We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sri Lanka's finest hosts”
Review of Master Campers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Master Campers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

After reading the many excellent reviews on trip advisor and exchanging several helpful emails with Uditha we decided to book two nights luxury camping with Master Campers as well as booking a great company driver, Lalitha, for the duration of our stay in Sri Lanka. In the end the majority of our trip was taken care of by Master Campers and I can safely say I have never been so well looked after on holiday, nothing was ever too much hassle and every part of the experience had been carefully thought out to ensure maximum happiness!

On arrival to the camp we were met with cool drinks and warm smiles. The camp is in an idyllic location, situated next to a beautiful river surrounded by tall trees creating welcome shade. Our tent was spacious, comfortable and very far from your average two man tent! We were able to have a good nights sleep under fresh linen and a shower is available, although we found washing in the river to be more refreshing than any shower!

The food throughout our stay was fantastic. Roy is a great chef who provided us with delicious meals. During the day food was served next to the river, a perfect spot to enjoy the wide variety of great food surrounded by stunning natural beauty and a cheeky monkey or two :-) Evening meals were served in camp, which had been lit up with twinkling lamps and an impressive fire.

We went on three safaris during our stay and saw a huge range of animals and birds. The staff were very knowledgeable and experienced and we felt in very safe hands at all times. To name a few we saw elephants, crocs, spotted deer, monkeys, water buffalo and many beautiful birds. The highlight for me was seeing so many elephants, including some very very cute babies. The park itself is a beautiful place and the stunning scenery combined with the animals makes it an unforgettable experience.

For the times that your not on safari or eating tasty food the camp is a great place to relax. By the river there is a hammock to lay in and spot the monkeys or you can swim in the cool clear water. An amazing moment was finishing our breakfast by the river and a small family of elephants appeared from the trees on the other side of the river drink, I can't think of anywhere else where elephants join you as you sit drinking your cup of tea!

Master Campers really have perfected creating a unique and magical experience for its visitors and I cannot recommend them more highly. Master Campers made our trip to Sri Lanka unforgettable. Don't hesitate for moment to book!

Room Tip: We chose the luxury option and were very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell85Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We splurged on this after reading reviews on this site and have no regrets. Master Campers is a well oiled professionally managed machine. From booking through to our farewell the team went out of their way to help us and ensure we had a brilliant stay. The safaris were excellent, very knowledgeable and eagle eyed park staff were able to answer all questions and had obvious passion for what they were doing. We saw plenty of wildlife, ate the most amazing food, slept well, and were well and truly pampered. We say do it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarknNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed three days, two nights with Master Campers at their Wilpattu site. It was a great experience. I'm a seasoned camper, but this didn't feel like camping at all (with the obvious exception of being in a tent...). Everything was ready when we arrived, the tents were clean and comfortable, there was a real flushing toilet and a separate shower (really a pipe, but it did the job just fine). The food was served at a table overlooking the lake, and was delicious, fresh and wonderfully cooked. Everyone in the team was friendly and knowledgeable, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

We were travelling with teenage children, who also enjoyed the experience. The park itself was quieter than some of the others, and although we didn't see leopard, we did see lots of really interesting wildlife and learnt alot about the flora and fauna in Sri Lanka. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LokiLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I cannot recommend Master Campers more highly. Everything from the original email contact,welcome drink with wet cloths, safaris, exquisite dining experience beside the river including linen table cloths,(think...Out of Africa) tented accommodation with flush toilet and shower and best of all a crew that could not have been more welcoming and knowledgeable for our family with 2 girls of 10 and 12 years. Very professional.Nothing was too much to ask for including our guide trying his utmost best to show how good he was at catching fish in the river by traditional methods!! I think he might be best to stick to where his skills lie and that is as a very enthusiastic guide for each safari. We didn't get to see the elusive leopard, but all the other wildlife and birds made up for it. We were in Sri Lanka for a 20 day tour staying in different hotels and doing everything possible in our time frame- Master Campers was the highlight. Our daughters will never forget this experience and nor will I...thank you to all of you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kiwilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Any one can put up a tent and call it a camp site. But it takes a unique talent - and a great team - for someone to make it feel like a home away from home and make you yearn to keep on coming back again and again. I have been camping with Isuru and his team for nearly three years and am glad to have just returned after spending two nights and three days in their warm embrace in Uda Walawe. Since me and my kids have got to know his team quite well going into the campsite was like visiting long lost family or friends.The tents were absolutely comfortable specially the bed linen and the comfortable pillows. Once you are snuggled up in the bed one would think that you are in a luxury hotel instead of the middle of the jungle. But for me there is even something more luxurious than the 5 star trimmings of the camp site which I find priceless. It is the gentle, amiable and persistent manner in which Isuru and his team go out of their way to make your stay a memorable experience. This can only happen in a setup where the owners are part of the service crew and personally look into the well being of the clients instead of doing so sitting in offices. They don't serve food off menus but the menu is created en site depending on individual tastes as well as the freshest goods and condiments available in the market. For instance I wanted a Pol Sambol and Rice as an addition to our lovely (Western) dinner which consisted of Clear Soup, Battered Prawns in Salad and Fried fish with Spinach and potatoes. Even though the request was strange they accommodated it with a smile and in a legendary manner as I got one of the best pol sambols I have ever eaten in my life. I cannot stress enough the pains chef Roy takes to make sure that what he puts on the table is nothing but the very best. Otherwise it will not make it onto the table. You can see this dedication to quality in his dishes. Even a simple vegetable curry is feast to the senses not only in taste but in colour and smell and texture.You can see this dedication even in Isuru he was very sick and in great pain when we were in the camp site but he continued to take my family on Safari twice a day - much to their delight - even though it was NOT part of our agreement. But it is this passion which cannot be reproduced by anyone else which ensures we keep coming back to Isuru and his team at mastercampers to go wild in style.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrishantha-cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From my first email to Uditha to our goodbye to Isuru at the end of our two night/3 day visit to Udawalawe we were so well looked after. All the arrangements worked perfectly and Uditha always responded promptly to any emails I sent him. The 4 tents situated close to the river were better than many of the guest houses we have stayed in and were beautifully clean. the food was excellent and my only complaint about the whole trip is that I ate too much! We had 3 full safaris and saw many elephant and crocodiles together with some monkeys, mongoose, deer and lots of birds. Roy, our guide, was able to spot so much that we would not have seen without him. The river was an excellent playground when we were in camp, with mud slides and floating with the current. Thank you to all at Master Campers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for one night with a large family and it was the highlight of our holiday. The camp was great with true luxury camping (including a real toilet). The food was fresh and wonderfully tasty and the safari was great. The ranger who accompanied us and Uditha were very knowledgeable and we seemed to find more elephants than anyone else! The memory of sitting by the river with a cold beer watch a male elephant play in the water will live with the family for a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
7.4 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#3 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#7 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gayan's
Hotel Gayan's
#1 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Max Safari Villa
Max Safari Villa
#5 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mansala Safari Resort
Mansala Safari Resort
#2 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
#14 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Campers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Campers

Address: 39/2 Bandaranayake Mawatha | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 10100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $583 - $860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Master Campers runs mobile safari camping sites just out side the wildlife parks of Sri Lanka (the most visited are Udawalawe, Yala and Wilpattu). On their Safaris Visitors will see the wonders of Sri Lanka's jungle while enjoying gourmet food and every amenity needed for camping in comfort and style. Our Camp sites and activities including safari game drives provide enjoyment for campers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Master Campers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Campers Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing