We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a superb hotel. Beautiful rooms, swimming pool and gym. Great location if you want to explore national parks. Super attentive staff and excellent food. Our shower leaked and was fixed immediately with no fuss. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 802 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned from a 10-day holiday in Sri Lanka with my husband and 12 year old son. We stayed at Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, a new hotel nestled in a peaceful location close to Udawalawe National Park. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. The staff were really friendly and the food was excellent. The resort has a relaxed, homely feel and the facilities and rooms are spacious and luxurious. It is a tropical treasure and is eco friendly as well - for instance, fans in open areas instead of air conditioning (rooms all air conditioned). The tastefully-designed tropical garden is home to gecko, monkeys and monitors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuefromKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The rooms were on the small-ish side and there was quite a walk from reception to our room however everything else was beautiful. The bathroom was modern, spacious and had a shower and a separate The staff were delightful, but the food was underwhelming. To put this in context, we felt the same about a number of other hotels we stayed in. Prices are now almost on a par with western hotels,so the quality of food in them needs to improve.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We checked in as a group of 3 rooms on the 24th of may 2013 and we were looked after so well, we felt that we are at home!

The reception staff were very friendly, house keeping was fast as a flash, resturant staff will say no for anything, whether its out of the buffet they will get anything done for us, merely to keep us happy..

I have traveled to may 5 star category hotels through out the island but this is the 1st hotel which I received such a great service from all department of the staff in 1 hotel, I'm sure the ever friendly GM mr. Chandana has had a big role to play in bringing up this unit.

This hotel is categorized as a 4 star resort, but for me it's a 5 star resort and the presidential suite which we were in is superb!

I'm sure time to come this wonderful hotel will be a dream place for the tourist as its located in a perfect place with the elephant orphanage, Udawalawe national park, hot water springs and many more attractions located in very close proximity.

I'm sure I will be coming to this hotel again when ever I visit this area, and all the best for the hotel and the staff for the future!

We all loved the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RuzanNifal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Udawala for my lil one's first bday. The property was ideal for how we intended to spend her bday. Amazing flora & fauna all around and not far from the national park. My Lil one absolutely enjoyed the pool and all the attention she got from the staff, who did everything to make her bday a special day. The bed was decorated with flowers & one of the staff even managed to make a toy elephant using 2 towels. Special prepared fruits & veggies(baby food) were prepared for her at no extra cost. The buffet is good, however do not order anything that is not on the menu. The gym was closed most of the time and one had to call for it to be opened if required. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a pool facing room if you have kids.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelmommytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have recently spent two nights at the hotel idealy located near the national parc. We had children and the pool was a superbe place for them to play under the close surveillance of the pool attendant. Very clean and nice rooms, recent and modern style hotel. The cook chief even accomodated our request for the second night. And the place serve real expresso! Beside a walk trip to the nearbye village was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

we been a group of 18 persons, and we love to stay at this hotel.
The staff is very helpful, the rooms are very luxury but also the hotel it is.Nice restaurant, nice food, the prices are very low and is near Udawalawe National Park.you can do safari, walk around, and relax.
I recomand this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
25 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kalu's Hideaway
Kalu's Hideaway
#2 of 25 in Uda Walawe National Park
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#7 of 33 in Uda Walawe National Park
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 25 in Uda Walawe National Park
113 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#6 of 33 in Uda Walawe National Park
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort

Address: No. 912 Thanamalwila Road | (1 km from Thibolketiya (Barrier) Junction), Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $107 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, offering 4-star facilities. We have 53 Deluxe and Superior rooms and 4 suite rooms.The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, situated on 7 acres of land, is located 163 kilometers away from Colombo, We are only 500 meters from the Ath Athuru Sevana (Elephant Orphernage), five minutes drive from the Uda Walawe National Park. It is very conveniently located with easy access to places such as the Mahinda Rajapaksa Cricket Stadium, the Ruhunu Magampura Mahinda Rajapaksa Port and the Mattala Mahinda Rajapaksa International Airport.One of the most significant feature of the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is its’ picturesque swimming pool. Ingeniously fashioned from the Malabotu Ara, a natural waterway bordering three sides of the property, it preserves the natural ambience and the awe-inspiring quality of the jungle atmosphere with the shade of the stately Kumbuk trees, which were preserved in order to allow the guests of the hotel the coolness and to maintain the healthy quality of the air and water.The other significant feature of the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is its’ open air theater named ‘Wala”.The hotel is equipped with a Banquet Hall seating 400 pax and a Restaurant seating 250 pax, a fully equipped Conference Hall and a state-of-the-art Business Centre, a complete Gymnasium, a Mini-Theatre, the Main Kitchen catering to the Restaurant, and a satellite kitchen catering to the Pool Bar and a Banquet Kitchen in the upper floor catering to the Banquet Hall, located so as not to disturb the idyllic existence of the guests, who venture into the jungle to escape the humdrum day-to-day life in the City braving the rat race. The hotel has 24 hour room service and extensive laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing