We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Great Location”
Review of Kalu's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalu's Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

we managed to find Kalu's Hideaway (KH) whilst looking for a last minute family holiday for 3 days.we chose it after the positive feedback from friends and family. the hotel is very close to Udawalawe national park and you can get one of the cabs to come and pick you from the hotel itself when you want to go on safari.
think one of the strengths KH has is, its staff, Chandana and the team managed to make our stay very comfortable as nothing was too much of a hassle for them. there were few draw backs. i was in the new wing of the hotel and was given a room, which i would say fairly recently built. but it started to leak on the first night from the roof.( have to say it rained pretty heavily) they didn't have much of an option due to the hotel been fully booked..it didn't rain the 2nd night so it was fine. the outside garden is pretty relaxing and well kept. think their strengths in culinary skills are with Sri Lankan Cuisine and they did a good job at it. I will definitely visit this hotel if I go to this area, and i hope the issues with rooms will be sorted and the one of the plus points would be the friendly atmosphere and the staff who made the difference..kalu well done..loved the entrance and seeing a bit of cricketing history...best wishes for the Chandana and the Team as well...Ranga Sovis

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 606 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

The best hotel we stayed for the kindness of the staff and the environment in a very quite and relaxing place. All is done to make you feel good, the swimming pool is in the middle of a nice and tiny garden. The outdoor restaurant is like a lounge place. The food a bit spicy but must try. defintely the place to stay around the national park, 10 mn drive from there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

On our way to Arugam Bay via Thanamalwila, we decided to break the journey at Uda Walawe. We thought ‘Kalu’s Hideaway’ near the Uda Walawe dam would be a perfect place to stay overnight. However, we were in for an unpleasant surprise.

The Kalu’s Hideaway is overpriced for the facilities that were available. For Rs 17,000/= a night (half board ) we thought they would at least provide the facilities they promised. But that was not the case.

We were given a room in the so called ‘newly’ built section. Alas! it was worse than an old section! There was no hot water in the bathroom although we were told there would be. There was no telephone in the room. The bed linen was not that clean and the room was a little bit dusty. Furthermore, there was no mirror in the room.

When we inquired about the hot water, we were told that the hot water system is solar and there was no hot water because it was a cloudy day!! And there was no electricity back up or it was not working. Very lame answer practiced by many!

The meals were quite ordinary. You could buy those meals from a standard café for the half of that price!!

If you want to pay by a credit card, be warned that they do not have an electronic fund transfer system. They have only the 20th century old manual system.

Chinthaka Fonseka
Sydney
Australia

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had Christmas Eve at Kalu's Hideaway. only one night but would go back again to enjoy the wonderful service. Friendly and Efficient. Take an early morning safari and be back for breakfast, Be sure to specify you want a Sri Lankan breakfast

Room Tip: We had a high floor in the new block good views over the gardens and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterSSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a lovely friendly welcome on our arrival, complete with a glass of fresh juice. Our room was stylish, clean and luxurious, set apart from the main building. The food was great, the service friendly and the atmosphere welcoming. We only stayed for one day and a night, but we would have loved to stay longer. Managed to fit in a gorgeous aromatherapy massage with the sound of peacocks in the background. Our experience here was wonderful and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A great welcome was received upon our arrival and very personable service offered throughout our stay. The room we were allocated was away from the main building on the second floor with a great view across the river. The room accommodation is spacious with TV, a/c, comfortable beds and with a large modern bathroom and a private balcony. The pool area is a very relaxing place to soak up the sun after having completed a 'safari' into Uda Walawe Park. There is also the spa which offers a number of treatments, I enjoyed a head, shoulder & back massage and it was well worth the money. Very reasonably priced.
Safari's can be arranged with the hotel or you can do this independently to go into the park.
Most guests stay one or two nights, we booked to stay three nights and at first thought it may be too long, but we went into Uda Walawe twice and enjoyed the pool in the afternoon and it made a lovely change to soak up a slower pace of life. We also ventured to the elephant orphanage in the local town Walawegama. The hotel manager Chandana, recommended this to us and when he could not get a tuk tuk for our trip, unknown to us it was the hotel chef who took us there in his tuk tuk, waited and brought us back. We found this out the next morning when chatting with Chandana and seeing the chef cooking breakfast.:0) Chandana Hewavasan is worth a mention becuase he was available at the hotel every day morning til night, was very helpful, and always made time with you for a chat.
All the staff were very attentive, offered a good service and always polite.
It is a great place to stay whether going to the park or if travelling within Sri Lanka and needing a halfway place to stay. We would definately recommend the hotel, it is a superb place to stayand we met the owner Kalu who used to play cricket for Sri Lanka, that was a bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms in the block away from the main building may be better, they all have a balcony, we didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Gorgeous rooms, remarkable grounds, amazing food, friendly staff and a superstar owner! We had an amazing time at Kalu's Hideaway. Getting the opportunity to spend some quality time with the man himself was a highlight. The pool was also fantastic! Kalu and his staff have done an amazing job of this property. Very unique and definitely one of our favourite places in Sri Lanka. The decor and design of the rooms is outstanding. If you are going to Udawalawe National Park I would definitely recommend staying at Kalu's Hideaway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
2.4 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
38 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 27 in Uda Walawe National Park
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#3 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 27 in Uda Walawe National Park
124 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nature House Udawalawa
Nature House Udawalawa
#1 of 35 in Udawalawa
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalu's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $74 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalu's Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Kalu's Hideaway Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing