We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
135
68
22
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
68
22
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bbq dinner fire pit sri lanka glass bottles real bathroom g adventures meeting point enjoyable experience shower and toilet tents were clean creepy crawlies calm place morning safari oil lamps safari package power points tent accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 252 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Reading some of the bad reviews on here for Big Game Camp makes me sad. I don’t think these people expected to be in the outdoors even though it’s very clear it’s a camping experience!!
The staff here are lovely and chatty, willing to answer all your questions and just happy to help.
We were offered sandwiches on arrival which were absolutely delicious but did cost extra, obviously.
The tent was perfect and beds were comfortable. We slept well.
The bathroom isn’t sealed so we had a lizard peeping over looking at us but we didn’t mind at all. The toilet was great and shower was okay - much better than some showers at campgrounds!
Dinner was amazing. Delicious food and very nice atmosphere around a campfire but seperate from other guests so it’s perfect.
We were expecting bug bites but there were no mosquitos or unexpected visitors in or out of the tent.
There are no signs to get here which is very confusing. We had to ask two locals where to go.
Coffee and tea was served with snacks and we love snacks.
The safari was also great and lots of fun driving to and from in the big car.
We had a great time at Big Game Camp.
Oh make sure you organise a transfer to leave before you get there!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank travelbuggger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with your stay thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It was truly our pleasure to provide delicious meals and make you comfortable in every way possible. We welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable camping experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

Very nice campsite with luxury safari tents in a very quiet area. Each tent was beautiful and we'll maintained, with private hot water shower and toilet. Keith and his staff do everything to make it comfortable for their guests. This place is a perfect base for arranging safaris in the beautiful Uda Walawe National Park. Would definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jurjenv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and appreciation on Trip advisor. I'm really glad to hear your positive thoughts about Keith and the camp staff as they really do a great job at the campsite in order to get an excellent review from our valuable clients. We always welcome your feedback as it helps us maintain and improve the quality of our Camping Property. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope you would be back with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Tents were very comfortable, clean and well-equipped. Staff were fantastically friendly. Food was superb given that we were in such a remote location with few facilities. Dining was an enormously atmospheric experience with candles, fires and gas lights. The safari itself was excellent. We had a particularly eagle-eyed driver who spotted the smallest of creatures as well as lots of elephants, crocodiles, ibis, kingfishers, jakylls, monkeys, wild buffalo and more. The only small complaint would be the distance of the campsite from the national park. There was a lot of driving, which was tiring and more time could have been spent in the park if the distances had been shorter. But overall a brilliant experience we'd thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TukTukhappy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and appreciation on Trip advisor. The uniqueness of our campsite is truly the atmosphere you are experiencing during the night time under the stars. We always thrive to provide you with the best safari experience during your stay and really fortunate to have the best safari drivers to make it memorable. We always welcome your feedback as it helps us maintain and improve the quality of our Camping Property. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope you would be back with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

Amazing 2 night stay with friends and family.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Great food under the starriest sky you’ve ever seen!
Safari was amazing - saw a lot of elephants, spotted deer, monkeys, crocodile, buffalo, serpent eagle, bee eater, kingfisher and a lot more!
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank gracehU4138DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and appreciation on Trip advisor. We always welcome your feedback as it helps us maintain and improve the quality of our Camping Property. We are truly glad to hear that you had an amazing experience with the safaris. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope you would be back with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

Expert wildlife staff that do their best to get you to the wonderful critters in the park. Good location, roomy tent that is very clean, excellent packed breakfast for the early safari, and very good, diverse cuisine at the camp. We have seen very few fellow Americans in Sri Lanka and would urge more to come to this amazing nation of welcoming people. After the Easter terrorist attacks, the government has tightened up security so we felt very safe.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Bhutanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Thank you for yet another review. We are pleased you loved your stay with us at Big Game Camp, Udawalawe as well. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, location, accommodation, packed breakfast and the cuisine. We are glad you felt safe during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write and please do visit us again when you get an opportunity. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews