We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Udawalawe National Park
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveler rating
359
458
276
78
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
359
458
276
78
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night sri lanka grand suite large hotel elephant orphanage superior room swimming pool public areas other hotels elephant transit home dinner buffet udawalawe safari visiting the national park air conditioned buffet style short stay minute drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This very green resort hotel with lots of mature tropical planting everywhere has just the right atmosphere for your elephant based activities in the area.

Room is spacious with lots of wood but the a/c and bathroom are both rather old and a bit tired and in the case of 5ha a/c quite noisy. Our advice would be to cool the room ahead ahead of going to sleep then just rely on the fan which is quiet and powerful.

The buffet food, served in a non a/c dining room, had sufficient variety both western and local to eat well even if you have had enough curry during your trip.

We particularly liked the air conditioned bar where some reasonably priced wine was available and served well chilled in an ice bucket.

The large pool with luxuriant trees and bushes around it, right in the heart of the hotel was a real joy to use, a must after a hot safari.

Service throughout our two night stay was friendly and attentive.

Despite being a bit long in the tooth we would still recommend this hotel as long as you are comfortable with the short comings mentioned.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 90PaulD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We stayed here for New Year 2019/2020. The staff went to so much trouble! The food and drinks and service was amazing! Thankyou. Rooms very good, although bathrooms are due for an update. Safari was excellent.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 746ballfamily746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

I was quite apprehensive before i went here ‘coz of
the reviews i had read but our travel agent assured us that we have nothing to worry and so was pleasantly surprised. We were apparently upgraded as per the front desk manager. Anyways we were given the ‘Queensuite’, pretty amazing, close to the pool (which we were lucky enough to use before they closed for the night). Room had a jaccuzi (yaay, which we used too. Amazing ofc).
Dinner fare was extensive as well as the bfast. Stayed just for the night but had an amazing and wonderful time. Thanks for the ‘UPGRADE’.
Would definitely go back. Anyone looking to stay at Udawalwe this place is worth it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Apram007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

This is a tourist hotel catering to bus loads. We asked to change rooms as it wasn’t clean. The second room was not much better. The towels were a grimy grey. The upside was that the restaurant staff were friendly and engaging.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank theommittee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We had a three dy stay here and it was a nice hotel with good pool and nice room. A little expensive to buy drinks ks and we stayed over the New Year and had a gala dinner that was avagin quite expensive for what you got. They did book a safari for u and this was greta with lots to see including a baby elephant and a peacock displaying

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews