We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place to stay for 1 night, but bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elephant Rest - Udawalawa
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent place to stay for 1 night, but bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was very difficult to locate the place, especially when we reached after sunset and there was no electricity in the town. Even on asking several people, it was very difficult to spot the property.
We finally managed to reach there & did not get any food at 10 pm. Thanks to our driver who fixed us some rice, daal curry and boiled eggs, by using their kitchen.
The manager came to the hotel only in the morning. The breakfast was great, good way to make up for the previous night!
The place is quite exclusive and feels like a homestay, but beware of insects at night time!
I would definitely not recommend to spend $50 on this, there are better options available near the National Park.
By the way, the phone number mentioned on the internet belongs to the manager who never answers the call.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogmore By Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The elephant Rest is a very basic inn, but is right next door to the safari park enabling an early morning safari start. room was presentable and clean, the owner was helpful and friendly and the chef turned out an awesome Sri Lankan curry for dinner and superb breakfast which was totally unexpected.

Room Tip: Both rooms are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Four of us stayed in the two rooms available at this property. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic, both for dinner and breakfast. It was close to the Park and we very quickly after arrival started our late afternoon jeep safari. We saw lots of elephants, fox, monitor lizards, a python, birds including eagles and peacocks, and lots of water buffalo. The rooms were clean, and we enjoyed the company of the locals when we stepped out into the street. Fresh coconuts were delivered, and we travelled with them the next day when we left. We would highly recommend this site.

Room Tip: Both rooms are mirror images of each other, so either would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyWVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We chose the Elephant Rest mostly on the basis of convenience. We were only staying 1 night, before our safari in Udawalawe.

The service was not great. The staff had limited English and seemed to carry a bit of an attitude. We actually caught the guy running the place trying to charge us a different amount for a safari jeep than other customers staying in the guesthouse. Seeing him blatantly try to make money off of us may be the local way, but surely it can be done more delicately... no traveller wants to see their hotel's intention to profit off each guest so clear. Advice to management, stick to a gross rate for all customers that includes your commission. It is as easy as asking another guest how much they paid for their safari, to realize what you're doing.

The rooms were not great either. The air conditioner in our room made so much racket throughout the night that we ended up shutting it off and sleeping in the heat. The bathroom was clean though.

Food was pretty good, and as mentioned in the other review, comes in huge portions at a reasonable price.

If you are looking for a one-night stay, it is not a bad option since it is so close from the park.

I definitely recommend a visit to Udawalawe park while you are in Sri Lanka. We saw so many animals and birds during our half-day safari. For renting a safari jeep, we finally got ours at Rs 4,000 for the half-day safari. I'm not sure if this is a great deal, but was the same price that the other guests we met paid. This rental was for my wife and I only; so you may find it even cheaper per head if you're willing to share with other groups.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg_plifka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uda Walawe National Park hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you're visiting Udawalawa park, this is a great place to spend the night. Its a quiet guesthouse with two rooms to rent in rural Sri Lanka outside the park. The man who runs the house speaks just enough English to get by with guests and is absolutely wonderful. He treated us so well during our stay and helped arrange a jeep for our safari.

The food here is also fantastic. No menu, just ask what is available and it will come in huge portions. The food is delicious.

I would advise the owners to review how they market the house though, because it is definitely not a hotel. It is a rural guest house far from anything but the park.

I would recommend this to anyone stopping in the region for the night. The rooms are also recently renovated and very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PtownNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Elephant Resort
Happy Elephant Resort
#6 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gayan's
Hotel Gayan's
#1 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#4 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Rest - Udawalawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Rest - Udawalawa

Property: Elephant Rest - Udawalawa
Address: 431 Ananda Gama, Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elephant Rest - Udawalawa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Rest - Udawalawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Rest - Udawalawa Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing