We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great jeep safari” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Udawalawe National Park

Udawalawe National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Udawalawa National Park Adventure from Galle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park is home to several hundred elephants and other rare plants and wildlife.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great jeep safari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travelled to Udawalawe from Hikkaduwa which was well over a 3 hour drive but was well worth it. We saw lots of wild elephants, water buffalo, monkeys, squirrels, baby crocodile and deer. The guide was excellent and seemed to know exactly where to look. Better to go early in the day as the elephants tend to lie under the trees to shelter from the sun around midday so the earlier you get there the better. Our safari lasted 4 hours so take plenty of water and something to eat with you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    405
    102
    37
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Elephants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My excellent rating is based on elephants alone. There are lots of them. All ages from babies to old animals. Early morning Safari was best as there were other animals around as well (deer, mongooses, boar). The birdlife is also good with snake eagles and hooded hawk eagles common along with the lovely green beeaters.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylorsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Autralia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took a safari in an open jeep which we booked on the road to the baby elephant rescue centre. (cheaper than the hotel was offering). We also had a guide who joined us at the entrance to the park. He was very informative and cost no extra other than a tip at the end of the tour. It was 3 hours long and our group really enjoyed it. Saw elephants, crocodiles, lots of birds, a tallagoya (large lizard like a lace monitor) and some jackals. We stopped often for lots of photos.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chooklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Elephants close up & personal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A family of elephants were within feet of our vehicle with a tiny baby - the females were a little nervy & surrounded baby to protect it. We saw tots of others around plus water buffalo, monitors, mongoose, jackal etc & birds of all colours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice park to see elephants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a two hours safari in this park. We saw quite a lot of elephants, buffalos and crocodiles. The park provides each jeep with a professional guide, who can tell you all about the animals in the park. Entrance fee for two adults was 5800 Rupes, and we paid 40 USD for the jeep including driver. Its certainly worth going even with small children. Our son of 2 years had a great time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maxhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udawalawe National Park also viewed

Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Haputale, Uva Province
 

Been to Udawalawe National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing