We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Kalu's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalu's Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Kalu's hideaway is a lovely place to stay right near the Uda Walawe National Park. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is scrumptious and local. The swimming pool is wonderful and re-freshing after the long journey. My husband and I also had a massage in the spa which was excellent and very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucycarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    187
    87
    30
    16
See reviews for
141
298
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April 2013 with our family with 2 children. Frankly - Why?
Its cut off from anywhere, our room, which fitted four, was mouldy, the "view" from the back window was of rubbish - literally.
When you enter the hotel the foreboding begins when you go into the jail like reception. The whole hotel has these bars on the windows - reference to the owners cricketing days? - with no less than 7 staff members/wardens eyeballing you as you check in - yes I know about cultural differences having been all over the world including Sri Lanka - but this was just a bit unnerving - not sinister - just; "Why weren't they clearing up the litter in the garden? "
There was one waiter in the restaurant who was excellent - the rest ok - he should have been the manager frankly.
Our room was grubby, the air -con was actually filthy and I do mean filthy - the sheets had been brushed off since the last guest - though not changed. The food was one of those attempts at being fancy but failing - i.e. smaller portions, but not actually any good. They should have just been true to themselves and cooked a decent curry - instead of chopping vegetables into not so fancy shapes, and trying to be"western".
Apart from one waiter as I said - the service was rubbish, and we really wondered why Abercrombie and Kent had stuck us there for 2 nights. Go elsewhere - the Udu Walawe - isn't the best park either. Simply not worth your time or money. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RemoteAccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the end of our Sri Lanka tour. This was probably the most basic of all the hotels we stayed in but the service was really good and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel has the feel of an African Game Lodge and has obviously been designed with this purpose in mind. The hotel is about 15/20 minutes away from Udu Walawe and 10 minutes from the elephant orphanage.

My wife and I were there in the off season and there was only one other couple staying there the same night we did. The food was nice but we had better in the other hotels that we stayed at in Sri Lanka. We had lunch here which was from a menu but for dinner had to make do with a set menu with only two choices on it. The set menu was about 12 dollars per person. Dining is outside and I would suggest taking insect repellant here as there are lots of bugs that cme out at night.

We did not stay for breakfast as we had a very early morning departure in order to get to Colombo for our flight. The drive from here to Colombo is about 4 to 5 hours depending on the traffic.

The rooms are very spacious and we had a lovely balcony. One of the most impressive things was the size of the doors leading into the rooms, very large indeed. We had no bath in our room just a very large shower. Bed was comofrtable.

Wifi available at the hotel but you had to pay for it.

All in all a nice hotel with friendly staff but basic facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I arrived at Kalu's hideaway around 2pm after a long 4 hour drive from Colombo
we both loved the place.
After coming straight from Hong Kong and the bustling Colombo, Kalus Hideaway was devine peace.
Lunch, a glass of wine,then we both had a wonderful massage at the spa centre.
Dont go to Kalus hideaway if you are looking to party!!
Of a night time there is not much to do.
We both found the food and the service above average ,its not five star , the location did it for us
One may be two nights is all you need
Ask for a mountain view room,
A must is a safari.Hotel can arrange

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waggajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel but the service really let it down. Hotels on Sri Lanka that we stayed in for half the price were much more professionally run.
Food was good and the setting is really nice. The layout of the hotel is really interesting and unusual. If it had attention to detail when it comes to service it could be amazing

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My Husband, Father and I decided to spend a weekend at Kalu's Hideaway just to get away from the rush of Colombo. The minute we arrived we were greeted by the extremely friendly staff and the very efficient GM who gave us a tour of the hotel. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels have not experienced such good service in Sri Lanka. It was surprising that such a small establishment had got something,most large hotels struggle with, down to a tee! Everyone of the staff members were courteous and helpful right throughout our stay. The GM even organised our tour of the Udawalawe park. The driver he organised for us was excellent and we had an amazing time.

The entire hotel has a very eco-friendly feel to it, the rooms had wood furniture which were fashioned to look like bark etc, and were very clean. They grow the vegetables in the hotel premises itself therefore the food was very fresh and healthy. We were very happy with the Sri Lankan menu served for lunch but think they can improve on the Western Options. The pool is lovely and they keep it open till 10pm so that is always a plus!

All in all we had a great stay and look forward to going again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShehP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalusResidentManager, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Kalu's Hideaway Udawalawe, we are very pleased you found it ideal for your family week-end getaway from busy Colombo.

We very much appreciate your words of praise on our hotel unmatched service, facilities, and dining options; and of course our helpful staff. They do indeed work hard to ensure the comfort and well being of all our guests.

Whilst we thank you for your patronage, we look forward to welcome you again, on your next visit to Kalu's Hideaway, Udawalawe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family and I returned from a two and a half week holiday in Sri Lanka, where we visited many places, but Kalu's Hideaway was without doubt our favourite! Tucked away in the jungle this eco-friendly lodge hotel, offers a chance to experience some of Sri Lanka's amazing wildlife. There is a rustic charm to it that makes you want to return again and again. The children loved the freedom of the gardens, the crystal clear pool and the incredibly friendly staff. We went on two safaris and both times were blown away by the wildlife so close at hand. I highly recommend this hotel as a total escape from hectic city life. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
2.4 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
172 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 23 in Uda Walawe National Park
763 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 23 in Uda Walawe National Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#4 of 33 in Uda Walawe National Park
115 reviews
11.8 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 33 in Uda Walawe National Park
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nil Diya Mankada Safari Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalu's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Property: Kalu's Hideaway
Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalu's Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Kalu's Hideaway Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing