We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of tour with a safari visit.

The hotel is very nice, rooms are again of decent size and comfortable, although keep the doors closed as one might invite the mosquitos in.

A nice hot shower was good.

The swimming pool as well nice and attentive, even got a footy to play with in the pool, pity the pool bar wasn't open.

Food is very good and the buffet was vast, although we only chose the sri Lankan food which was very good, the hot aubergine dish was yummy but watch out for the spice.

No complaints about this hotel, wish we could have stayed for more than one night.

Also cant be too bad as the New Zealand cricket team rocked up as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 885 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a night on our way to YALA. It is a good property but lot needs to be changed in order to give better comfort to the guests.

We arrived there a bit early and had requested for an early check in which the accepted by the hotel without any fuss. When we arrived our rooms were ready and we were promptly taken to our room.
The hotel has a lot of greenery. There is a swimming pool too which is well maintained.

Location: Ideally located on the main road and on the way to the Udawalawe national park.

Reception: When you enter the hotel the main entrance leads you to the restaurant rather than the reception. Reception is located in the back side of the hotel (very strange). The ambience of the reception is not good. Its very dull and somehow repelling. Front desk staff are not so co-operative. I never saw a smile on the face of front desk staff. On one occasion I had to wait for more than 10 minuted on the front desk to collect my keys. The guy there saw me me standing and waiting but did not bother to even acknowledge my presence there. After finishing the call he told me that the call was from the director of the hotel and therefore it was not possible to attend to me!!!! well....well....well.....

Rooms: Rooms are spacious with all the amenities. Tea maker, water bottles, in room safe available. Very minimal bathroom amenities. There is a provision for hot water but we never got it. We took up the matter twice with the reception but it never got resolved. We did see few insects in the room but then this is expected in a resort which is located in such a green place.

Staff: Very good and co-operative staff BUT their English is a major problem. They do not understand and cannot speak proper english. We had a touch time ordering food in the room and every time we got wrong dishes.

Restaurant: Very good restaurant with a wide variety of buffet breakfast and dinner. Very good and co-operative staff. We found that the staff were more attentive and co-operative during breakfast. During dinner, maybe because of the rush, the service was not up to the mark. We had to remind them to replenish the dishes in the buffet.

Despite few shortcomings, we enjoyed our stay there and it was a satisfying experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at Grand Udawalawe for four nights and my stay was quite a comfortable one. Good food, friendly staff, spacious rooms & excellent service! And absolutely fantastic location!!!!! I would definitely recommend visiting this hotel a good place to base yourself for a Safari.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pavithra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort - like most people I guess to visit the national park.
While the hotel is on the more expensive side, particularly for Sri Lanka, it still felt like good value if you want to enjoy a more premium hotel experience.
The rooms are huge, very contemporarily decorated and with all mod cons. There is a pool, which is a decent size and was never very busy, with plenty of sun loungers. And the restaurant had a large array of food, all of which was very tasty. And you don't go hungry! Certainly not at breakfast, where the food just seemed to keep coming!
The hotel is set in lovely grounds with lots of trees and greenery.
And the staff are very polite and helpful. The barmen in particularly were lovely - very chatty and genuine, with big smiles.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The place is near the main road which leads to the Udawalawe National Park. Property is new and equipped with latest amenities you can ask for but need improvements in Service and mainly cleanliness. I stayed in a ground floor room and the room is very spacious but I found a frog in my bathroom which makes me uncomfortable, I do understand the place is scattered among a small forest area but need to be extra careful when you are serving in a such a place. Food was ok. and some of the staff needs to learn how to smile, specially restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajasekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

New hotel very close to the national park entrance. Spacious and impressive. Rooms were exceptionally large and well equipped. Pleasant grounds with excellent pool, waterfall etc. Restaurant food was good with good buffet choice but room was overwarm with no aircon, Staff tried to assist with fans etc. Certainly the best quality hotel close to the park gates. We had a good visit to the park too with elephants, elephants and more elephants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This newly opened hotel certainly adds a touch of luxury to the range of hotels available near Udawalawe national park. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, with high vaulted ceilings, tasteful décor, comfortable beds and excellent bathrooms. The whole hotel has been attractively designed in a nature theme with ponds, gardens and clever landscaping. The pool was well maintained and of a good size to be able to swim in. The restaurant provided a wonderful range of Sri Lankan and International cuisine to cater for all tastes. We stayed two nights and if there had been more to do in the area would happily have stayed longer. The only down-side is that wi-fi is not available in the bedrooms, which seems to be short sighted in a modern hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
43 reviews
0 mi away
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel
#2 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#4 of 33 in Uda Walawe National Park
157 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kalu's Hideaway
Kalu's Hideaway
#2 of 26 in Uda Walawe National Park
617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 26 in Uda Walawe National Park
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort

Address: No. 912 Thanamalwila Road | (1 km from Thibolketiya (Barrier) Junction), Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $108 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, offering 4-star facilities. We have 53 Deluxe and Superior rooms and 4 suite rooms.The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, situated on 7 acres of land, is located 163 kilometers away from Colombo, We are only 500 meters from the Ath Athuru Sevana (Elephant Orphernage), five minutes drive from the Uda Walawe National Park. It is very conveniently located with easy access to places such as the Mahinda Rajapaksa Cricket Stadium, the Ruhunu Magampura Mahinda Rajapaksa Port and the Mattala Mahinda Rajapaksa International Airport.One of the most significant feature of the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is its’ picturesque swimming pool. Ingeniously fashioned from the Malabotu Ara, a natural waterway bordering three sides of the property, it preserves the natural ambience and the awe-inspiring quality of the jungle atmosphere with the shade of the stately Kumbuk trees, which were preserved in order to allow the guests of the hotel the coolness and to maintain the healthy quality of the air and water.The other significant feature of the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is its’ open air theater named ‘Wala”.The hotel is equipped with a Banquet Hall seating 400 pax and a Restaurant seating 250 pax, a fully equipped Conference Hall and a state-of-the-art Business Centre, a complete Gymnasium, a Mini-Theatre, the Main Kitchen catering to the Restaurant, and a satellite kitchen catering to the Pool Bar and a Banquet Kitchen in the upper floor catering to the Banquet Hall, located so as not to disturb the idyllic existence of the guests, who venture into the jungle to escape the humdrum day-to-day life in the City braving the rat race. The hotel has 24 hour room service and extensive laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing