharana our decision was made.
The room we chose had three good sized beds, a great balcony, AC, a nice bathroom with hot water. The swimming pool was small, but a welcome relief after hours spent in the back of a bumpy safari vehicle. The food was brilliant. Without a doubt the best Sri Lankan curry I have had on six different visits to this country. The service was superb.
We did two safaris, one we organised externally, and one through the hotel. The hotel safari was the better of the two.
We chilled out here all morning after our safari and it was very peaceful. They grow their own vegetables ( and fruit) and it is possible to either rest in one of the many hammocks or walk down to the river at the end of the garden. We didn't use the spa.
By Sri Lankan standards this hotel is expensive, but as a memorable experience it is worth every rupee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bittonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

we stayed for two nights with our teenage boys . The hotel is very well run and a lovely place to stay whilst incorporating the safari . We had interconnecting rooms that were spacious and very modern with lovely bathrooms . The food was lovely and loads of it too. The pool and grounds are great ,the river nearby is a good to explore and we saw lizards peacocks and kingifshers. The atmosphere created by the very hard working young staff was first class. Nothing was too much trouble . The manager was very friendly,engaging and helpful, making sure we had every thing we needed. For example he arranged a very early safari trip ensuring that we saw as may animals on that trip as possible . He was personally up at 6.30 am and made us all coffee and biscuits before we went . He supplied us with drinks and fruit for the safari and the guide he had chosen was fabulous . We we got so carried away on the safari that we were late returning and had missed our breakfast buffet . However we were greeted by the staff and told they had laid a table for us and we could have a late breakfast . We were then served a full breakfast of our choice at 11am ... not many hotels would put themselves out like this .
Our boys are cricket mad and played in the grounds ,the staff even joined in when they were free and the manager is a pretty decent bowler ,and bowled my youngest out much to his disgust !!!
Would highly recommend this place and thanks to everyone there that made our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hevwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
0.0 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Udawalawa  Safari Village Hotel
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel
#2 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nil Diya Mankada Safari Resort
11.8 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 29 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalu's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Property: Kalu's Hideaway
Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalu's Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Kalu's Hideaway Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing