We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalu's Hideaway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungle Paradise(Udawalawa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel(Uda Walawe National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Trails(Uda Walawe National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Centauria Lake Resort(Embilipitiya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OwinRich Resort(Godakawela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melheim Resort(Beragala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Turtle Bay(Kalametiya)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
270
225
107
34
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
225
107
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankavegetable gardeninfinity poolnational parkmain buildingtable tennisboutique hotelworld cupnice poolset menutop floorsmall hotelfoot massagelarge balconyhidden awaylounge areaoff the beaten track
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 654 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Arrived at the and of the day, and we had a warm welcome. We were upgraded from standard to deluxe, which was a very nice room! we just saw the sundown from the balcony, really beautiful.
You notice you are in the bush bush, because of all the flying flies, musqitos etc. But the room look 'flyclean'.
The restaurant looks nice, little bit dark, but is because of all the flies the fly around the light. We had a cold olive pasta for our daughter, which was really tastefull. We had the clubsandwich, which was dry. I would not the a glass of wine, as this was 7 euros( a glass is not on the menu). This is too much.
The breakfast was nice, not too special, but they make the best of it, and were very friendly.
The pool looks nice, is heated. I would have liked to stay a little bit longer, but we had to leave after breakfast already.
For WIFi you have to buy scratch cards, but they are nog expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleursan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed 1 night. We had a lovely boutique chalet, complete with double recliner/bed on the balcony for relaxing. Staff competent and friendly- made us feel welcome throughout. Lots of garden work taking place during our visit and it looks as though there is a building project currently- it will be even nicer when this is finished. Food was good, particularly the breakfast (where we were given the choice of Western or Sri Lankan- we opted for the latter and were treated to some lovely string hoppers). I would certainly come here again and would recommend it as a convenient location for a visit to uda walawe.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pobjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for one night. Arrived with fairly low expectations as none of the accommodation in this area looks that great but was pleasantly surprised. Lovely pool; clean room; very helpful service.

'Restaurant' choice was limited but this is a very small hotel so that is reasonable. Very helpful staff who helped us to arrange, at very short notice, a fantastic afternoon safari experience.

In short: would definitely recommend for a 1 night, (2 - max) stay. Probably the best place that you can find in this area with limited options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I honestly cannot fault this place. From the moment you walk in, you feel at home and peaceful from the hustle and bustle of embilitiya. The surroundings are lovely and tranquil. The service is outstanding and all of the staff are very accomadating Their so polite and want to do everything for you, this I am not used to!!!!! When we arrived we were given a freshly made pineapple juice, with a lovely cool wet cloth. Our room was so lovely, it was the best nights sleep. They really have done this place up well. There is a lovely pool and spa, if you fancy chilling out. We did an afternoon jeep safari, booked through the hotel. This was a lovely drive in uda walawe national park, and we saw lots of elephants, birds, cougar and many other animals. The views in the park are stunning.
We had the buffet dinner, and the food was very good. Considering this place is in the middle of no-where it is very reasonably priced and so worth it. I did not want to leave this place.
I would highly recommend this place and the staff. I would so go back again!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belindadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ian
My girlfriend and I had our accommodation booked for us through a tour operator, so while we knew roughly what price/grade our hotels were going to be, they were generally a bit of a surprise when we actually got there, and Hideaway was a very pleasant surprise.
This place is just lovely! The main reason for staying will be to visit the nearby national park, so there isn’t any nearby town as such, so this is just the place to have a little idyllic getaway. The pool is lovely and the whole seting – garden, bedrooms, dining area, verandah – has that sort of understated elegance designers spend hours trying to achieve. It’s the sort of place you might encounter in Byron Bay, for instance. And the staff were superbly helpful.
Ian Gilbert

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews