We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 2 nights!”
Review of Master Campers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Master Campers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

One of the most unique places I’ve stayed at. Definitely recommend this place and great base for safari. The luxury tents here were one of the best experiences I had. Lovely accommodation very nice people. The food was delicious (credit goes to Roy) and the stay was unlike any I have had before. We feel we must stay there more days.
P:S:I guess Prabath would be able to show a leopard next time!!!
Thanks so much Isuru and the team!We had a great time there!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaviGalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 136 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a 3 days / 2 nights safari in Yala National Park in February 2013. Master Campers was definitely the right choice for this trip ! It was recommended to us by some of our friends and we have not been disappointed at all. A mix of adventure & luxury....
Very friendly, personal & attentionate service. The tent was amazingly comfortable & food was probably the best we had during our whole trip. Simply nothing to complain about...
The Safari was great as well and we would definitely recommend the 3 days option as it will really give you time to explore the park and spot a lot of animals (and Leopards, for the lucky ones)
We will definitely come back if we have the opportunity !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in each park with Master Campers, booked by Sri Lankan Expeditions, and it was an amazing experience! Yes, it is expensive but being inside these parks and having one hour morning&night alone without other jeeps was definitely worth every dollar!

We first stayed 2 nights in Yala. We got a spectacular arrival in heavy rain showers, in the dark and with mud&water up to the door of the jeep.... we realized fast though that Isuru was an incredible drilled driver and arrived safely to the campsite beautifully lightened up with lanterns and the staff offering towels&cold juice, wow! We had the luxury tent and it was perfect! We did two safaris per day, early morning and then back to camp for lunch&relax and another safari in the afternoon. The safaris were amazing!! Isuru was on top of being an excellent driver also a very good guide and took us far away from the most common roads&crowds which we appreciated very much! Seeing an elephant surrounded by 20 jeeps is not what we wanted... We saw many animals and had for example a long time all alone with a leopard on a cliff, superb!

After Yala we went directly to Uda Walawe and as these parks are so different one from each other both regarding nature and animals we do not regret doing both. In Uda Walawe the campsite is beautifully located right on the river bank. Having breakfast&lunch next to the river was lovely and when hot lying in the hammock relaxing&reading was very nice! We did morning&afternoon safaris in Uda Walawe too and saw many, many elephants and peacocks, magnificent!

The main 2 differences between the 2 campsites was: 1/ Isuru who made the stay in Yala so special by being a good driver knowing how to slowly approach animals not to scare them and by being a good guide on top of a very nice person! In Uda Walawe we missed him and it would enhance a lot to have good drivers and englishspeaking guides there to make the whole experience more interesting, especially for kids who have a lot of questions... 2/ Chef Roy at Uda Walawe who made such a delicious food and this out in the jungle... from breakfast to dinner it was like eating at a 5 star restaurant, mmmm! The food in Yala was ok but not comparable to the one Roy cooked in Uda Walawe.

I only put some photos of the campsites and roads but no animals as I believe it's even more spectacular no discover and photograph the animals by yourself...

Finally I definitely recommend these two campsites as it was amazing! Camping&safari like this, anytime!

Room Tip: go for the luxury tent, big&comfortable with toilet&shower inside and chairs&table outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleneandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

About 2 days before our camping trip in Yala and 5 days into our Sri Lanka vacation, we were contacted by our tour company and asked if we'd be ok going to Ude Walawe National Park with Master Campers instead of Yala. Not fully understanding the reason for the change, we had our heart set on Yala because of all I learned from our pre-trip planning. So I declined and insisted we still go to Yala leaving it to our tour company to figure it out. Master Campers came back with a different plan to have us stay in Ude Walawe, but make a day visit to Yala. The itinerary would be to have a Safari in Ude Walawe after lunch the day of our arrival, get up around 5:30am the next day and go to Yala, and returning by 6pm to Ude Walawe before the park closed. I dreaded the time it would take to get there so asked a bunch of questions and finally decided to agree with the new arrangement. Despite more time on the road we were excited about the idea of seeing 2 National Parks instead of 1.

We had an amazing time! Our Master Campers crew (Roy, Danushka, Prasad, Dunkan and Sanjeewa) were attentive, knowledgeable, pleasant and courteous. We were enchanted by the entire experience. They were excellent at spotting wildlife and had a lot of knowledge of the birds. We were lucky to spot a rare Brahminy starling in Yala. I would say the crew made bird watchers out of us, even my 5 and 9 year old daughters. We had our luck with us as we were also able to spot a leopard in a tree also in Yala. Such a delight!! Like others that have left a review, there were elephants, crocs, eagles, kingfishers, bee eaters, peacocks (and a few peacock dances!), hornbills, storks, 2 types of deer, jackals, monitor lizards, etc. We even saw a clever duck skating across a pond flapping wings and running its webbed feet across the top of the water.

Having the opportunity to see both parks was special and worth the extra hours on the road. I recommend the jeeps that enable you to sit forward instead of bench seats on the side.

This is our greatest Sri Lankan memory and I highly recommend going with master campers. Roy is an amazing chef and you will eat gourmet style, 4/5 course meals. They will take care of you better than you take care of yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is definitely an experience to do and i would recommend to take the 2 nights options to enjoy more the safari.
The Udawalawe national park is a gem and the sceneries alone are worth it... The camping site is located in the middle of the park ie in the middle of nowhere and what a great feeling. It's on the river bank and we had the chance to see an elephant swimming across the river just after our arrival! Being near the river is a very nice spot for breakfast and lunchs... and talking about the food... well it was simply delicious, all kind of food... and the service is top!
The tents are nicely made and beds are comfortable. Light is provided (no electricity there of course).
Re the safari itself, we saw many elephants, crocodiles , peacocks, eagles, kingfishers, hornbills, parrots water buffalos, jackals, deers, lezards, and even a leopard footprint! We also learnt a lot thanks to our guide who provided us an excellent commentary....

Definitely the best thing to do in Sri Lanka! Thanks again and looking forwards to catching up in Singapore...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontherock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

When my friends suggested we go camping for the long weekend in October 2012, I was more than a little anxious. Some of the inquiries about the camping trip from my friends, included air conditioning and swimming pools.
It took more than a dozen emails to paint a picture of what to expect.
After several visits to BBC weather [as the rainy season was setting in] and checking every minute detail we were set to go.

From the moment we arrived Isuru and and his team looked into every detail.
The tents and bedding was comfortable. Finding flush toilets in the wild was a luxury.
The setting of the camp site next to Walawe river was picturesque.
The meals were definitely of gourmet standard, with a five course dinner the first night. The second night was a barbeque, which had grilled fish, prawns, chicken and a range of vegetarian dishes to keep the "vegetarians" satisfied.

We had 4 Safari's over the 2 days and we saw an assortment of bird life and superb elephant sightings complete with the new borns. Personally I thought that our encounter with a pack of Jackals [6-7] on a lesser used road was a rare one.

Many thanks to Isuru from Master Campers for the excellent safari's and
Chef Roy for the gourmet cuisine and my intrepid fellow campers and friends for enduring the vagaries of camping in the wild.

You can watch a short video at this link

http://vimeo.com/52594725

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MohanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Staying with Master Campers was a fantastic experience. The two safaris in 4WD jeep were absolutely amazing, we saw a huge variety of wildlife close up. We saw a one month old baby elephant, several tuskers (lucky to see them as rare in Asia), many groups of elephant, a jackal, a crocodile, monkeys, buffalo, three kinds of eagle. Our guide gave us information on each one and we could stop and watch as long as we wanted. Back in camp, the accomodation was comfortable, while the food was just outstanding - far, far better than we expected on a camping trip ! Coming back to camp in the dark after the first safari and seeing the camp fire and torchlights was magical. Would recommend to everyone ! Gillies family

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Delilah68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
7.4 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#3 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#7 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gayan's
Hotel Gayan's
#1 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Max Safari Villa
Max Safari Villa
#5 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mansala Safari Resort
Mansala Safari Resort
#2 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
#14 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Campers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Campers

Address: 39/2 Bandaranayake Mawatha | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 10100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $584 - $862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Master Campers runs mobile safari camping sites just out side the wildlife parks of Sri Lanka (the most visited are Udawalawe, Yala and Wilpattu). On their Safaris Visitors will see the wonders of Sri Lanka's jungle while enjoying gourmet food and every amenity needed for camping in comfort and style. Our Camp sites and activities including safari game drives provide enjoyment for campers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Master Campers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Campers Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing