We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Camping Experience - Luxurious !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Game Camp - Udawalawe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Colombo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Camping Experience - Luxurious !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Was at the camp a few weeks back, On arrival we couldn't have had a more friendly welcome ! We were met by Viraj, the Camp Manager who is apparently a retired Navy Lieutenant commander ! Was surprised to see the whole campsite setup and including a bonfire just for us ! (We reached there a bit late after a wonderful safari at Udawalawe National Park)

Viraj gave a small welcome speech, do and donts and have and haven't's at the camp... very helpful.

Tents were large, clean and all items neatly placed. We had electricity !! so a must have welcome facility to charge our mobiles and cameras ! The tent had a fan, torch, umbrella mineral water, toiletries and clean towels and sheets. (ppst ! They have flush-able toilets and specious shower area too)

The dinner was a yummy BBQ ! the setup was very nice and we enjoyed the meal under the stars ...

Breakfast was just unbelievable, the food just kept on coming and coming and coming …......... we had to spend almost 50 minutes to just enjoy breakfast ! Each dish was out of this world ! Fruit fresh !

The staff was very professional and helpful. They understand your needs and will go out of the way to assist. The Naturalists are very knowledgeable – you just point at an animal or tree they will explain everything on earth ! A human google !!

You must also take their jeeps when on safari – they are very comfortable (seats belts attached) and they offer a surprise snack and drink (cool or hot) at the park !! The naturalist accompanies.

I am planning to travel again soon and will stay at their campsite at Yala.

Good job guys !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the descriptive review. We are very happy to read every single detail and aspect of your review. Reading this makes us feel that we have done everything right to make that very special experience for you. Once again our sincere appreciation, we look forward to servicing you at Yala on your next journey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    10
    10
    2
See reviews for
25
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

In May 2014 we made a 3 week trip around Sri Lanka. During our visit we stayed in the camp for 1 night. The service was excellent, Viraj was very friendly and the surroundings are beautiful. Crew of the camp really knows how to serve the guests. They are very professional and friendly. Tents were fine. We enjoyed our stay very much! Definitely worth visiting when you travel to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin7325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Devin,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. We noted you had a great stay and an experience with us. We look forward to having you back at Big Game Camping when you revisit Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a great time staying at Big Game Camp- Udawalawe . Being avid campers we would highly recommend big game camp. The style of camping is a lot more luxurious to what we are accustomed. Viraj and his staff were welcoming and made our stay very comfortable . The food was outstanding- best we've had for a long time. We have now found a new way to discover the rest of the Sri Lankan wilderness and it won't be in a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010whale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
It is wonderful to see your review. So thank you very much, we hope you will join us at our other Big Game location to savour the Sri Lankan wildreness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Me and my cousin (two females) stayed here for one night and it was a superb experience. The staff was very attentive and so friendly. They made us feel secure all the time and went out of their way to arrange all the necessities since we were two females. We were taken to the park in a safari jeep accompanied by an eagle eyed guide. Its amazing how he spotted various birds we could hardly see. We saw many elephants freely wandering about. some were very close to us.

In the night, the staff was very alert while we were sleeping. We could here them walking with flash lights. I suggest anyone who spends a night there to wake up around 4- 4.30 Am and watch the jungle by night! It IS an amazing sight. Silence all around all we could hear was the sound of birds chirping, In the dark we could see the first rays of sunlight touching the tree tops !! I have decided to go there again just to experience that moment.

While we were having breakfast outside the tent, we saw many Peacocks and also the peacock dance!

Thank you Big game camp crew for an unforgettable experience!

I recommend this place even for solo female travelers, it is safe!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are extremely happy to see your experience on the review. We believe this will especially create a positive note for female travelers as well. The review also gives us just what what we expect to give our clients, particularly we want everyone to feel and secure and enjoy the nature and experience the moment.
Thank you very much for taking time to write this. We warmly welcome you back to experience Big Game camping once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I can sum up the review of this place in one word - WOW!

Before arriving I read some negative reviews of the park which made me uncertain if I want to go there. THANK GOD I DID!

I will start with the camp: it is remarkable. the staff are extremely welcoming, warm and kind. They will make sure that everything you want will be fulfilled for as much as they can, and make you truly feel like a king!

The camp is located on a nice area - where a nice walk can take place. nothing much to see but peacocks and egrets around the camp but it is good enough for a guy like me who came from an office work longing for some nature...

As for the nature reserve. It is true that there are no Leopards there, but there is so much else!!! many elephants, dozens of birds, birds of prey, water birds and so on. I had only the morning safari and we couldn't even finish the normal route since there was so much to see and picture the we ran out of time. the spotters were great and even the manager of the camp saw the enthusiasm in me and joined me for the safari ride which was awesome.

this place is highly recommended for true wildlife lovers and not for people who just want to see leopards. If you love wildlife you will love Udawalawe. Guaranteed!

Room Tip: All the tents are more of less the same. just make sure that all the velcro around the tent is secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tal0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Big Game Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are sincerely grateful for your review and very pleased to see that you had a “wow “ experience, which is essentially what we strive at delivering.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#4 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gayan's
Hotel Gayan's
#2 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kalu's Hideaway
Kalu's Hideaway
#3 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
13.3 mi away
Happy Elephant Resort
Happy Elephant Resort
#6 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Game Camp - Udawalawe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Game Camp - Udawalawe

Property: Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Address: Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Game Camp - Udawalawe 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the eastern boarder of Udawalawe National park this camp allows guests to truly experience safari adventure in style and comfort. Udawalawe National Park is the only national park in the country where elephant sightseeing is guaranteed on every single drive. There are 600 to 700 Sri Lankan elephants here, along with many other spectacular animals such as the Sambar deer, jackal, and toque macaque. Big Game Camp – Udawalawe is serviced by experienced and professional staff who cater to all the guests’ needs. The camp has comfortable fully furnished tents with attached partitioned toilets and equipped with raised beds, bed linen, towels, a flashlight, a shoe rack, foldable chairs, a coffee table, and an umbrella to ensure the guests’ comfort.Big Game Camp can provide more than just accommodation and guest can book safaris for an additional price.Big Game Camp all inclusive package will provide a Half day Safari that will include all entrance and permit fees, jeep ,picnic basket, chilled beverages to provide the best safari experience. All 3 meals, Tea coffee & beer, snacks are also included for the all inclusive package. Pick up and transfers from and to any destination, including airport could be arranged at an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Big Game Camp - Udawalawe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing